We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“have stayed there several times” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Under the Ginkgo Tree Bed and Breakfast

Under the Ginkgo Tree Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oak Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Under the Ginkgo Tree Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Under the Ginkgo Tree Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
300 N Kenilworth Ave, Oak Park, IL 60302   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Oak Park B&B and Inns
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“have stayed there several times”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stay at Under the Ginkgo Tree whenever we visit my brother in Oak Park (to avoid his darn cats). I like room 2 which is large, tastefully and comfortably furnished with an enormous en suite bathroom. The house is lovingly restored and preserved but is not the least bit precious or pretentious. . Gloria, our hostess, is gracious and helpful. So for instance, when we visited last weekend in the rain, she immediately asked us if we needed umbrellas. Breakfast is an informal affair--you pick up your cereal, yogurt, pastry, coffee etc. in Gloria's homey kitchen and proceed to a big table in the elegant dining room. Last week end the guests were from all over the globe and the conversation was delightful. The location cannot be beat--a very short walk to the Frank Lloyd Wright visitor's center and the Hemingway museum and pretty close to the shops and restaurants. Oak Park is a great place to visit and Gloria's beautiful home is a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for room 2!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    11
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
10
23
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Delafield, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

This B&B is located just a few blocks of the main street of Oak Park. Very safe neighborhood with a very comfortable and large front porch to lounge on. (The only hiccup we had with the porch, was the house is on a 'audio walking tour', so if you were to sit by the stairs there are people staring up at you at times, but most of the porch is relatively hidden with the trees). There are 5 rooms on the second floor and a third level with a recreational type bedroom, another small bedroom and big bath. As everyone stated Gloria was a very sweet, knowlegable and friendly host, and the house is very beautiful. The private bathrooms in room 1 and 2 were spacious and very nice. Those of us in rooms 3, 4, and 5 were able to easily share the large baths in the hallways on the 2nd and 3rd floor. Noise wise, it was very peaceful at night, though those in rooms 3,4 and 5 could hear the slight sounds of each other talking. The bed in room 1 is a little higher in the middle, so those sleepers tended to roll torwards the ends of the bed, but otherwise the beds were quite comfortable. As others have said, since they live in the house you need to use the front porch or one of the rooms to congregate, which worked out fine for us since the weather was ideal. The breakfast is a good variety of fruit, some cereal and some delicious pastries (but there is a great place called Delias Kitchen just down the street if you want hot breakfast). The only negative experience we had was that one of our cars was blocked in by their son, causing us some stress and to be late for a Flavour cooking class we had (since he was gone for the day/night and took his keys).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Top Contributor
329 reviews 329 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 114 cities Reviews in 114 cities
244 helpful votes 244 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

I was traveling with friends to attend a wedding in Oak Park. Happily I found Under the Ginko Tree and booked a group of us there. It was a lovely place to stay on many levels. First, the rooms are quite large with plenty of storage space. The beds were comfortable. It was extremely clean. Second, it is extremely well priced. The room quotes are tax inclusive. The breakfast is a simple but good quality continental offering of cereals, fresh fruit, juices, yogurt, sweet breads, bagels and hard boiled eggs. Third, the common areas lend themselves very nicely to casual gatherings. We were encouraged to enjoy the front and back porches, often taking out breakfast out to enjoy the morning. We stopped by one of the hotels to meet up with some other wedding guests and noticed instantly the hotel common areas were ill suited to sitting and visiting. There were four or five seating groups on the front porch. Fourth, the location is perfect. Park your car and walk. Walk the neighborhood (at least six FLWright houses and the museum. Walk to the shops on Oak Park Blvd and Marion St. Walk to Petersons and have super local ice cream.

The last and truly one of the best reasons to visit Under the Ginko Tree is to meet Gloria and feel the energy and spirit with which her home is filled. She is a fascinating and delightful person with an abiding interest in other people and a love of life.

