We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Sushi” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kamehachi - NorthShore

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Kamehachi - NorthShore
1320 Shermer Rd, Northbrook, IL 60062
(847) 562-0064
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Kamehachi - NorthShore is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #25 of 104 Restaurants in Northbrook
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Meadow
Transit: Metra 1 block west
Cary, NC
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very Good Sushi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We enjoyed Kamehachi. We ordered several different rolls to share and liked them all. The Wonderful Roll really stood out and lived up to its name. I also had a Lemongrass cocktail that was out of the ordinary and very good. Our server was friendly and helpful, and the food came to the table in a very reasonable amount of time.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    5
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Middletown, Connecticut
Top Contributor
316 reviews 316 reviews
248 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Inventive Sushi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

They had some different kinds of sushi rolls where they layered it instead of rolling...I loved the flavors and the concept, but they had a LOT of rice in them. The regular sushi was great and so were the noodle dishes!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Very fresh sashimi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

I had heard good reviews about this restaurant and decided to give it a try. I was not disappointed and have gone back a few times. The fish is very fresh. I only order sashimi so i cannot comment on the dishes that are prepared in the kitchen. The sashimi is first rate and the chefs are very friendly.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“WOW! Incredibly Upset”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

My girlfriend and I have been dining here for a couple years now. We have always loved Kamehachi, and it is our top choice for getting sushi in the North Shore area. Anybody who has been to Kamehachi before knows that they serve you the little seaweed-type dish when you sit down. My girlfriend, who is vegetarian, ate the dish. Afterwards, she asked the waitress what the little "chunks" were in the dish. The waitress explains that it was chicken. My girlfriend became extremely upset. After dining here for over two years, and being a vegetarian for the past couple of years, there has NEVER been any chicken in that dish. The waitress simply did not care and just said "ask next time," and walked away. We decided to stay and order since we were hungry, and our food took horribly long to come out (the restaurant was not even half full). Our waitress was rude and rarely came to check up on us. We will now be dining at different sushi restaurants in the future. If you are vegetarian DO NOT COME HERE! What type of restaurant gives their diners food upon arrival that has meat in it? There are a ton of vegetarians in this world...think next time Kamehachi.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northbrook, Illinois
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Sushi and all other dishes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2009

The sushi and all other Japanese dishes are excellent at Kamehachi. Generally the service has been excellent,but the last time I ate there it was spoiled by rude waiter.It's a fine place for families and all other occasiones. I've eaten at Kamehachi many times and it was only that once that i didn't enjoy it.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kamehachi - NorthShore also viewed

 

Been to Kamehachi - NorthShore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kamehachi - NorthShore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.