We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two thumbs up!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harvey House Bed and Breakfast

Save Saved
You added Harvey House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Harvey House Bed and Breakfast
107 South Scoville Avenue, Oak Park, IL 60302   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Oak Park B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Two thumbs up!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

My aunt and I just spent a night in the Oak Park room. Although we're both from the Chicago suburbs, she was interested in following up on an interest she had in Harvey House. This was my first experience at a B&B and it was educational besides being commodious and beautiful. I won't go over the same superlatives as previously mentioned, which I agree with wholeheartedly. This home is truly a work-in-progress and Beth is constantly looking for artful ways to further delight guests. My aunt and I are both looking forward to returning.

Room Tip: It may seem obvious to those who frequent B&Bs, but there are lots of stairs to manage. An issue...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    94
    9
    0
    1
    2
See reviews for
11
53
12
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

In the classic movie, Harvey, Jimmy Stewart plays a man who introduces every person he meets to his magical 6'3" rabbit, offers them his card and invites them over to his home for dinner. If you think there are no people today that are this nice, then visit Harvey House in Oak Park. Beautifully kept with thoughtfulness everywhere, we enjoyed three mornings of one of a kind breakfasts created by its owner, Beth. Harvey House is on a par with the finest B and B's in Great Britain.
Accessible to Chicago and a quick drive to the United Center, the town of Oak Park is loaded with well kept Victorian houses and the largest collection of Frank Lloyd Wright designed homes anywhere. It boasts a handful of fine restaurants -- try the creme brulee at Hemingways and nachos at Maya.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We stayed at the Harvey House for a couple of days in December. I can truly say, the service we received was unparalleled. Very charming and cosy! The owner was very friendly and very accommodating. My husband and I enjoy great food and we are very good cooks but the breakfast she served was outstanding and we were asking for cooking tips that she happily gave us. Every night we returned, there were always a few treats waiting for us including the best sweet potato pie we have ever tasted. Great stay, we will be back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago, Il
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We recently spent a night at the Harvey House In Oak Park. The accommodations are superb. We stay at many B&B's and this was definitely one of the best.

Beth is a gracious and friendly host who also happens to be one fantastic cook. You will never have a better breakfast served hot and to your specifications. Although it didn't apply to us, she was serving gluten free food to another guest. That's what I call personal service!

The room (Jimmy Stewart) was beautiful, quiet and just what we envisioned for a get-away weekend. The bed was comfortable, and the fireplace added the perfect ambiance for a cold, snowy winter night. Despite what it says on the website, there is now a selection of movies for viewing in the room.

Many people have mentioned the noise of the train. Although we could certainly hear it during the evening, it was not loud enough to wake us during the night. There are only slight negatives I would say about this particular room. One is that although most of the windows have room darkening blinds, the windows next to the fireplace only have sheers and there was a bright light shining through one of them. We ended up opening the door to the armoire to block the light. The other small issue is that the ceramic tile floor in the bathroom gets very cold and there wasn't a rug. These are both minor issues that can be remedied.

We highly recommend the Harvey House. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monument, Colorado
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

This wonderful property has so much to offer and so close to the city. The charm, ambience, .the hostess made our stay here so relaxing and enjoyable. I would recommend highly to anyone spending any time in the Chicagoland area

Room Tip: The Jimmy Stewart room had a lovely bath. Large with two sinks giant shower soaking bath marble Beau...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downers Grove
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

My husband and I won a stay at Harvey House at an auction. Since we live in the suburbs of Chicago, we didn't think much of staying at a B&B so close by in Oak Park, but what a surprise! Beth has turned her original home into a warm and wonderful B&B. Architecturally beautiful with fine attention to detail, the inn has five en suite bedrooms, some with jacuzzis and fireplaces. We stayed in the Jimmy Stewart room (our favorite) and the next night in the Oak Park room (Frank Lloyd Wright touches throughout with a kitchette). Breakfast each morning was fantastic - everything lovingly homemade -- scones, Dutch baby baked pancakes, anything to your liking. Inn guests are welcome to invite their own guests for breakfast! The common areas of the home include a lovely kitchen where there are always yummy treats (and afternoon wine!) on the counter. The living room has welcoming and comfortable sofas and chairs, a grand piano and fireplace -- a perfect spot for conversation, reading, etc. Walking distance to local shopping and restaurants, and a short drive to Frank Lloyd Wright's home and studio, downtown Chicago, and much more. We'll be back!

Room Tip: The Jimmy Stewart room is the largest and most luxurious, but all of the rooms are beautifully appoi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

My wife and I greatly enjoyed staying at this perfect bed and breakfast. Service was impeccable, very friendly and with a personal note. Harvey House is a fantastic historic property in great shape. Attention to details is breathtaking. Do not miss the best pancakes you could ever expect for breakfast. Oak Park historic city center and many Frank Lloyd Wright mansions are within walking distance. You can not go wrong staying at Harvey House.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Harvey House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harvey House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 107 South Scoville Avenue, Oak Park, IL 60302
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Oak Park
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Oak Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chicago's most luxurious inn featuring fireplaces and oversized luxury baths with jucuzzi tubs, gourmet breakfast. Combines the best of luxury hotels and botique inns. Perfect location with supurb access to downtown and airports. WIFI, garage parking, great for romantic getaways, mini breaks, and ideal for the discriminationg business traveler that prefers great furnishings,great matresses and great food. Walk to dozens of shops and restraunts. Chicago Trib calls Harvey House Best Kept Secret and an architectural and design triumph! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, T4B, BookingOdigeoWL and Expedia so you can book your Harvey House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harvey House Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.