We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“CRAZY GOOD” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stir Crazy

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Stir Crazy
1186 Northbrook Ct, Northbrook, IL 60062
847-562-4800
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 105 Restaurants in Northbrook
Cuisines: Vegetarian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Durham, NC
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“CRAZY GOOD”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

CRAZY GOOD

Our family group of seven chose Stir Crazy for dinner before a movie in the Northbrook Mall, Chicago. Because it was Saturday, we did have about a 25-minute wait for dinner, but it was so worth it! Our ages are from 11 to 82, and everyone loved it. Some of our group ordered entrees from the menu, and others chose to mix their own fresh Asian grill. If you prefer to make your own dish, you’re given a bowl in which you choose the meat and vegetables from the pots offered, and your dish is then grilled in the open kitchen for you and brought to your table. The young people especially liked to choose their own. Our table had everything from Japanese salad to Thai and Vietnamese dishes, Mongolian beef, and my excellent coconut shrimp. We were served quickly, and enjoyed the bustling atmosphere before going on to a movie in the mall.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    10
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Coralville, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great dinner for travelers in Northshore!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We loved the variety of offerings on the menu and the value of meals we selected. Our traveling companions were similarly pleased.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oz
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
“still excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

I have been going here for years and they have the best stir fry ! I love the chicken satay app and the banana wonton dessert with the homemade carmel sauce it's amazing ! I love that you can make your own bowl of stir fry veggies and I love it when they bang the gong and set all woks ablaze !! Give it a try you won't be sorry.....100 times better than big bowl.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottsdale,az
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“always good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

My son loves this place. Itwas one of the first Mongolian BBQs he had. But all the food is good. i loved the miso sea bass.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
203 reviews 203 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“friendly but......”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

I had ordered the Japanese steak, it was delicious except that it was REALLY salty. Our waiter Blake was awesome, he knows how to make a customer happy. I had a birthday coupon that entitles you to a free entree, but it didn't tell me in order for me to use it, I need to print it up! The manager had to approve it since I never print the coupon up, so if they want it printed up, it should state that on the coupon. It was kind of embarrassing to sit there and they tell you you can't use it after the hostess told me that I could.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stir Crazy also viewed

 

Been to Stir Crazy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stir Crazy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.