We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Northbrook

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Northbrook to your Saves list
Hilton Northbrook
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2855 North Milwaukee Avenue, Northbrook, IL 60062   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X HHonors Points
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Northbrook
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

I have stayed at the Hilton-Northbrook numerous times. The service is always, without exception, stellar. The staff are kind, helpful, and professional. Their good work allows me to be well-rested and well fed while working away from home. Simply an amazing staff.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bobmsmith, Director Room Division at Hilton Northbrook, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Good afternoon and thank you for staying with us, we appreciate you taking the time to give the hotel such a good review.

Have a Great Summer and stay Cool..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    106
    54
    17
    7
See reviews for
64
49
19
137
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Doozey of a stay, I recommend avoiding Hilton Northbrook. My journey began with a late night (11 ish PM arrival). I was greeted at the door by a skunk (though some tourists enjoyed him/her). After check-in it was impossible to get dinner (no room service, no mini bar, no vending machines, on premises bar stopped serving food, and had closed early to boot). Key to room did not work on first try.

Room smelled (almost like a mildew smell) and it felt damp and warm at the same time. Strange layout with bathroom area separated by partial wall. Furniture, rugs, lamps, etc were old and tired and looked dirty (even if just perception). Towels sub par, hot water can best be described as lukewarm.

The following morning the car service that the front desk had allegedly reserved the night before was not actually booked (though they were able to accommodate pretty quickly).

Lobby was packed to the gills in the morning with conference/group attendees.

Bottom line is this hotel is tired, uncomfortable, and in poor shape. Not worthy of the Hilton name. I recommend you stay downtown and commute.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bobmsmith, Director Room Division at Hilton Northbrook, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
We are sorry we were not able to provide you with the quality of services you deserve. This is not typical of our hotel, and we are always looking for ways to improve our customer experience. Your satisfaction is very important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding stay. We again apologize for the inconveniences that you endured, if there is anything we can do to correct this please let us know. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope you will consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Meredith, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We stayed at this Hilton for a conference and found the staff to be extremely professional and friendly. They couldn't have been more helpful and the hotel was spotless: from the front of the building to the lobby, public restrooms, conference rooms, dining room and guest rooms.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bobmsmith, Director Room Division at Hilton Northbrook, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Good afternoon and thank you for staying us, we appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel.

I will share your comments with the our team members at the weekly staff meeting.

Again thank you for the Excellenrt review..

Have a Great Summer...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downers Grove, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Adequate, but I stayed in a Days Inn in Ohio 2 days later and found that to be better than a Hilton in Illinois. More for my money with a Days Inn and just the same quality, actually bigger room and the air conditioner took the humidity out of the air at the Days Inn. At the Hilton the air conditioner in the room was working, but it was not taking the humidity out of the air, so the room felt damp. At the Hilton if you wanted a refrigerator in your room, you would have had to request it prior to arriving. The room was small, it was okay for 2 people, but if we had our entire family of 4, it would have been tight. Furniture in room was scratched and looked beat up. Bathroom was very tight space, you could barely shut the bathroom door without falling into the toilet & tub. The name Hilton does not mean what it used to mean, "Quality".

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bobmsmith, Director Room Division at Hilton Northbrook, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Good morning an thank you for staying with us, we value your loyalty and forward to your return.

Have a great summer 2013..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerville, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Great place to stay with close access to everything Chicago and Evanston has to offer. The rooms were clean and the restaurant was convenient with great food at good prices. The location was within easy driving distance to everything without the hassle of staying right in Chicago.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bobmsmith, Director Room Division at Hilton Northbrook, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Good morning and thank you for staying with us, we appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel.

We cater to the Big Ten Schools given our proximity to Northwestern University.

On behalf of our team have a Safe and Happy 4th of July 2013...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

The hotel was beyond reproach and your staff was very welcoming and helpful. The room was enormous and very comfortable, though rather bland in comparison to the artsier venues, e.g. the various boutique chains. We were looking for something a bit more romantic--it was my wife's birthday--and we, or rather I, thought primarily of location--in the woods along the Fox River, near some really wonderful ethnic restaurants in Niles and Des Plaines. (Yes, folks, it's true.) Despite our expectations or hopes, when we arrived, it quickly became clear that this was an "events" hotel: weddings, family reunions, corporate events. This is all just fine, but it was not the mood we were looking for. So it wasn't you, it was us.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bobmsmith, Director Room Division at Hilton Northbrook, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Good afternoon and thank you for staying with us, we apppreciate you taking the time to review our hotel.

I will share your review with our team at todays staff meeting.

Have a Great Summer 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Johns, MI, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Great hotel to stay at. Shuttled us to and from wedding and reception and it went smoothly. Beautiful room. Great breakfast and lunch. rooms were terrific....not a great view but the room itself was great.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bobmsmith, Director Room Division at Hilton Northbrook, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Hello,
Thank you for staying with us we appreciate you taking the time to write such a nice review of our hotel and services.

In the past years we have made many several improvements.

It is great to see that our efforts have not gone un noticed.

Happy 4th of July..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Northbrook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Northbrook

Address: 2855 North Milwaukee Avenue, Northbrook, IL 60062
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Northbrook
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Northbrook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Northbrook 3.5*
Number of rooms: 245
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hilton Northbrook reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Northbrook Hotel Northbrook
Northbrook Hilton Hotel
Hilton Hotel Northbrook

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Northbrook, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.