We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good, overall” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Il Vicolo

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Il Vicolo
Oak park avenue, Oak Park, IL 60302
(708) 386-5801
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 111 Restaurants in Oak Park
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
204 reviews 204 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Pretty good, overall”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Had a pretty good (but not great) meal here with my wife. I had the minestrone (very unusual, as it had lots of green peas in addition to the expected beans) and linguini with calamari. Both the linguini and calamari were well cooked, but the red sauce was a bit short on seasoning. My wife had the house salad (large and fresh) and homemade cavatelli with sausage in a tomato cream sauce -- excellent. They offer several $20 bottles of wine -- our choice was a bit cloying, but you get what you pay for. Service was pleasant but a little slow. The service issue has to be in the kitchen, as both pasta dishes were served steaming hot (and I mean REALLY hot). Very weird background music -- a female torch singer doing all the ballads that you hope not to hear at a wedding. Overall, a good meal, and I hope that the place succeeds.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    8
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brazil, Indiana
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Authentic Italian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Very good quality food and fresh. Was a little pricey, but you certainly will not leave hungry. Serving were very ample.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Best Italian in Oak Park!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

Fun spot, excellent food and the price is right.
This place never disappoints. Inside and outside seating. The staff is excellent and the owner, Vito, is a delight.
Good selection of wine and a wide selection of food.
Have the veal, a nice pasta dish or even the pizza.
Perfect date night place.
Terrific experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A Solid Choice For Italian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We had the Linguini with Red Clam Sauce, Penne with Meatballs, Caprese Salad and Caesar Salad. Everything was very tasty with high-quality ingredients. The service was very good as was the atmosphere. The prices are in line with most better Italian restaurants. Also, the portions are very filling. If you are near Oak Park and are in an Italian mood, I would recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely outstanding dining experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Although it was a very nice evening, the music seemed a bit loud outside, so we (3 of us) opted for an inside table. Sat in the back portion past the kitchen, which was extremely comfortable and very conversation-friendly.

Started with appetizers of fried calamari (very light and VERY tender) and Insalata Caprese. Followed by two specials - a pork roast wrapped in prosciutto and stuffed with mushrooms and mozzarella, over a bed of the most delicious parmesan risotto I have ever tasted (I only got a spoonful from our dining companion.) - and fresh swordfish, sauteed with olives, capers, cherry tomatoes and wine. We sent some to "the box" to save room for dessert. Good move!

Desserts included a frozen hollowed out peach, stuffed with fresh peach sorbet, a pistachio gelato that you wanted to dive into, and a combo of lemon gelato and limoncello, which I paired with homemade and icy-cold limoncello, which they get from "an Italian grandmother who makes it for them." Fantastic!

After dinner the owner, Vito, came and chatted with us about the menu selections, and his wine list. Did I mention that the place offered a selection of about 12 wines for $20 a bottle? We ordered two bottles of a very pleasant Orvieto. Vito's comment: "When I can get a really good deal on wines, I pass it along to my customers." Total bill was $163, before tax and tip, which I consider extremely reasonable.

This place just jumped to the top of our list for fine dining in the Oak Park/Forest Park area. Well worth the drive out from the City.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Vicolo also viewed

 

Been to Il Vicolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Vicolo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.