We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Local favorite” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Di Pescara

Di Pescara
2124 Northbrook Ct, Northbrook, IL 60062
(847) 498-4321
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Di Pescara is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #15 of 105 Restaurants in Northbrook
Price range: $10 - $40
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Doing business
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Takeout
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Off Lake Cook Road
Libertyville, Illinois
Level Contributor
125 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Local favorite”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Lunched at DiPescara with a friend. Bread was served at the table with olive oil. The bread was good but had to be broken off and was a little messy. I ordered the Chicken Brioni. Delicious as always but needed something on the plate besides a huge piece of chicken with mushrooms on top. My friend ordered the louie louie salad - prince edward island iced mussels, jumbo shrimp,
grilled salmon, avocado, asparagus, rémoulade dressing. It was very large and tasty. For dessert we shared a sour cherry pie with vanilla ice cream and whipped cream. This was the highlight of our meal. It was served more like a crostata than a pie. Instead of being cloyingly sweet the cherries were just tart enough and were not overpowered by a crust. My one criticism would be that it's a little noisy and hard to carry on a conversation.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    39
    20
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Waukegan, Illinois
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The best Chicken in the World”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

I am not a chicken person but I love their chicken, try the house special, starts with a B. so good, pounded flat breaded in cheese with a wine/mushroom sauce. The loaded sweet potato, the pomegranate lemon aid with sugar rim, the special mini sized deserts *all of them, their special "french fries" just so special, even get an order to go, as they are good cold and not your daughter's french fry. Great wine, love that they have Moscatto d'asti. Nice, dark, elegant for a date. Espresso in the bar comes with a shot. If they have a beef dish it is SPECIAL, and rare, I will get that every time. Their crab leg special and fish specials are always wonderful otherwise.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon, Indiana
Level Contributor
102 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Love it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

The spicy tilapia is heavenly. The service is always great, friendly and professional. The ambience is quite nice - not a typical restaurant feel that you'd find when connected to a mall.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
221 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Busy, Crowded, Nice Menu and Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

We came at the tail of the dinner rush, and the restaurant and staff looked a little exhausted from the evening. Our table was short on personal space. There were tables being disassembled around us as the emptied out. I had the feeling the place must be optimized for quick turnover and a good profit margin, but at the expense of a peaceful dining experience. The food, though, was very good, except for the caesar salad which was swimming in too much of the otherwise good dressing.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
71 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Consistently good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

We have eaten at this restaurant many times for both lunch and dinner and on date nights, with other couples and with our 4 kids, and I have also been to many birthday lunches with other women. The food is consistently good and in particular, the tomato soup is excellent. It can get very busy, so make a reservation. The tables are tight together and it can be noisy, so not the place to take your hard of hearing grandmother, but it also has a lively atmosphere, great service and excellent food choices. You can also eat at the tables in the bar area and there are some nice booths in that area if you are having a ladies lunch. Try their drink specialties - some are fantastic!

  • Visited January 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Di Pescara also viewed

 

Been to Di Pescara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Di Pescara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.