We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rested and refreshed!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Under the Ginkgo Tree Bed and Breakfast

Under the Ginkgo Tree Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oak Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Under the Ginkgo Tree Bed and Breakfast
300 N Kenilworth Ave, Oak Park, IL 60302   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Oak Park B&B and Inns
Belleville, Illinois
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Rested and refreshed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

My wife & I came into town for the weekend to check out Christmas downtown Chicago and explore Oak Park and Frank Lloyd Wright's home - which is 1 block away from Under the Ginko Tree.

This b&b is in a restored 122 year old home - character abounds! Walking distance to downtown Oak Park - which also has plenty of character! Plenty to see and places to eat.

This b&b is ran by a wonderful host named Gloria - she makes you feel just like you are part of the family - she is a wealth of knowledge for the region and will guide you in the right direction in what you may want to do, see or eat...

Now here are some hard facts - room 1 has a king size bed and I think the only room with a tv and its own bathroom Room 2 I believe has a queen sized bed and its own bathroom as well, other bed rooms share bathrooms - but all are very quaint and simple and comfortable.

The breakfasts are very simple - cereal, breads and pastries - coffee, juice and tea.
If you are wanting more than this - don't worry plenty of nearby places to eat - or get your favorite mocha... In fact there are two Starbucks, and two Cariobou (sp?) coffee houses within 6 or 7 blocks...

Looking for a place to feel refreshed, relaxed and just "be" - this is the place to go!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    30
    9
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
9
19
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sun Prairie, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I just happen to come across UTGT, while looking for a cheaper place to say in Chicago that wasn't downtown. I found UTGT, and Gloria was absolutely amazing...in fact she reminded me of my grandma with a Chicago accent. She was a great host, and had cookies and snacks out at all hours of the day. Breakfast was cereals, yogurts, yummy breads, plus OJ, Milk, and Fruit. Nothing spectacular (except the bread) but really appreciated! The best thing about UTGT is that it is literally a 10 minute walk from the L. The Green Line can take you right into town, and you're only about 15 minutes from the United Center. We felt very welcome, safe, and there's no curfew! One reviewer mentioned that there was an abundance of Religious stuff, and while this is true, it's not shoved in your face. I could see how this MAY be a problem for someone who is not religious or atheist, but for us, it was fine. This is the way to go! Easy parking, low prices, and WAY better than a hotel.

Room Tip: Room 1 and 2 have private bathrooms, the other 3 have a shared bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Stayed for four nights here, in room number 1, which has an ensuite bathroom. The room is spacious and you can even sit down by the windows looking out to the back garden, where the ginkgo tree is. The house is located in a very privileged location, near the Frank Lloyd Wright house and the Ernest Hemingway museum. You can walk everywhere from here (only a 10 minute walk to the heart of Oak Park: Lake Street), and the surroundings are gorgeous and pretty safe, even late at night. Another big plus is having wi-fi with good signal and I guess we can add the room price ($90 USD).
The owner and hostess, Gloria Onischuk, is a very nice and warm person. She was very helpful by giving us directions to places, and she let us keep our bags in the house after our check-out time. Sadly, we woke up late every morning, so we were not able to have our breakfast with her and the rest of the guests, which I'm sure it's a really nice way to start the day.
Oak Park is a lovely town and I'd love to come back, if I ever do, I'll definitely stay here.

Room Tip: Room 1 gets loads of natural light in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Streamwood, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

My fiance and I just wanted a weekend getaway where we could enjoy Oak Park at affordable accommodations. We got much more than that! The hosts are friendly and sweet and are as open or respectful of privacy as you desire. The rooms are pretty spacious and quite clean and we had a great and relaxing time. Price was right as well!! We stayed in room 1, which had it's own en-suite bathroom. She allowed us to check in early at no charge and was very sweet and inviting the whole stay!Would recommend and would use again if in that area!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

I am not a big fan of hotels, so I usually look for a smaller, family-owned establishment instead. A nice pool, fitness center, on-site restaurant/bar and travel center mean little to me, so I don't like to pay for them if I am not going to be using them.

With this in mind, I was going to be in Chicago and wanted to find something to meet my needs. Under The Gingko Tree was perfect for me. It is located in Oak Park and provides a good base for visiting Chicago. It is close to the Green Line of the CTA train. It is also close to many restaurants and shops, as well as the Frank Lloyd Wright and Hemingway museums.

