We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree Hotel Chicago Oak Brook

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Doubletree Hotel Chicago Oak Brook to your Saves list
Doubletree Hotel Chicago Oak Brook
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1909 Spring Road, Oak Brook, IL 60523   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed & Breakfast Package
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Oak Brook
Bourbon, United States
1 review
“Very Nice Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

Was there for a convention with my son and the staff was very helpful and the room was very nice and clean. Only downfall was small elevators. With convention goers in the Hotel and over 1000 of them the elevators where crowed and slow at times.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMDoubletreeOakBrook, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Chicago Oak Brook, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Paul M,

Thank you for staying with us, and for your understanding and patience. We greatly appreciate your feedback, and hope your conference was a good one.

Chris Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    194
    111
    39
    13
See reviews for
94
76
36
271
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Petoskey, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

Nice hotel, clean and friendly staff, but the food is poorly prepared and lacks flavor. The eggs at the buffet were hard and tasteless, French fries are small and soaked in grease. Burgers lacked flavor.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMDoubletreeOakBrook, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Chicago Oak Brook, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Rick B,

Appreciate the feedback, both good and not so good. Thank you for staying with us, and for taking the time to share your feedback.

Chris Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Comments Regarding the Pool Area: It would be beneficial to have some listing to the depth of the pool. My 4year old niece had a very difficult time navigating the pool - one reason I enjoy staying with Hilton because I have great experiences with the pools/spas with younger children. I could have prepared better (bring more flotation type items) so she could be able to swim and enjoy the whole pool, as opposed to clinging to the edge and me holding her. Also, I found the pool deck to be very dirty (hair everywhere, band-aids, gum/food wrappers, foot traffic dirt). The pool was pretty empty when my niece and I went swimming, so it made me wonder how long the garbage/dirt had been there. Pool water temperature felt like a exercise pool versus a recreation pool, which recreation pools are typically much warmer. Again, this isn't a complaint because I enjoy an exercise "lap" type pool. It would have been helpful to know the type of pool as then I could have brought my niece's swim shirt, etc. to keep her having fun in the pool and not worry about her getting cold. Comment Regarding the Room: I found the room to be overall pleasing. Yet, attention to detail seems to be somewhat lacking. The bathroom fixtures had quite a lot of dirt from where previous guests hands had touched them (light switches, door handles, the side of the tub, and sink areas). Also, I noticed a lot of scratches and wear on the office chair, desk, dresser, and end tables. I know from traveling, some wear on these items is to be expected, but these items were beyond the everyday hotel use wear. I enjoyed the complimentary shampoo/conditioner/soap - very nice to shower after a long day and relax with the scent of crabtree and evelyn. The room was quiet and housekeeping was attentive when I needed extra soap and towels. I enjoy this hotel location (near shopping and dining) as well as the staff were very welcoming and obliging in any way. The reception area was very well kept and modern furnishes. I would recommend this hotel, but would preface the upkeep and type of pool at this location.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMDoubletreeOakBrook, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Chicago Oak Brook, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Arin W,

We really do appreciate the feedback. I have shared your comments with the team, and are working hard every day to ensure that every corner of the hotel is clean and welcoming.

Chris Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diamond Bar, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Me and my wife chose this hotel because my daught's middle school chosed this hotel for a musical festival in Chicago Symphony Hall. Over all this is an average hotel with outrages breakfast charge --- bowl of ceral cost $7.00. In addition, the hotel location is by tollway and for out of state traveller, it is very confusing and adds additional cost to your travel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMDoubletreeOakBrook, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Chicago Oak Brook, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Harry H,

I am sorry for the tollway, I do empathize, as I am on it twice a day. I do recommend booking our bed and breakfast package, as it is not much more than the cost of the bowl of cereal for our full American Breakfast buffet, including our made to order omelet station.

Chris Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookfield, Wisconsin
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

Hotel rooms need maintenance -- rather worn and to work the shower you needed to flip the tab on the faucet - not a problem except it had been altered and i struggled to do it and my 80 year old mother couldn't get it to work at all

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMDoubletreeOakBrook, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Chicago Oak Brook, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
melissa k,

Thank you for letting us know there was an issue in the room and I am terribly sorry it negatively impacted your visit. We fixed the problem, and appreciate your help in our efforts to keep a clean and good working hotel.

Chris Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

I was here with a large group and made a group booking directly with the hotel and managed to sort out a very good price. We mainly had business in downtown Chicago, yet the fixed price ($42) taxi to The Loop made it possible to stay at this property which is only 40 minutes away even during heavy traffic at 8am on a weekday and 30 minutes when it's smooth.

The rooms are great and came with excellent Crabtree amenities. The beds were also very comfortable and reasonably spacious.

The fitness room was quite adequate as it gives a good selection of weights and cardio machines. There is also a pool and jacuzzi that I did not use.

The mall across the road is huge - you can literally find everything you would need. If you don't want to walk the hotel also offered shuttle bus to anywhere within the 5 mile radius for free. There are plenty of restaurants at that mall so dining was not an issue at all by staying there.

I would like to thank all the helpful and friendly staff that made my stay pleasant and assisted with all the coordination for my group. It was never too much to ask and they exceeded my expectations.

I would definitely consider to stay here again if I'm going back to the Chicago area.

Room Tip: Use the fixed price taxi to and from downtown. The Oak Brook mall just across the road is also extre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

Firstly, staff was wonderful and room very clean. EXCEPT: No microwave or refrigerator in our room and while I'm mentioning it the ice bucket was a very small size. Seriously though, I have stayed in hotels that cost less than this and they had a microwave and refrigerator!! I was very disappointed! Then I was told that had to book in a Suite room for those. I just don't get it and expect more from a Hilton property

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMDoubletreeOakBrook, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Chicago Oak Brook, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Holly C,

I am sorry we don't have refrigerators and microwaves in all of our rooms. As our team said, our suites do come with those amenities.

Thank you for staying with us.

Chris Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Doubletree Hotel Chicago Oak Brook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Hotel Chicago Oak Brook

Address: 1909 Spring Road, Oak Brook, IL 60523
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > DuPage County > Oak Brook
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Oak Brook
#3 Business Hotel in Oak Brook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree Hotel Chicago Oak Brook 3.5*
Number of rooms: 423
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Doubletree Chicago Oak Brook is the perfect location for your leisure or business trip. Close to O'Hare and Midway Airports, just 18 miles to Chicago, walking distance to Illinois’ largest outdoor shopping mall, and convenient to the Metra Train, zoo, theaters, and golf courses. Book a Chicago weekend escape with all the fun and attractions without the downtown Chicago expense. Hotel features FREE parking, local transportation and warm chocolate chip cookies at check-in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and Hilton Hotels so you can book your Doubletree Hotel Chicago Oak Brook reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Oak Brook
Oak Brook Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doubletree Hotel Chicago Oak Brook, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.