We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wright's "Starter House"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Frank Lloyd Wright Home and Studio

Frank Lloyd Wright Home and Studio
951 Chicago Avenue, Oak Park, IL 60304
312-994-4000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 16 Attractions in Oak Park
Type: Architectural Buildings, Historic Sites, Cultural
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Frank Lloyd Wright Home and Studio served as Wright's private residence and workplace from 1889 to 1909--the first 20 years of his career. Here Wright developed a new American architecture: the Prairie style. Filled with original furnishings, the Home and Studio demonstrates Wright's passion for controlling all aspects of his structures, including interior design and decorative arts. Enjoy guided tours of the museum complex and neighboring historic district seven days a week. Tour details are available on the Frank Lloyd Wright Preservation Trust website.
Useful Information: Stroller parking
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Top Contributor
213 reviews 213 reviews
46 attraction reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
177 helpful votes 177 helpful votes
“Wright's "Starter House"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Visually very different from the Victorian houses all around it. Not yet the "Prarie Style", but you can see the beginnings of his mind working on it. The murals in the upstairs rooms have been repainted so you can now see them in an almost original state. He thought of so many ideas for his children's rooms and how things should be done. In order to fit in a piano - he put the back under part of the steps. His built ins in the walls are small for our clothing, but efficient for the time.
You move next door from the house to the office space. More gorgeous stained glass in ceiling and windows. For example, in order not to have his draftsman look out windows, he raised the windows. Efficiency for his ideas was paramount.
In Oak Park there are many other homes to see and there are tours that you can take. The big tour, which is the Wright Housewalk weekend in May, gets sold out quickly, so there is reason to go back there for another trip!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    349
    117
    17
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ocean Springs, Mississippi
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
55 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“What a treat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

The city of Oak Park is truly a lovely town. After our train ride from Chicago we were thrilled to walk through this beautiful place on our way to the Frank Lloyd Wright Home and Studio. We took the guided tour and enjoyed it very much. We also paid the extra five dollars to be able to take pictures throughout the tour of the home and studio. Our tour guide was extremely knowledgeable and seemed to enjoy answering questions from our group. He gave us many tidbits one might have never discovered about Frank Lloyd Wright and his family.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great tour!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

I'm a self-described FLW fan, so visiting his home was a dream for me. My wife and I took the interior guided tour as well as the self-guided walking tour. The interior tour was very interesting; Wright used his home somewhat like a laboratory, experimenting with different ideas, the successful ones getting incorporated in some of his later buildings. The guide was extremely knowledgeable and happy to answer any questions the tour group (probably 15 of us) had. Keep in mind you are not allowed to take pictures inside his home and studio unless you pay a little extra ($5?) for the photo option.

The walking tour was very well done. Oak Park contains the largest concentration of Frank Lloyd Wright designed buildings in the world. The tour covers 20 buildings (including the fantastic Unity Temple); of the 20, probably 17 were FLW buildings and other others were used to contrast what the majority of houses looked like during the time Wright had built those. Another house (or two) showed how other architects used some of Wright's ideas in their buildings.

All told, the tours were fantastic not only for an FLW fan like me, but also for someone who knows very little about Frank Lloyd Wright but wanted to learn more (my wife).

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, CA
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Must see if you wonder about Prairie Style architecture”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

Our docent was a bit of a hero worshipper, but the tour of the home was very interesting. If you ever wondered who Wright was at his design core, this is the place to understand it.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo Grove, Illinois
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A man ahead of his times”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

The walking tour of Frank Lloyd Wright's various homes and his studio in Oak Park is something not to be missed. Designed between 1889 and 1913 you will get a flavor of the man and his creative genius.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Frank Lloyd Wright Home and Studio also viewed

 

Been to Frank Lloyd Wright Home and Studio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Frank Lloyd Wright Home and Studio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.