We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice romatic mini getaway for couples” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sybaris Northbrook

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Sybaris Northbrook to your Saves list
Sybaris Northbrook
2.5 of 5 Specialty Hotel   |   3350 Milwaukee Avenue, Northbrook, IL 60062   |  
Hotel amenities
Dubuque, Iowa
Top Contributor
215 reviews 215 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
325 helpful votes 325 helpful votes
“nice romatic mini getaway for couples”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2010

We stayed in a Paradise Pool suite on September 6-7.

First off, the price can seem a bit steep when you first are looking at this place, but it is definitely worth it for a small romantic break when you just have little bit of time but need a mini-getaway. Also, before we went, we went online and got some coupons, which helped lower the cost of the suite by quite a bit. So, the rack rates are kind of high, but if you look around you can get some good deals. You also get some discounts by signing up for e-mails and after your first stay.

Check-in time is not until 6 p.m., but we were there around 5:30 and had no problem getting in right away. When you first get there, you register at the desk and get a password that you need to enter the property where the actual stand-alone suites are located. It is very private and you don't have to worry about people just running around all over the area.

Again, we stayed in a Paradise Pool suite and just loved it. I included a few pics with this review and a just-for-fun video tour of the room to give you an idea of what the room actually looks like.

The main features were a 16-foot pool with a waterfall-type of option and a connecting jacuzzi. This glass-enclosed area also had two plastic chairs and a small table with towels on them and a steam room with misting shower.

In the other part of the suite was a king bed that was pretty comfortable with mirrors all around the room including above the bed, ground lighting under the bed, and various other lighting options around the bed. They include two plush robes for you to use while you are here. There was also a message chair, a table with two chairs, nightstands, an electric fireplace, a stereo (tip: this could also be heard in the pool area when turned up), and an refreshment type area with a small fridge (tip: they do put a small bag of ice in here in the small freezer section, but that is all there is for ice and there is no more freezer room), a microwave, a cofee maker and some packs of coffee.

The bathroom comes off of the hallway. There are two double sinks and a large shower area - big enough for two. :) There is a toilet and a bidet. They have plenty of towels around and they were pretty good. I have read about the towels being bad here, but we had no problems with them. We actually brought our own and did not end up using them. The shampoo and conditioner were okay, but it wouldn't hurt to bring your own as my hair needed a little extra with all the chlorine exposure. I didn't like the body soap, but no biggie as everyone has their own tastes on these.

There is also a closet off the hallway with some kind of basket hanging in it that you can use???

Overall, this is a great place for two people to reconnect and just get away from it all for a while. There are no phones or windows in here, so it is very private. We brought along some candles and nicer glasses just for the mood. Also, I would recommend eating right before or bringing some snacks just because you may not want to leave to go get food!!

Enjoy!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    15
    7
    7
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
67
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
philadelphia, pa
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2010

Ok, so I was really worried this was going to be a trashy, sleazy type place with upscale prices. I was more than happily surprised! My husband and I chose to do the afternoon away (again, another "by the hour" move that I thought would be a little weird) since we would have to make arrangements for pets, etc to do the overnight. The afternoon was actually perfect for us. I drove up and my Audi was right at home with the Mercedes & Lexus vehicles checking in. Check-in was quick and easy. We got to our unit and my husband and I were really blown away. Thick plush carpeting, along with really nice bathrobes greeted us. We had a Majestic suite and the pool was amazing - perfect size. I don't think we'd do any unit other than a Majestic or Chalet now that we have been spoiled. There is an adult TV station along with a swing in the closet for the adventurous. We were there to just reconnect and spend some quality time together. I brought us some champagne, chocolate covered strawberries, and other snacks and we spent a great afternoon swimming in the pool, hot tub, and enjoying the steam room. Everything was VERY CLEAN. I was really worried about that as well. The only complaint I heard was that the towels weren't great and so I brought us some of our own. That was a good move as they don't give you enough towels. Whether you are looking for some fantasy playtime or just simply a place to relax without interruption, this was great. My husband wants to come back once a month just to decompress! We'll probably try another one of the resorts in the future just to see the difference.

