We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Francesco's Hole In The Wall

Francesco's Hole In The Wall
254 Skokie Blvd, Northbrook, IL 60062-1612
847-272-0155
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 105 restaurants in Northbrook
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: French, Italian
Dining options: Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

My absolute favorite place anywhere for chicken vesuvio and tiramisu. None better. Place is small, tables are close together but the food is terrific. Ambiance not so great.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    48
    13
    6
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
tokyo
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Time to pack it in”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I first ate at the Hole in the Wall in 1986 when my parents moved to the area. It is solid enough at the time and my family and continued going there for next 10 years or so, but stopped as the options for Italian improved on the Northshore. My father requested that we go there and did so. I suppose the only people who could like this place compare it to the Olive Garden or something equally vile. The salad was fine, but the pasta and other dishes were overpriced and dull. My ravioli was watery and my father's lasagna was huge, but essentially Stouffers. The desert options were strange American cakes. For throughly Americanized Italian in a totally cramped space, this is your place.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schaumburg, Illinois, United States
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“For years wonderful place to dine.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

The veal chop in lemon sauce was OUTSTANDING! The ambiance is quaint European. The service is excellent. Fun dining.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“This is the place to eat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

I'm from Brooklyn living in Chicago. I am very homesick and was looking for a place that would be like back home. This is it! From the personal greeting at the door to the amazing homemade food served at your table as fresh as can be! I make it here every month once a month because I live 1 hour and a half away from here! This is it I found the best place be t to home in Illinois!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Forest, IL
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
“The best !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Great food on the cheap! Limited space parking lot! Get there early and bring cash! No credit cards. Worth the hassle. A local dining institution!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Francesco's Hole In The Wall also viewed

 

Been to Francesco's Hole In The Wall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Francesco's Hole In The Wall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.