We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Hotel- Good Breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Northbrook

Save Saved
You added Hilton Northbrook to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Northbrook
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2855 North Milwaukee Avenue, Northbrook, IL 60062   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X HHonors Points
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Northbrook
Grand Rapids
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Decent Hotel- Good Breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

I was here for a few days on business. It is ideal if you are near Allstate as I was for training. This is a decent hotel and is starting to show its age. It is overall a nice place but I didn't experience a high level of service. When I came in noone helped with luggage or was even there to help. The front desk told me I could get my luggage on my own. On my way up a bellhop asked could he help but by then I was all set. The rooms are clean and spacious enough. The beds were not comfortable and each night you rolled to the middle which appeared to be because they were worn out. The bathrooms have a separate door for the tub and toilet together which was smaller than I thought was possible. The shower curtain smelled but the bathroom was overall clean. I asked the Front Desk for towels once but they didn't come and I had to call housekeeping to get them brought up. The AC worked ok but not great. Cable was ok and the flat screen TV was nice. Nice indoor pool/jacuzzi and ok workout room. The hotel does offer breakfast but it is quite expensive. Breakfast each morning is great. They have omelette to order and a good selection for the buffet including fresh fruit. There is a nice view of the pond and fountain. The internet is good but not free. Parking is free but during the week it may be hard to get a spot. There are a number of places to eat in the area and they have a list of places to eat if you ask the front desk.

Room Tip: Choose the breakfast included option when booking a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bobmsmith, Director Room Division at Hilton Northbrook, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Good afternoon and thank you staying with us, we appreciate you taking the time to give such a thorough review.

I will share your candid comments about the hotel and services with our team at todays staff meeting.

We sincerly apppreciate your business and look for to serving you in the near future.

Have a Great 2013..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    95
    87
    40
    12
    3
See reviews for
45
38
15
106
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We were unintended guest at this hotel, United Airlines cancelled our connecting flight.
The Front desk staff were awesome and show real empathy at our situation. They offered a care pack to us that we readily accepted as our luggage went home without us.
We took advantage of the bar for some late night food. Food was tasty, just wish they had more gluten free options and that the server was more aware as to what it meant.
It would be nice if they had some sort of shuttle to the airport, although i got the impression that isn't the clientèle they are looking for.
Room was large, bed was comfortable. Had to ask for polyester filled pillows and duvet, housekeeping brought those right up!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bobmsmith, Director Room Division at Hilton Northbrook, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Good afternoon and thank you for the "Excellent" review.

I will make sure to recognize our Front Office team.

They are the first and last impression that our guests experience.

Have a Great 2013....

Thank you .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
germantown, md, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

A very nice hotel. The restaurant sunday brunch is unsurpassed ( unless you don't like all you can eat snow crabs, peel and eat shrimp, prime rib, and about 25 different salads ). The hotel provides a free shuttle to surrounding areas. The internet is fast and trouble free. You can connect your PC to the TV if you want to watch movies on Netflix. Trouble free visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bobmsmith, Director Room Division at Hilton Northbrook, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Good morning and thank you for taking the time to give us such a "Great" review of the Hotel and services we offer.

We continus to make improvements both in service and the Hotel we are glad to see are efforts have not gone un-noitced..

Have a Great 2013..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barboursville, West Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

I was there for training and my company paid for the room so I am not sure of the value. The rooms were small since they put me with a roommate. There was inly one small closet for the 2 of us to use. The breakfast buffet was not very good at all.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bobmsmith, Director Room Divsion at Hilton Northbrook, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Hello,
Thank you for staying with us, we appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel & services.

I will share your candid comments with our Executive Chef.

We look forward to serving you in the future.

Have a Great 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

about 20 minutes from international airport, the hotel is located in a very quite area and is designed for business meetings. Rooms are large and clean, restaurant is fine with a good staff. Only point, the fitness centre and swimmimg pool, quite small and without any window. With all that space around they could have found a nicer solution.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bobmsmith, Director Room Division at Hilton Northbrook, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Good afternoon and thank you for staying with us, we appreciate you taking the time to write such a good review of our hotel. I will share your review and comments with our team.


Have a Great 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

This trip I had a band group here for 3 days, the hotel has two towers and the nice thing was they don't book the driver with the group in their block of rooms that's the plus, very few if any driver wants to stay with the group on their floor I enjoyed the other tower, the rooms were clean and the bed was great, Quiet place for the most part as like I said I was in the other tower than the 10 bus loads of band students. Thank you Northbrook you have it together!! And the food wasn't bad either! I'll be back.

Room Tip: If you see motor coaches parked in the lot ask for an upper floor in the other tower away from the g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bobmsmith, Director Room Divsion at Hilton Northbrook, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Good morning and thank you for staying with us, we appreciate your business and look forward to seeing in the near future.

I appreciate you taking the time to point out the different towers and how we seperate the indidivual business travelers from the students.

This makes for better nights sleep for you and the other guests.

They are closely monitored by chaperones and hotel security this keeps the noise to a minimum.

Have a Great 2013..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood, Indiana
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Our stay here was very pleasant while we were visiting Chicago over the weekend. The hotel was clean and the staff was very friendly and accommodating. Nice atmosphere in the Lobby,bar and restaurant. Most of all the beds were very comfortable. Wish I could have taken it with me.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bobmsmith, Director Room Division at Hilton Northbrook, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Good afternoon and thank you for staying with us, we appreciate you taking the time to write such a good review of our hotel.

I will share your review and comments with our team.

Have a Great 2013.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Northbrook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Northbrook

Address: 2855 North Milwaukee Avenue, Northbrook, IL 60062
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Northbrook
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Northbrook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Northbrook 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hilton Northbrook reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Northbrook Hotel Northbrook
Northbrook Hilton Hotel
Hilton Hotel Northbrook

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Northbrook, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.