We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable and accommodatin” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gateway Motel and Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Gateway Motel and Inn to your Saves list
Gateway Motel and Inn
4657 W 95th Street, Oak Lawn, IL 60453   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Oak Lawn
Albuquerque
Level Contributor
91 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Very comfortable and accommodatin”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

After a terrible night at another motel with an uncomfortable mattress that was way too old, we looked at Trip Advisor to find an alternative and found the Gateway. We loved the new mattress, friendly service and comfortable room. Yes, this is an older motel, but it is a good location for us to visit family. The street is noisy at night, but turning on the A/C helped drown out the traffic noise. Good continental breakfast with hard-boiled eggs, bagels and cream cheese, cereal and bananas. Good wi-fi signal. We will be back!

Room Tip: Kitchenettes are available if you need more than a microwave and mini-fridge. However, no dishes or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    8
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
2
2
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Just would like to thank the owners of the motel for being very accomodating. We stayed there this past weekend and the room was very nice. The flat screen tv and cable, air conditioning, bed, and bath were clean. We will gladly stay there the next time we are here visiting our Chicago family.

Room Tip: If you need a first floor, make sure you request it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Illinois
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

In February 2012, I had to attend a training event which was being at the hospital which is located very near this motel. I needed to stay two nights. I chose this motel due to location and price. I was not disappointed.

This motel is not fancy--and I have absolutely no problem with that. I wasn't looking for a spa or resort. I was looking for a place to sleep that was "easy on my wallet". The overall design and decor are probably closer to 1972 than 2012--BUT I found my room to be well-maintained, clean, and reasonably quiet (especially for being located on a busy street and near a hospital). There was a microwave and refrigerator in my room. There was an adequate channel selection on the flat screen television. The bed was clean and comfortable.

The front desk staff members were very pleasant and helpful The continental breakfast was very small--but adequate. It snowed a few inches on my second night there. Once the snow stopped, the space all around my car was shoveled out for me. There are a few fast food restaurants, a convenience store and a small "strip mall" located within easy walking distance.

If I ever need to stay in Oak Lawn again--and I want a nice, inexpensive, place to sleep, I will be back.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

This quaint, family owned motel was the perfect choice for my visit. I was looking for a convenient location close to my daughter, reasonably priced, safe, and clean. The Gateway met my requirements perfectly. Very sweet and helpful owners and staff, coffee and pastries in the office every morning, clean and safe. Free wifi, flat screen TVs, mini-fridge, microwave, cable, and air conditioning that kept me cool during a heat wave in July. Located on 95th, I expected to hear the traffic, but not so. I couldn't even hear the baby in the room next door. It was the perfect choice.

They gave my daughter the key to the room the day before, as my flight came in very late, and when my laptop would not pick up the wireless signal from one of the end rooms, they moved me to a closer spot with no hesitation.

I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2010

Staying at the Gateway was convient and was almost like being at home. Each room has a convient refrigerator and microwave. The air conditioning worked great. And the bathrooms were a great size. As for cleaniness, it was also like being at home. Close to expressways, shopping and restaurants galore, we will make Gateway our "Home away from home" next time we come to visit family.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Gateway Motel and Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gateway Motel and Inn

Address: 4657 W 95th Street, Oak Lawn, IL 60453
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Oak Lawn
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Oak Lawn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and operated, super clean and affordable. Great location near Advocate Hospital, Little Company of Mary Hospital, Midway Airport, downtown Chicago, metro station. We offer a free breakfast, HBO, ESPN and more....we are a great stop as a real at-home Mom and Pop inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Gateway Motel and Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gateway Motel and Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.