We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very consistant Italian” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Francesca's North

Francesca's North
1145 Church St, Northbrook, IL 60062
(847) 559-0260
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Francesca's North is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #28 of 104 Restaurants in Northbrook
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Shermer
Transit: Just two blocks from Metra's Northbrook station
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Very consistant Italian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

I have been going to Francesca North for 20 years and the food quality is very consistant. The service is good and the facility has been very well maintained.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    16
    8
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Highland Park, Illinois
Top Contributor
315 reviews 315 reviews
202 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
“Great place for a small group party.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

I had never been to Francesca's North prior to this weekend but had certainly seen it advertised everywhere. Went to a bridal shower there. They have a nice room to serve groups.

To begin we had pizzas with arugula passed as the appetizer. These where outstanding and the best part of the meal. Makes me want to return to try other pizza offerings. Once we sat down we where served family style which is nice but there was so much food I hate to think about the amount of waste there was. First course was lentils with goat cheese and a tossed salad. Both were tasty. For the main course, there was a dish of grilled chicken and green beans as well as a dish of pasta and vegetables. The chicken was nicely cooked and moist and the pasta was fine. Dessert was coffee and profiteroles. I think the profiteroles were a disappointment. The puffs were chewy and something off tasting with the chocolate sauce. The star of the meal was really the pizza!

The staff was very friendly and accommodating. We had a diner at our table that required a gluten free meal and they happily made a special lentil dish and a special pasta dish for her.

If I need a place for a small group party I would certainly consider having the party here.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Love all Francesca's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

This is part of a restaurant group, but they are all somewhat different (not style per se, but menu items).
A wonderful Italian restaurant with options for everyone. Pasta dishes are huge so you can either share or have leftovers for the next day. Their fish dishes are usually very good as well. We've been going to years and don't plan on stopping

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Feels like a city restaurant - in a good way”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Even thought it's in a suburban strip mall, this restaurant has the authentic, cozy feel of a little place downtown. The service is chipper and the food is quite good, starting with delicious bread and olive oil and continuing through a large menu of pasta, meat and fish choices. The only drawback is the noise level, which can be uncomfortable. Go for lunch or an early dinner, when it's quieter.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago IL
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great place for weekday dining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

We have been here on a Saturday night twice in the past few years and have avoided it because of the noise level.

A couple of weeks ago we passed by on a weeknight and decided to try it. What a difference! While the place got fairly full, there was not the din we had expreienced on a Saturday. As a result we had a chance to really enjoy the food which was excellent.Not that the food was bad on the weekend, it was just hard to enjoy it.

Now that we have discovered the secret, we will be going back--on a weekday--many times.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Francesca's North also viewed

 

Been to Francesca's North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Francesca's North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.