We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, nice stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Chicago North Shore Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Chicago North Shore Hotel to your Saves list
Renaissance Chicago North Shore Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   933 Skokie Boulevard, Northbrook, IL 60062   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Northbrook
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Potomac, MD
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great staff, nice stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

I agree with some of the other reviewers. I read the reviews before our stay, called the hotel and requested a high floor, corner room and quiet. No guarantees of course, be we ended up on the 10th floor. Rooms on the 9th and 10th floor are a bit larger and may have newer furnishings. (not sure about this). It was very nice.

Gym was very good. Nice equipment. However they are missing free weights - 15lb, 8 lb etc. They have other free weights. Shuttle service was easy and convenient. There is an indoor pool, nothing fancy but it is there.

This hotel was built in the 70s. Some may say it is dated, I thought it was fun and funky!

Room Tip: Try to get on the 9th or 10th floor or get a corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rik B, General Manager at Renaissance Chicago North Shore Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear marleneGPotoma_MD,
Fun and funky! Thanks, I like that description a lot! We also hear "whimsical and quirky decor" quite a bit, so you are in good company...
Thank you so much for recognizing our staff, they are truly what makes the difference for us. I do hope you are able to return in the future, and I promise we'll have all the free weights back in the fitness center!
Best regards,
Rik Blyth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    125
    44
    23
    14
See reviews for
73
56
16
118
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

I agree with the previous review that this hotel needs help but it has the potential for a great stay.

The hotel was very busy but check in was good. However, the first room I was appointed to was dreadful: flies in the curtains, curtains could not open nor close, the hallway smelled and the overall impression of the room was poor.
Ivan did a great job in making sure I got a room in which I felt myself more comfortable. But even being in a junior suite alike room, for me this is where this hotel needs the most improvement. The bed sleeps comfortable but the rest of the interior is outdated. The bathroom is very small. My advice is to take out the bathtub as this tub is not really suitable for taking a bath anyway and replace it with a more modern walk in shower. The room is not sound proof at all: you hear the doors slamming of the neighbors continuously. This point is always important to me as you mostly come for a good night sleep being a business traveler.
One other good thing I need to mention about the room is the amount of electricity outlets, well done. Also wifi speed is good.
Parking can be problematic at night: being a lady alone on business travel it would be good to have dedicated lady parking spots to increase safety feeling.
Minor other areas of improvement are the elevators: one of the elevators was more an elevator for housekeeping rather than for guests. Also, there was a lot of dirt and room service plates on the hallway when I checked in.
The business lounge is good, especially the lady Elisabeth, she truly provides customer service.
When I checked out I got help from the doorman, very friendly.
End conclusion: the staff is great: all encounters I had with them were positive, this is one of the most important assets being a hospitality provider. My recommendation is really on the hardware of this hotel. If they are able to change this it will be a very good 5 star rated hotel.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rik B, General Manager at Renaissance Chicago North Shore Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Database M,
Although your first impression of us was not good, I am delighted that Ivan, Elizabeth and others on our staff were able to save the day!
We are indeed aggressively working to get some of the building issues you mentioned taken care of. The elevators are scheduled to undergo a complete mechanical update very soon and we hope to focus on solutions to the bathrooms as well.
In the meantime, I do hope you give us another opportunity and stay with us next time you are in the area. I would be happy to assist in making those arrangements.
All my best,
Rik Blyth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utica, New York
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Having stayed at hotels around the world you get used to overlooking certain things ... But
1) Hot water is expected to be hot not Luke warm for showers. I felt like I was at home each shower, wondering if I would get through the entire thing with hot water. Oh and when the staff leaves "products" to use ... They should always be fresh, not some recycled partials from other visits.
2) if you have 3 elevators they need to all be working. If one is down, call the repair person... When 2 are down and the 3rd is acting up that is a problem worth getting more then hotel staff working on it. I heard a family with a young daughter describe being stuck in one of them for some time ...
3) pools are great, taking the time to make sure the chemical balance is correct is as important as opening the door. The smell of chlorine from the hot tub is so bad my son was not able to even be in the pool in the same room!
4) basic room maintenance needs to be looked over regularly. Our room had a door to a cabinet falling off when we arrived. I was able to fix it temporarily but that honeydoo list stuff is supposed to occur at home not at someone's investment property.

So the good stuff is staff related. They were not only knowledgeable but friendly. Their willingness to offer assistance made you feel like you were a member of the family. It is for this reason I would give the hotel another chance to rectify the challenges above and revisit in the future ...

Room Tip: From what I have heard the South Tower must be better then the North Tower ... maybe you will have b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rik B, General Manager at Renaissance Chicago North Shore Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Ima N,
Thank you for your thorough and constructive review.
You are correct, with this hotel being over 40 years old, there are a few infrastructure related issues that crop up from time to time. The good news is that significant renovation dollars have been committed on fixing these issues for good, with new boilers installed and work on our elevators starting soon.
In the meantime, we do make every effort to satisfy any guests who experience any inconvenience. I appreciate that you recognized our excellent staff service and that you would return when in the area. If I can be of any personal assistance at that time, please do not hesitate to contact me.
Regards,
Rik Blyth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayside, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

The hotel was like typical marriot experience. Was there on a wed night and there was live music at the longe, so that made it a fun atmosphere. Only issue was that bathroom was old, specifically toilet running after a flush and then continuous sound throughout the night.

