We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mediocre Food; Terrible Service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of J Alexander's Restaurant

J Alexander's Restaurant
1410 16th St, Oak Brook, IL 60523-1307
630-573-8180
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
J Alexander's Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #5 of 69 Restaurants in Oak Brook
Price range: $0 - $18
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Steakhouse, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: (just East of) IL 83
Description: J. Alexander’s is a contemporary American restaurant, known for its wood-fired cuisine. Our core philosophy is to provide you with the highest possible quality dining experience. The menu features a wide selection of American classics including prime rib of beef, steaks, fresh seafood, sandwiches and entrée salads. The menu in each restaurant includes a varied and rotating selection of features like Seafood Czarina, Tuscan Steak, Grilled Fish with Mango Papaya Salsa and Chicken Milanese. The restaurant has a full-service bar that includes an outstanding selection of wines both by the glass and bottle.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Mediocre Food; Terrible Service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

The food was average and nothing special. The service was horrible. The waitress was drinking behind the bar and there was a group of staff in the corner eating and drinking. Very unprofessional.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    28
    15
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado, United States
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Very nice place to meet friends and have a great meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I have been to J. Alexanders several times before my trip in August 2013. Most of the time it has been a central place to meet friends who work in Oakbrook and Lombard and Elmhurst. Plus it's a great place to meet after a long day's worth of shopping at Oakbrook Mall.

The purpose of this trip to J. Alexanders was to meet several old friends I used to work with and who I had not seen in years. We got there so early when there were just a couple of other tables filled that we did not noticed that when we did eventually order the restaurant was filled to capacity.

The food was excellent as usual as was the service that is until we were almost done with our meals. That is until I was almost done with my meal. I still had my fork in my hand when another waiter came by and swooped in to take my plate away. My friends commented on this and suggested I say something to the waiter.

As we were leaving I did inform the hostess of what happened and even though she offered to go and get the waitress and other waiter who had committed the offense, I just took her aside and mentioned that it was not a big deal and that they should have the common decency to wait until all the utensils were sitting on the plates. I did tell her that we did notice how busy the restaurant was and that maybe they were in a haste to get our booth ready for the next patrons, but I did notice that no one was waiting at the front of the restaurant for a table.

With this over I should say that this is still a very good place to go and get a great meal. I have eaten there many times in the past when I was a resident of the area and they have never disappointed with a meal. Great atmosphere and pretty quiet as well, so you do not have to yell at your friends sitting across from you.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downers Grove, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Solid choice, good variety”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Went for dinner with my wife and parents, each of us got something, and all four dinners were great. Steaks, scallops, ribs, and prime rib all done very well. Service was generally pretty good, but we has to wait a bit on some of the things we requested.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southlake, Texas
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Unexpectedly good value (and a tidy little wine list)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

I had dinner here recently during a business trip, and was very satisfied by the food quality when compared to the value.

The per-glass wine list is very extensive and really was a welcome sight. Bonus points for having The Prisoner by the glass, which paired expertly with the steak frites.

Service is attentive and courteous yet not suffocating.

Atmosphere is perfect for a business casual dinner. Highly recommended!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Park, Illinois, United States
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Better than expected!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Got a recommendation to eat at this chain before it changed hands and didn't know what to expect. We had reservations for 4 on a Saturday night and needed to add one and be a little late and they were very accommodating. Actually much more than I expected from a restaurant by a busy mall! The server was very perky but not so much to be annoying. Prices are a bit high but the food was very good even though the special fish was already sold out. We all enjoyed what we ordered and will eat there again.
Nicely decorated. I even liked the tiles in the restroom!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed J Alexander's Restaurant also viewed

Oak Brook, DuPage County
Oak Brook, DuPage County
 
Oak Brook, DuPage County
Oak Brook, DuPage County
 

Been to J Alexander's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage J Alexander's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.