We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree Hotel Chicago Oak Brook

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Doubletree Hotel Chicago Oak Brook to your Saves list
Doubletree Hotel Chicago Oak Brook
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1909 Spring Road, Oak Brook, IL 60523   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Oak Brook
Roselle, United States
1 review
“Very Good Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

Stayed here for Thanksgiving. The Front Desk Team was very friendly and gracious - a testament to their work ethic since working on such a major Holiday. The Atrium restaurant Team was awesome. Great service and food for Dinner and Breakfast. Loved the beautifully decorated Christmas Tree in the Lobby. Also, the popcorn in the bar was a nice touch. Last but not least, the cookies were delicious. Will definitely be back again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMDoubletreeOakBrook, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Chicago Oak Brook, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Madeline T,

Thank you for spending your Thanksgiving here with us, and thank you for pointing out the team who was here working on the holiday.

It's not easy to be away from family on holidays, while it seems like everyone else is home eating and watching football, and we in the business are working. That said, it's really cool when someone truly appreciates the commitment.

Come back and see us any time.

Chris Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    182
    98
    34
    11
See reviews for
90
67
35
246
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

With all the other hotels in the area, pick one with better ammenities and do your research. No refrigerator. Only 3 towels. Smelly room. Small rooms. Definitely not what I expected from a Hilton hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMDoubletreeOakBrook, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Chicago Oak Brook, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Tony C,

I saw your feedback on our internal service scoring, and have already reviewed with the team our mistake in putting you next to rooms we were painting. We are also always happy to provide any extra towels, amenities, or anything else you might need to make your stay more comfortable. I am sorry we did not communicate that.

I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations, and truly appreciate your taking the time to give us straightforward feedback.

Chris Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diego Martin, Trinidad & Tobago
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

I recently stayed at this hotel for three days. It was my first visit and a very pleasant experience. The hotel was calm and peaceful. Staff were friendly and helpful and the room was clean and comfortable. The complimentary wifi throughout the hotel was a big plus. The restaurant had some vegetarian options and were willing to adapt dishes on the menu to vegetarian meals. The warm chocolate cookies offered on arrival (great idea) had eggs and vegetarians like myself would appreciate an eggless cookie alternative.
I would also suggest that they adopt a similar chit system as the Hilton Miami Airport for guests who qualify for complimentary bottles of water. (They give you a chit on arrival so you can just use the bottled water in your room and leave the chit in its place. You don't have to ask for the water). It was very convenient to have a good shopping mall right opposite the hotel - a 5 minute walk. I look forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMDoubletreeOakBrook, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Chicago Oak Brook, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Netsanet,

Thank you for being our guest, and for taking the time to give us some great feedback. We have actually refined our processes with you insight, and really appreciate the assist!

Safe travels and we look forward to having you back as our guest.

Chris Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights, overall good experience. Room rate was predetermined as package with hockey team - excellent rate. Check-in was smooth. Pool area clean - real towels, not the thin ones. Typical hotel price for breakfast buffet, service was good.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

We had heavy hearts when we stayed at this Doubletree for seven nights because of the death of my mother. We had to do a lot of running around the area getting the arrangements settled. It is in a very good location very close to an on/off ramp for I-88 and directly next to Oak Brook Mall with its large assortment of dining and shopping options.
Our stay was very pleasant despite the difficult circumstances. The staff was especially welcoming and very helpful. When we needed to add another room to our stay to accommodate more family, they easily switched us into adjoining rooms and honored our low rate for both rooms. When we had one very minor issue with one of the bathrooms it was quickly resolved.
The lobby area is large and welcoming. It is easy to get to check in and right to the elevators to get to the rooms. The hotel is unique in that it has rooms on four wings with a large circular hallow column in the center of the hotel. (You have to look into the columns vents to even realize it is just one big seven story hallow column!) When you exit the elevator you have to walk around to determine which wing you are in and then head down that hall.
The rooms are clean and in good condition. The rooms with double beds are not queen doubles, however, so in our case, we needed an extra room and we were able to be moved into adjoining rooms where one had a king and the other two doubles, which was exactly perfect for us. Many hotels just don’t have this kind of flexibility. Some of the interior hallway rooms even have balconies.
One earlier reviewer complained about not having wall outlets in a convenient place for phone charging. He clearly missed that each of the table lamps had multiple outlets built into their base. Between our two rooms we have five people charging their phones with no problems so there is plenty of space for that. The free Wi-Fi worked well with no problems other than having to re-sign in each day.
The rooms don’t come with fridge/microwaves though, only one single cup coffee maker. You can request a fridge for a $30 one time fee.
The bathrooms were in good working order except that on some days the water pressure wasn’t as high as I expected.
The pool was sized well and is only four feet deep so its better for smaller children. The hot tub worked well. The exercise room had 15 pieces of fairly new looking equipment, plus a full set of free weights, which is enormous for a hotel of this size.
The only real drawback of this hotel that I could find was the parking lot, which is located in the back of the hotel. It does not easily accommodate large vehicles. And if you park on any level other than the lobby level you have to take an outside elevator, then walk outside to get to the door to take you into the lobby level, then you have to walk to the front of the hotel to get to the elevators. But thankfully because of the unique wing layout, the walk is not very far.
There are many hotels nearby and some may have a better quality ranking but there is a lot to like about this Doubletree and you should strongly consider it.

Room Tip: If you avoid a south facing room, you'll avoid the sun overheating your room during the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
River Grove, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

I've stayed at this Doubletree Hotel numerous times over the years and continually see improvement! I can recommend this hotel without reservation (no pun intended). The few problems I've had were minor and quickly resolved by Doubletree's knowledgeable staff.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMDoubletreeOakBrook, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Chicago Oak Brook, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Roy B,

It is awesome when someone notices the changes we make. It is amazing when you look at all of the hours all of the team puts in every day, month, and year to continually create change and an improved product.

Thank you for noticing, and thank you so much for coming back!!

Chris Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Posen, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

The staff was friendly and very helpful! The service they provided was as perfect as always. The rooms were clean, comfortable and without any issues. It's always a pleasure staying at the Double Tree Oak Brook.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMDoubletreeOakBrook, General Manager at Doubletree Hotel Chicago Oak Brook, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Guadalupe Q,

We really all do appreciate your making us your home away from home. We do have a large amount of guests who spend as much time here, as they do at home, and we are always trying our best to achieve your experience every time.

Thanks again, and we look forward to your coming home again!

Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Doubletree Hotel Chicago Oak Brook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree Hotel Chicago Oak Brook

Address: 1909 Spring Road, Oak Brook, IL 60523
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > DuPage County > Oak Brook
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Oak Brook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree Hotel Chicago Oak Brook 3.5*
Number of rooms: 423
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Doubletree Chicago Oak Brook is the perfect location for your leisure or business trip. Close to O'Hare and Midway Airports, just 18 miles to Chicago, walking distance to Illinois’ largest outdoor shopping mall, and convenient to the Metra Train, zoo, theaters, and golf courses. Book a Chicago weekend escape with all the fun and attractions without the downtown Chicago expense. Hotel features FREE parking, local transportation and warm chocolate chip cookies at check-in. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Doubletree Hotel Chicago Oak Brook reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Oak Brook
Oak Brook Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doubletree Hotel Chicago Oak Brook, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.