The location gives you convenient public transportation access to most of what Chicago has to offer, if you don't like to drive in the city or pay the ridiculous parking fees there. The room was great for $90.00 a night with a very nice continental-style breakfast included. This particular room also had a private bath. Gloria, the owner and hostess was super. She is very outgoing, helpful, fun-loving and was made for this type of business.

If I ever find myself in the Chicago area again, I will definitely be staying at the Gingko Tree.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stay at Under the Ginkgo Tree whenever we visit my brother in Oak Park (to avoid his darn cats). I like room 2 which is large, tastefully and comfortably furnished with an enormous en suite bathroom. The house is lovingly restored and preserved but is not the least bit precious or pretentious. . Gloria, our hostess, is gracious and helpful. So for instance, when we visited last weekend in the rain, she immediately asked us if we needed umbrellas. Breakfast is an informal affair--you pick up your cereal, yogurt, pastry, coffee etc. in Gloria's homey kitchen and proceed to a big table in the elegant dining room. Last week end the guests were from all over the globe and the conversation was delightful. The location cannot be beat--a very short walk to the Frank Lloyd Wright visitor's center and the Hemingway museum and pretty close to the shops and restaurants. Oak Park is a great place to visit and Gloria's beautiful home is a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for room 2!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delafield, Wisconsin
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

This B&B is located just a few blocks of the main street of Oak Park. Very safe neighborhood with a very comfortable and large front porch to lounge on. (The only hiccup we had with the porch, was the house is on a 'audio walking tour', so if you were to sit by the stairs there are people staring up at you at times, but most of the porch is relatively hidden with the trees). There are 5 rooms on the second floor and a third level with a recreational type bedroom, another small bedroom and big bath. As everyone stated Gloria was a very sweet, knowlegable and friendly host, and the house is very beautiful. The private bathrooms in room 1 and 2 were spacious and very nice. Those of us in rooms 3, 4, and 5 were able to easily share the large baths in the hallways on the 2nd and 3rd floor. Noise wise, it was very peaceful at night, though those in rooms 3,4 and 5 could hear the slight sounds of each other talking. The bed in room 1 is a little higher in the middle, so those sleepers tended to roll torwards the ends of the bed, but otherwise the beds were quite comfortable. As others have said, since they live in the house you need to use the front porch or one of the rooms to congregate, which worked out fine for us since the weather was ideal. The breakfast is a good variety of fruit, some cereal and some delicious pastries (but there is a great place called Delias Kitchen just down the street if you want hot breakfast). The only negative experience we had was that one of our cars was blocked in by their son, causing us some stress and to be late for a Flavour cooking class we had (since he was gone for the day/night and took his keys).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Under the Ginkgo Tree Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Under the Ginkgo Tree Bed and Breakfast

Address: 300 N Kenilworth Ave, Oak Park, IL 60302
Location: United States > Illinois > Oak Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Oak Park
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Queen Anne Victorian home was built in 1890 and is located in a prominent historic suburb of Chicago. When you are staying at Under The Ginkgo Tree Bed & Breakfast you are one block from Frank Lloyd Wright's home and Studio, and just 20 minutes from downtown Chicago. Come and enjoy our peaceful residential neighborhood. Stroll the tree-lined streets and enjoy the quaint shopping of Oak Park. Your stay includes an extensive continental breakfast in the bright homey kitchen or on the veranda, weather permitting. The choice is yours. Coming to the Chicagoland area for a convention or business trip? Under The Ginkgo Tree Bed and Breakfast is a growing destination for business travelers. We're partnered with area Chambers of Commerce, Visitors Bureaus, and several business associations. Our business guests want a convenient location, free parking, free local telephone calls, free Wi-Fi and computer usage for those without laptops, and a comfortable and quiet sleep. And they all agree: the complimentary full breakfast in the morning kicks the day off right. Downtown hotel room rates are on the rise - not to mention the hourly costs associated with parking, and the safety risks that come with being in unfamiliar city surroundings. We're affordably-priced and located minutes from both Chicago airports. Once you're here, you're a quick 20 minute trip to the Chicago Loop via the rail system, or less than a half-hour drive by car, using one of the multiple nearby expressways or even city streets. Whether you're just passing through town for a quick sales pitch, or your corporation is holding a conference that you and several employees will attend, choose Under the Ginkgo Tree Bed and Breakfast. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Under The Ginkgo Tree b&b
Under The Ginkgo Tree Hotel Oak Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Under the Ginkgo Tree Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Under the Ginkgo Tree Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list