We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Closet converted into a hotel room is still a closet!! Zero Stars” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree Hotel Chicago Oak Brook

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Doubletree Hotel Chicago Oak Brook to your Saves list
Doubletree Hotel Chicago Oak Brook
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1909 Spring Road, Oak Brook, IL 60523   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Oak Brook
Charlotte, NC
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A Closet converted into a hotel room is still a closet!! Zero Stars”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2006

This hotel is located in upscale Oakbrook, IL right next to Oakbrook Mall. It's hard to believe that a hotel room like this even exists, let alone in upscale Oakbrook.
Our room must have been a storage closet with a queen bed jammed into it. The room literally could only fit a queen bed with very little space to move around. When we complained they did not have a room to move us into. According to the front desk staff, there was not a manager available to speak with until 7 am the next morning - over 12 hours later and there was nothing she could do. This is a corporate chain, but you couldn't tell by the poor/ non existent customer service.
Besides a very claustrophobic environment, the bed was very uncomfortable also. After the first night, I stayed with relatives we were visiting.

This hotel is not recommended for anyone.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    183
    98
    34
    11
See reviews for
90
68
35
246
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2005

If you love the suburbs and need a place to stay, this place is for you. For the price its better than a Motel 6 or Super 8. Across from the Mall, its great if you are in town for business. Close to the highway, its accessible to Ohare and downtown. Service was good.

Stayed October 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2005

I love doubletrees but this one was just OK. I looks like they just purchased this Hotel from the Hyatt (I could see Hyatt on the phone). We checked in very late (after the U2 concert) and the front desk person was rude. He wasn't very friendly and not at all helpful. I had reserved the Dream special which included breakfast but he said I didn't. The next morning I did confirm this with the front desk and got the breakfast we wanted. The hotel definitely needs to be renovated to meet the Doubletree quality and reputation. Beds could be better.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburgh, Indiana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2005

Just returned from a weekend in Chicago. Had a 40th celebration at Maggiano's Italian restaturnat at Oak Brook center and chose to stay at the Doubletree for its proximity to the mall and earning Hilton pts. The property is truly in need of updating, but they are aware of this and a major overhaul starts in Oct 2005. Spring 2006 all new decor.
Anyway, rooms are average in size, baths are avg in size, brkt buffet 'excellent'. For an extra $10 per night 2 adults and 2 kids could eat "wow".
Ample parking in garage and they have a wonderful staff. Doorman very helpful, desk staff took a picture of us. Just felt like they were happy we stayed. Looking forward to staying here after the renovation, hope the will add microwaves to the suites.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2005

The Doubletree had the most uncomfortable sleeping accomodations! I would have been better off sleeping on the floor. The staff was friendly and I understand that they are undergoing renovations but renovation should start with a decent bed.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2005

My boyfriend and I just stayed at the Double Tree and we loved it! We were greeted at the front desk with two cookies straight from the oven and music playing from a player piano in the lobby. There's even an Avis right in the hotel with cars on the hotel lot if you want to save yourself the trouble of renting elsewhere. The room was clean and comfortable. The exercise area has pretty new equipment and plenty of it and there's a pool and a whirlpool with a balcony on each side if you are interested in sunbathing. There's also a restaurant and a sports bar with a bartender who serves up a great margarita. Outside the hotel, there's a beautiful little pond that had geese. It's within minutes of the Oak Brook mall where you can get some great shopping done, many of the same stores you see on Michigan Avenue but in a less crowded environment. They are remodeling now so I am sure that things are only going to get better.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Doubletree Hotel Chicago Oak Brook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Hotel Chicago Oak Brook

Address: 1909 Spring Road, Oak Brook, IL 60523
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > DuPage County > Oak Brook
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Oak Brook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree Hotel Chicago Oak Brook 3.5*
Number of rooms: 423
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Doubletree Chicago Oak Brook is the perfect location for your leisure or business trip. Close to O'Hare and Midway Airports, just 18 miles to Chicago, walking distance to Illinois’ largest outdoor shopping mall, and convenient to the Metra Train, zoo, theaters, and golf courses. Book a Chicago weekend escape with all the fun and attractions without the downtown Chicago expense. Hotel features FREE parking, local transportation and warm chocolate chip cookies at check-in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Doubletree Hotel Chicago Oak Brook reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Oak Brook
Oak Brook Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doubletree Hotel Chicago Oak Brook, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.