All in all a fine enough. Staff was very pleasant.

Room Tip: Hallways carry noise of people. If you want quiet, get a corner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rik B, General Manager at Renaissance Chicago North Shore Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear allileo,
Thank you for taking some time to let us know about your stay. Although I am pleased to see that you enjoyed our live entertainment and staff service, it is unfortunate that you were disturbed by noise in your room. Please accept my apologies for this.
Best regards,
Rik Blyth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We had a family event - wedding - in the Renaissance Chicago North Shore Hotel over this past weekend. The hotel was crowded - several events - plus both the Northwestern and the Ohio State football teams and families (plus fans) were there as well. And, amazingly, they handled everything without a hiccup - not a glitch in sight. The room we had was a little small (Queen bed), but everything we needed was there, and it all worked. I appreciated the huge number of outlets ! That, to me, is a sign of a great upgrade to an older facility. Both bed-side lamps had a PAIR of outlets - and there were 4 more outlets on the table where our 2 MacBook Pro laptops went to live. Wonderful !

Parking was free, and, since I have a Marriott Rewards card, so was the speedy WiFi ... that would have cost us $75 a night in the loop or near Michigan Ave.

The buffet breakfast was great - and there is a Ruth's Chris steakhouse attached to the hotel (wedding dinners prevented me from going there on this trip). The staff was courteous and helpful. All-in-all, it was perfect in every way.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rik B, General Manager at Renaissance Chicago North Shore Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear MovinOn2,
Your review actually made me chuckle a bit... There is nothing I dislike more in a hotel room than having to move furniture to get to an electrical outlet! Everybody travels with multiple electronics these days, so we made sure our renovation covered those needs. I'm glad you noticed!
Thank you so much for the glowing review and recognizing both the service and great value we offer.
I hope to welcome you back soon,
Rik Blyth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south florida
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Just spent the weekend at this hotel for a family event. The rates were great, there were many events going on at the same time,but you never felt as if it was 'crowded'. The lobby is beautiful, decorated in purple and silver. Many areas where you can relax and sit with family, friends or alone. Long tables to sit at with outlets for computers, phones, etc. The staff couldnt have been nicer. They also have a shuttle service that was very helpful!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rik B, General Manager at Renaissance Chicago North Shore Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear twinzmomie,
Thank you for the kind words regarding your recent stay with us. You were indeed here over a very busy weekend, and I was happy to hear that everything went well. I hope to welcome you back when you next return to the North Shore!
All my best,
Rik Blyth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, MI
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Stayed over the Labor Day weekend. Apparently a popular place for parties, the décor in the lobby/bar is pretty modern in contrast to the rest of the hotel which is older/conservative, but pretty well maintained. Don't know if it's because of the holiday weekend, but definitely had a lively atmosphere when we were there.

We stayed in an Executive Queen room, so it had a queen bed in a "nook" with nightstands/dresser/TV, while the main room had a sofa bed and more dressers/desk/TV...and a refrigerator. We also had a rollaway as well. The room was good sized (as were the dressers), and the set-up worked very well for sleeping 4 people without having to cram into 2 double beds. Queen bed was comfy, and the kids didn't complain about the sofa bed or rollaway. Bathroom was tight, but had modern fixtures (good shower) and good towels.

Our room included access to the Exec Lounge/Concierge Room on the top floor, with breakfast and evening hors d'oeuvres during the week. Also had coffee/soft drinks/juice/snacks during non-meal times, and computer/internet access. Never saw the hors d'oeuvres, but breakfast was good, including fresh fruit, a couple hot items, rolls/Danish...all similar to what they serve at the restaurant buffet, though not as extensive. It was MUCH better quality than the "free breakfast" at, say, a Hampton Inn...but you're paying for it with the Executive room.

The front desk staff--Ivan and Will, in particular--were terrific. They greeted us when we arrived, and were friendly and courteous, even calling me by name during our stay. They were working the whole weekend we were there--lucky for me, as I had some "car trouble" that they both really went out of their way to help me out with. Ivan (the Director) even allowed me to park in the hotel entrance turnaround for the night, as the "weather integrity" of my car's roof was...suspect.

Location was...in the northern suburbs...so it's a haul to get into the city. But they also had a complimentary shuttle (I believe the driver was Oscar--nice guy) that can take you/pick up at either of the 2 close commuter train stations--just make sure you know which one you leave from so you can come back to that one on your return.

Overall we enjoyed our stay and I thought the hotel was a terrific value. And again--kudos to Ivan and Will. If those 2 are working when you're there, you'll be in good hands.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rik B, General Manager at Renaissance Chicago North Shore Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Pernasus,
Thank you so much for writing such a thorough review of your recent stay! I'm glad to hear that the arrangements we made prior to your arrival worked out for your family. I've shared your comments with Will and Ivan and they hope the roof repairs went well for you!
If your future travels bring you back to the North Shore I trust you will call on us again, maybe we'll actually get a chance to meet this time...!
All my best,
Rik Blyth
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Chicago North Shore Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Chicago North Shore Hotel

Address: 933 Skokie Boulevard, Northbrook, IL 60062
Location: United States > Illinois > Northbrook
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Northbrook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Chicago North Shore Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 383
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Marriott, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Renaissance Chicago North Shore Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Northbrook
Northbrook Renaissance

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Chicago North Shore Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.