Room Tip: Spring for the private bath (rooms one or two)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, TX USA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

We wanted an interesting place to take a break on a long drive, with the option to go to downtown Chicago easily. Gloria's place let us take two rooms for less than we often pay for one, so the kids had space for themselves. We loved Gloria's tips about Chicago and where to see Frank Lloyd Wright designed homes near his studio just a couple blocks away. Her home was just the respite we wanted, rooms nice and cool on hottest day of the summer, breakfast satisfied each of us, and Gloria is a delight! Plus, it was very easy to be in downtown Chicago by metro. I want to come back and spend more time in Oak Park and Chicago. When I do, we will stay here!

Room Tip: Room 2 with private room was spacious for two. Room 3 with extra twin and shared bath in hall works...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

Gloria's B&B was a much needed respite from the hectic life in the city. The house is inspiring and soulful. Stay there if you are open and receptive to new beginnings. It is a place to recharge your soul or simply relax and imagine the house when it was first built.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

We stayed at this B&B in March 2012. We had tickets for a show in downtown Chicago and chose to stay in Oak Park to avoid the traffic and parking hassles. The B&B was reasonably priced, included parking and was only a 10 minute walk to the 'L' station. We had a lovely, large room and the breakfast was decent. The host was informative and helpful. Our discomfort in staying at this inn related to the profusion of religious icons throughout the public spaces. There is a huge sign in the front yard with a Christian proselytizing message. Although there were no religious items in our room and the host did not speak about religion to us, as atheists, my husband and I felt uncomfortable. If being surrounded by Christian proselytizing messages and icons is not an issue for you, this would be a nice B&B to consider.

Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

The Ginkgo Tree is a large Victorian house in a neighborhood full of beautiful Victorians and houses designed by Frank Lloyd Wright. It is just a block from Lake St., with its restaurants, coffee shops and stores, and walking distance to many parts of Oak Park, as well as the train into Chicago. The owner, Gloria Onischuk, always provides a warm welcome (along with ever-present chocolate chip cookies) and an excellent continental breakfast, along with plenty of advice about things to do in the area. Breakfast conversation is often so interesting that it can be difficult to leave. Many of the guests are regulars. Prices are very reasonable for the four rooms, two with private and two with shared bath. Off-street parking is available.

Room Tip: Check online for a description of the rooms. Numbers 1 and 2 have private baths.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Under the Ginkgo Tree Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Under the Ginkgo Tree Bed and Breakfast

Address: 300 N Kenilworth Ave, Oak Park, IL 60302
Location: United States > Illinois > Oak Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Oak Park
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Queen Anne Victorian home was built in 1890 and is located in a prominent historic suburb of Chicago. When you are staying at Under The Ginkgo Tree Bed & Breakfast you are one block from Frank Lloyd Wright's home and Studio, and just 20 minutes from downtown Chicago. Come and enjoy our peaceful residential neighborhood. Stroll the tree-lined streets and enjoy the quaint shopping of Oak Park. Your stay includes an extensive continental breakfast in the bright homey kitchen or on the veranda, weather permitting. The choice is yours. Coming to the Chicagoland area for a convention or business trip? Under The Ginkgo Tree Bed and Breakfast is a growing destination for business travelers. We're partnered with area Chambers of Commerce, Visitors Bureaus, and several business associations. Our business guests want a convenient location, free parking, free local telephone calls, free Wi-Fi and computer usage for those without laptops, and a comfortable and quiet sleep. And they all agree: the complimentary full breakfast in the morning kicks the day off right. Downtown hotel room rates are on the rise - not to mention the hourly costs associated with parking, and the safety risks that come with being in unfamiliar city surroundings. We're affordably-priced and located minutes from both Chicago airports. Once you're here, you're a quick 20 minute trip to the Chicago Loop via the rail system, or less than a half-hour drive by car, using one of the multiple nearby expressways or even city streets. Whether you're just passing through town for a quick sales pitch, or your corporation is holding a conference that you and several employees will attend, choose Under the Ginkgo Tree Bed and Breakfast. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Under The Ginkgo Tree b&b
Under The Ginkgo Tree Hotel Oak Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Under the Ginkgo Tree Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.