We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pricey...but as close to indoor paradise as possible.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sybaris Northbrook

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Sybaris Northbrook to your Saves list
Sybaris Northbrook
2.5 of 5 Specialty Hotel   |   3350 Milwaukee Avenue, Northbrook, IL 60062   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Detroit, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Pricey...but as close to indoor paradise as possible.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

We took a trip based on friend's recommendation for our 3rd anniversary and it landed us in Northbrook at Sybaris. We caught them with the 50% off discount so it helped...even though you have to buy a "club membership" that runs you $100 annually.
We were wowed as we walked in...can't believe there aren't tons more of these throughout the country. Beautifully lit, comfortable and clean. We did have a problem with an odor from the exhaust, but we were given the option to move (into a newer suite) and they gave us free roses for the inconvenience. Upon checkout, they handed us a certificate for a free overnight stay as well. We were very pleased and welp definitely return! They take customer satisfaction VERY seriously!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    16
    8
    8
    3
See reviews for
Families
0
77
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Romulus, Michigan
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Just returned from a quick vaca with my fiancé and could not have been more pleasantly surprised. The room was so clean and well maintained. We had the majestic suite. We were overwhelmed by the luxurious amenities and will return again as this was the perfect little getaway. There are no windows and the suites appear to be soundproof as we never heard noises from neighboring suites. We couldn't find a phone in the room however these days, everyone has a cell phone. Kudos to the establishment for making the perfect place for my sweetie and I to reconnect and have a little romance.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rosemont, Illinois
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Sybaris and the rooms really need a GOOD makeover. They have been the same for years with little to no change. You can actually notice the minor upkeep they do and it isn't done well. With the higher room rates and mandatory member fees, come on Sybaris, put the money back into the rooms.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Clair, Michigan
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

This place was amazing. I surprised my wife with an extended overnight stay, she smiled for 2 days afterward.

The Paradise room had a pool with a rain forest water fall in the middle, a steam room, Jacuzzi off the edge of the pool, a massage chair in the bedroom, awesome sound system, fireplace...they thought of absolutely everything to make for a romantic getaway!

The suite was impeccable clean, the pool wasn't over chlorinated, the ventilation worked awesome. The staff there was very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Add the extra bucks to extend the stay until the next afternoon, you will need the time to recover f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liberty, Missouri
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed at the Sybaris Northbrook for one night in July 2013. The place was clean and comfortable. There was a king bed, refrigerator, fireplace and a large whirlpool tub (4'x6').

After walking all morning in Millennium Park and then walking through the Chicago Botanic Garden that afternoon we were ready for a hot whirlpool tub. It was great! (Some of the suites even have private swimming pools.)

At first we thought that one of the swimming pool suites might be a good place for a family vacation, But we found out that this is not a family property. Playboy and Hustler channels were provided on the TV and there was a mirror over the bed.

Nice for adults but keep the kids at grandmothers house if you go there.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MN
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Spent two nights in the Majestic pool suite and it was awesome!

Check in went smooth, a few minutes to sign the waiver and the rules and we had our key and on our way to our love shack I guess you could call it...

Starting with the bathroom; double sink vanity, large mirror, bidet and toilet and shower stall in another space, just what you need.

The bedroom was spacious. TV and stereo system above an electric fireplace, TV selection Ok, gets you the news between the fun. Bed was a little lumpy, pillows a bit hard, but Ok. Electrical outlets bedside were handy for cell phones and other stuff too! Small table and chairs for snacks, and the massage chair is there too, which we tried but not that big of deal to us... A giant whirlpool bath that could fit six in the room too, which was cool! The mirrored walls and ceilings were interesting and made it feel a lot larger. Never tried the "swing" that was stashed in the closet, but there's a hook over the bed, so maybe next time!

And the pool...in the room....wow, I can't believe I haven't seen something like this until now!!! It was so dang much fun to have a private indoor pool to ourselves. Plenty of space, nice smooth bottom to stand on and a cozy hot tub area, what more could you want for an intimate little swim and stuff! The waterfall was a bit loud and annoying, so that was not used, sort of just a shower anyway. In regard to the steam shower, we never used that but easily large enough for two.

Anyway, it was a spendy weekend, but there are coupons online if you google for them which will save you 50 a nite. Yes, you need to get a membership too, but not a big deal if you are going to spend close to 400 a night for a truly unique hotel room in a couples only "retreat". We loved it and likely will be back to Northbrook or may try another property too.

Room Tip: Definitely get a pool room! You can get whirlpool rooms at any hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Sybaris is perfect for a romantic, hot stay! I was in heaven with all the water features, but have some issues with them. The most important is be careful of the slide! It has water running down it & quite a curve - we both came close to blasting into the opposite pool wall! Also, it would be so nice to have an easier step entrance to the pool (vs metal ladders with high 1st rung) & an easier pass-way between pool & hot tub. But what a great, perfect pool and HOT hot tub! (Turn bubbles on 5-10 mins. to heat up. Staff were friendly and helpful, very professional. My other quibble is with the lack of windows/daylight. I know privacy & intimacy are the main deal here, but I would have loved those high clerestory windows/mirrors you see on the outside to be real windows on the inside...felt claustrophobic at times. This suite was very clean, beautiful with wood & mirrors, loved the sparkly "night sky" above the bed, & definitely give the swing a try!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Sybaris Northbrook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sybaris Northbrook

Address: 3350 Milwaukee Avenue, Northbrook, IL 60062
Location: United States > Illinois > Northbrook
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Northbrook
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sybaris Northbrook 2.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sybaris Pool Suites located in Northbrook, Illinois is a Romantic Paradise like no other. The suites feature your own private swimming pool with a tropical waterfall, soothing whirlpool tub, misting steamroom, cozy fireplace, relaxing massage chairs and so much more to make your stay unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Sybaris Northbrook reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sybaris Northbrook Hotel Northbrook
Sybaris Hotel
Sybaris Pool Suite Northbrook
Northbrook Sybaris Suites Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sybaris Northbrook, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.