We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Who knew eating in the bar area could be so wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Francesca's North

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Francesca's North
1145 Church St, Northbrook, IL 60062
(847) 559-0260
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Francesca's North is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #20 of 106 Restaurants in Northbrook
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Shermer
Transit: Just two blocks from Metra's Northbrook station
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Who knew eating in the bar area could be so wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We decided at the last minute to go out to dinner. After being told by one restaurant that the wait would be 45 minutes we decided to go elsewhere. My husband said that he wanted to go to a place he visits for lunch during the week. Not expecting much I walked in and was impressed by the decor and the wonderful smells - not to mention the friendly hostesses. Not wanting to wait we opted to sit at a table in the bar. It was as if we were in our own little world. Our waiter provided suggestions were right on target.

I recommend for families and couples!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

75% Recommend
    11
    14
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northbrook, Illinois
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Inconsistent”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We have been eating at Francesca's North since it opened in 1995. Over the years we have had delicious, fresh food and good service. In the past year there has been a change in management and everything about the restaurant has suffered. The waiter started by bringing the wrong drinks. We then asked what kind of meat was used in the meatballs. He did not know and I had to ask him twice to inquire about them. He said the chef orders them pre made, which was very disappointing to hear. The house salad used to have more green beans and pea pods. The menu is very limited. They brought us the wrong desserts and the always delectable coconut cake was dry. The restaurant is too expensive for the quality of the food and service. We used to come here often but won't be back any time soon.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“outstanding small restaurant feel with food that exceeds expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Our family visited Northbrook looking for pizza and Italian food. We stopped at Francescas after seeing great reviews at tripadvisor on a busy evening and they quickly set a table for us. The service was prompt and friendly. The food arrived quickly and was piping hot. The pasta and seafood were perfectly prepared. The pizzas were unique and enjoyed by our adventurous kids. They had more typical cheese and pepperoni on the kids menu. I would go out if my way to come back here again.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very consistant Italian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

I have been going to Francesca North for 20 years and the food quality is very consistant. The service is good and the facility has been very well maintained.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Park, Illinois
Top Contributor
225 reviews 225 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Great place for a small group party.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

I had never been to Francesca's North prior to this weekend but had certainly seen it advertised everywhere. Went to a bridal shower there. They have a nice room to serve groups.

To begin we had pizzas with arugula passed as the appetizer. These where outstanding and the best part of the meal. Makes me want to return to try other pizza offerings. Once we sat down we where served family style which is nice but there was so much food I hate to think about the amount of waste there was. First course was lentils with goat cheese and a tossed salad. Both were tasty. For the main course, there was a dish of grilled chicken and green beans as well as a dish of pasta and vegetables. The chicken was nicely cooked and moist and the pasta was fine. Dessert was coffee and profiteroles. I think the profiteroles were a disappointment. The puffs were chewy and something off tasting with the chocolate sauce. The star of the meal was really the pizza!

The staff was very friendly and accommodating. We had a diner at our table that required a gluten free meal and they happily made a special lentil dish and a special pasta dish for her.

If I need a place for a small group party I would certainly consider having the party here.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Francesca's North also viewed

 

Been to Francesca's North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Francesca's North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.