We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Rooms, Too Far from Chicago” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Chicago - Northbrook

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Chicago - Northbrook to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Hotel Chicago - Northbrook
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2875 North Milwaukee Avenue, Northbrook, IL 60062   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Savings!
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Northbrook
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
202 reviews 202 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“Decent Rooms, Too Far from Chicago”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

The hotel service by itself is alright. The rooms are about the size you'd expect, likewise for the amenities However, it is very far from Downtown Chicago, and there are frequently traffic jams even outside of rush hour. Those on a strict timetable should try somewhere closer to Chicago than this place.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Chicago - Northbrook, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear kirbyfan1996,

Thank you so much for your candid review of our hotel. Please accept my apologies for falling short of your expectations on some aspects of your stay. I assure you that every comment, no matter how small, is taken very seriously. We hope to get a chance of hosting you again and show you how great our hotel is. We hope to have another chance of hosting you should your travels bring you back to Northbrook.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    54
    26
    5
    7
See reviews for
25
22
15
90
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chuckey, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I stayed at the Crowne Plaza on business and it was an overall great place. Very nice staff that always tried to take us were we needed to go on the shuttle or for anything else you may need. I was there for 11 days. Very nice breakfast buffet with lots of options. Only thing i found i didn't enjoy was the very long hallways.

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the beginning of the hall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, IL
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Things could not have been better during our stay! The front desk was extremely helpful and courteous. The room was also very nice, including a sleep number mattress which is always a good touch. We got a fantastic rate on hotwire, too.

Just an extra tip, try Cafe Lucci for dinner. Only three miles away and worth every penny.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alma_E2875, Front Office Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Chicago - Northbrook, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
I will like to thank you for sharing this with us. We take in great pride in our customer service. It's an absolute pleasure to hear that our staff was able to provide you with an enjoyable experience through out your stay. It will be an honor to pass on your compliments to the rest of the staff, for providing such amazing service through out your stay. Also, I am delighted to hear you enjoyed our breakfast buffet. We hope to welcome you in again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stow, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

The hotel cleanliness is really good and the room is still new. The room is equipped with microwave and a good size of refrigerator. I can't comment on the fitness center and the pool, did not have time to use them. The only thing that may hinder me from staying in this hotel again is the location, too far from downtown. But if you are planning to visit the Botanical garden, then this place is very convenient.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
French Lick, Indiana
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

I booked through Hotwire and got about half off. I've stayed at a couple Crowne Plaza's in the past and found that their 2-bed rooms were mainly doubles instead of queens, with the rooms being a bit small. I was hoping this wouldn't be the case here as I saw they had a few 2-bed queens listed on their website. No doubles this time! My family got put in a 1 king bed with a pull out sofa. I asked to get a 2-bed room and was told they were overbooked. There's nothing like pulling out the sofa and making the bed up for a springy, sleepless night at a hotel! I got such a cheap rate that I didn't make a big deal out of the situation, but I would have if I had payed the full nightly rate. If you stay here, make sure you lock down your room type ahead of check-in (if possible), especially if you need 2 beds!

On the good side: free parking, free Internet with very good throughput, clean rooms, very short wait for elevators

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Chicago - Northbrook, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear InBrown5,

Thank you for staying with us and writing a review about your experience at our hotel. We constantly strive to provide an environment of comfort and value to our guests, therefore, we are sincerely concerned when we fall short of your expectations. We aim to accommodate all of our guests and their needs and I’m disappointed that we did not meet your expectations on this day. We have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.

Again, thank you for your review. We hope to have another chance of hosting you should your travels bring you back to Northbrook.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skopje
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Hotel and its amenities is perfect. Staff is extremely helpful, rooms are spacious, comfortable and clean. Breakfast is good, although some variety would not hurt. The biggest plus of the hotel are its shuttles, cause if it was not for them, most of the non-motorized guests would be stuck in the hotel. I know its a perfect location in the middle of nowhere for short seminars and conferences, but if you travel half the globe you would like to see Chicago too.... Although there is a sign that a bus stops in-front of the hotel, actually there isn't any bus stopping ( I asked the bus driver of 272 he said there was a detour there now so they don't stop there anymore)) but the sign is still there. So the hotel's shuttles fill in the gap the best they can and as much as they can, and for that I'm very grateful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Having been in the hotel/resort/restaurant business for over 50 years we were pleasantly surprised to find an establishment that exceeded our expectations. The hotel is exceptionally clean. The rooms are well appointed; spacious and very comfortably furnished. The beds are sleep number beds which allowed us to select a firmness comfortable to our liking. The restaurant was better than expected with excellent service personnel. The front desk staff is very accomodating and pleasant to interact with. The room rate is very competitive for the area. The location of the hotel was central to our needs in the Northwest suburban Chicago area. We will return and look forward to our next visit at this fine hotel.

Room Tip: Hotel is large and spread out. If you have any difficulty walking any distances, request a room clo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Chicago - Northbrook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Chicago - Northbrook

Address: 2875 North Milwaukee Avenue, Northbrook, IL 60062
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Northbrook
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Northbrook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Chicago - Northbrook 3.5*
Number of rooms: 311
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Crowne Plaza Chicago Northbrook, located 20 minutes from downtown Chicago and 9 miles from O Hare International Airport (ORD). Business travelers to the Crowne Plaza Chicago Northbrook will enjoy our proximity to the headquarters of companies such as Allstate, ITW, AON, Combined Insurance, Kraft, Walgreen's, Siemens, Caremark and Anixter. With 15,000 square feet of meeting space, our hotel is well appointed to accommodate your Chicago area meeting, wedding, banquet and seminar groups. Our facilities and seasoned sales staff are prepared to offer an outstanding meeting experience to groups and conferences of 12 to 250 people. Leisure and business travelers alike will love the convenience of our hotel amenities such as free high-speed Internet, full service restaurant and bar, 24-hour room service, 24-hour business center and 24-hour fitness center. Don t forget to take time out during your visit to enjoy our outdoor pool. Visitors looking to experience the Chicago attractions such as Great America, Wheeling s famous Restaurant Row, and all the delights of Downtown Chicago will find the Crowne Plaza Chicago Northbrook ideally situated for an easy and accessible overnight stay. In addition to our hotel s location, guests of the Crowne Plaza Chicago Northbrook will be enthralled by our personal service, spacious guest room accommodations and special attentions to all your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Chicago - Northbrook reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Northbrook
Northbrook Radisson
Crowne Plaza Northbrook

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Chicago - Northbrook, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.