Just remember, bring anything that you might want because there are no phones and you will not be leaving once you arrive. The room has a microwave, refrigerator, and ice.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eau Claire
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2010

We stayed using an on-line coupon and got $100 off the Paradise Pool Suite. I then paid an extra fee for early check in as we were coming from a long way out of town. Felt a little silly when checking in but then realized we weren't fooling anyone:) Room was amazingly clean and we enjoyed the use of the pool and hottub without any kids or swimsuits. We will be back but next time come down without evening plans so we can just relax and never leave our room. Great stay (we are picky) and would recommend.

Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed for one night. We were able to use an online coupon to upgrade our room but had to stay on a thursday night. The room was very clean and had everything you wish for. I would however recomend to ask for extra towels ahead of time. We ran out of the wine we brought and the front desk was able to accomidate us very quickly as well. The water was warm in the pool and the hot tub. The massage chair was out of this world. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grandville, MI
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
154 helpful votes 154 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2009

Very quick check-in. The check-in building has some romantic accessories for sale. Everyone receives a gate code so there is no worry of others wandering around the property. Each "room" actually looks like a cottage. They look like they have windows from the outside but there are none. We reserved a Deluxe Whirlpool room. Inside was a very large whirlpool tub (empty and clean) with mirrors on 2 sides, the bed across from it with mirrors above, angled above and at the headboard, also mirrors on the wall, a nice massaging chair, steam room and the bathroom was set separately behind a wall. The toilet is in a separate room. There is a standup shower and overhead heat lamps by the vanity sink. Bathroom amenities were shampoo, conditioner, soap, mouthwash and 2 specially packaged pre-pasted toothbrushes. The main room also had a small table with 2 chairs and a small refrigerator. Fun colored lights around the bed. Be sure to try the accessory in the closet. We paid extra for late check-out so we had plenty of time for relaxation. Sign up on their website to receive special deals otherwise you'll pay regular price. We'd like to go again for sure. Maybe the same room type or maybe a pool next time.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batavia IL
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2009

We stayed in a cheapest swimming pool suite and we absolutely loved it! Everything was clean and beautiful. This was first time for us in Sybaris and we will definitely come back.
There is so much in a room that we didn't know when we reserved it.
First of all the room is not really a room but your private house with mini driveway!
There are speakers in a swimming pool area so you can hear the music while in a jacuzzi or pool.
You can also watch tv while in a pool because tv rotates.
There are mirrors pretty much everywhere even above the bed.
Above the bed there is a red lightning and also a hook for I guess a sex swing if you have one...
The water in jacuzzi was cold when we entered so we got scared it is broken but after you turn on the jets water warms up.
Room has a microwave mini fridge coffee maker dvd player, good stereo, ice bucket so your champagne is always cold, massage chair and some weird sex chair.
The room doesn't have a phone so nobody would disturb you.
We loved our room and had the best time.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2009

We just returned from a one night stay at this hotel-our 2nd time to sybaris 1st time to northbrook!Again loved it very much!We stayed in mequon last year the rooms are a bit different(stayed in the paradise both times).This room seemed a bit smaller.
There was a hot tub connected to the pool-which was very nice.
There is nothing more romantic then staying here-everyone should try it!
We will be going again-not sure which hotel we will try but for know staying with the paradise room-we just love it,perfect for two people!
you can contact me with any uestions-but have only stayed in the paradise room

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sybaris Northbrook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sybaris Northbrook

Address: 3350 Milwaukee Avenue, Northbrook, IL 60062
Location: United States > Illinois > Northbrook
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Northbrook
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sybaris Northbrook 2.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sybaris Pool Suites located in Northbrook, Illinois is a Romantic Paradise like no other. The suites feature your own private swimming pool with a tropical waterfall, soothing whirlpool tub, misting steamroom, cozy fireplace, relaxing massage chairs and so much more to make your stay unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Sybaris Northbrook reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sybaris Northbrook Hotel Northbrook
Sybaris Hotel
Sybaris Pool Suite Northbrook
Northbrook Sybaris Suites Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sybaris Northbrook, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.