We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Consistent Winner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ruth's Chris Steak House

Ruth's Chris Steak House
933 Skokie Boulevard, Renaissance Chicago North Shore Hotel, Northbrook, IL 60062
847-498-6889
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Reserve with OpenTable
Update
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 102 restaurants in Northbrook
Price range: $50 - $50
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Dundee / Sunset Ridge
Description: Ruth's Chris Steak House in Northbrook, IL serves the finest USDA Prime beef available, broiled at 1,800° and served on 500° plates, so your steak stays hot, juicy and delicious from first bite to last. Enjoy our New Orleans-inspired appetizers, USDA Prime steaks, fresh seafood, signature side dishes and homemade desserts. All this while you enjoy our warm, inviting atmosphere and Ruth’s Chris’ genuine hospitality. So whether you’re a regular or have just been wondering what all the buzz is about, Ruth's Chris is the perfect excuse to enjoy the perfect night out. Dinner is served nightly, reservations are suggested and private dining and offsite catering may be arranged.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A Consistent Winner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

As always, A Winner. Having a great meal is the norm when eating at Ruth's Chris. It doesn't matter if it is a Filet, Rib eye or Porterhouse, it is always dynamite. It is my go to steak house no matter what city I am in, as clients always enjoy their dinner.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    34
    9
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Highland Park, IL
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Memorable Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

My Caeser salad had just the right flavors. My strip steak was served hot and sizzling, rare as I had ordered and had the full flavor of prime beef. For dessert I devoured the bread pudding with whiskey sauce, better than any I've eaten in restaurants except for a place in New Orleans. We also ordered shoestring fried potatoes but they were a bit too salty for our tastes. The steak is large but I ate all of it, dipping each portion in the melted butter on the plate. Restaurants tend to be uncomfortably noisey these days but though every talble seemed full as we dined, my wife and I were able to talk with each other across the table without raising our voices. Our waiter took our orders and the food was served promptly. As for the ambience, I remember the dark woods, a gas fireplace and illumination that was comfortable but a spotlight directly over our table making it easy to read the menu. Don't laugh: A couple of restaurants we've eaten in were so dark, in one place the waiter volunteered a flashlight and in the other, we had to get up from the table and find a place with enough light to read the menu. We've dined at Ruth's in many different cities and I like the consistency of its menu offerings everywhere. All in all, this was a memorable meal.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Forest, Illinois
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Waited 45 minutes With a Reservation”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

I refused to go back. I hate to be kept waiting but when I have a reservation it is totally unacceptable beyond 10 minutes. The food was fine but my evening was ruined. The put butter on their steaks and I hated that.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, New Jersey
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Late Dinner at the Bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

My colleague and I arrived at the bar at 9:30 on a Wednesday night and were promptly attended. All of the beer is bottled so I would have preferred a few selections on tap. I ordered a chopped salad with crab cakes for an entree. The chopped salad was well-seasoned and dressed with a lemon basil dressing and the crab cakes came in a brown butter sauce which was good. The steak my co-worker order smelled and looked great. The bartender was very friendly and overall would come back on my next trip to Northbrook.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, BC
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“As always, Ruth's Chris Steak House”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Well appointed, and the food was excellent. Not too much, just right, and the quality of the food, from the salads, meats to the veggies, were all excellent. I might be a bit of a complainer because of being spoiled, but not a complainer when there is nothing to complain about. Highly recommended.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ruth's Chris Steak House also viewed

 

Been to Ruth's Chris Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ruth's Chris Steak House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.