We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Phenomenal!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sybaris Northbrook

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Sybaris Northbrook to your Saves list
Sybaris Northbrook
2.5 of 5 Specialty Hotel   |   3350 Milwaukee Avenue, Northbrook, IL 60062   |  
Hotel amenities
Dearborn, Michigan
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Phenomenal!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

As a frequent visitor to chicago and sybaris i must say each stay is just as wonderful as the last. Downtown chicago is less than 45 min away which is sweet!! Staff continues to not disappoint. My husband and I usually stay in the chalet suite but this time we stayed in the majestic suite which was awesome. Food is never a problem. You will find menus in the suites and all deliver straight to your door! We are already planning our next visit!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    15
    7
    7
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
66
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Lafayette, Indiana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

I stayed in this location (in Paradise Suits) with my boyfriend.

It was the most romantic night in my life. Everything was perfect with the hotel. People at the frontdesk were really friendly. The room was breath-taking, it is actually a special small house just for you. No neighbors, maximum privacy. We were really impressed about the cleanness and all the facilities of the room. The bed was so comfy and there was a mirror at the top :) Swimming pool with a whirlpool and a waterfall... What else can a hotel have? It is amazing. We were surprised to learn that there is no wi-fi at first. But really, who needs wi-fi in this room? Bring your food and drink, the room has everthing you need.

Spend the night and feel that you are in Heaven :)

Room Tip: Stay in one of the rooms with a pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We stayed here for the first time this weekend and loved it. I had always wanted to go for years but was not sure on the price. We were celebrating our anniversary so we splurged on a Chalet. Check in was a breeze. The lobby has all sorts of stuff for sale- oils, creams, robes, liquor, other romantic items. They also have add ons you could buy but we did not. You have to go through a key code gate to get to your hut which made me feel safe. The huts are pretty spaced out and you are far from the road, so noise is minimum.

Our room had its own garage which was huge and very nice. I am not sure if the rooms had been updated recently but the Jacuzzi seemed new as did a lot of the tiling in the room. We had a huge pool with a hot tub area attached, waterfall, and slide. There was a huge two person steam room, Jacuzzi, two massage chairs, nice big bed, fireplace, nice bathroom area with two sinks, shower, bidet, and toilet. They also give you two toothbrushes, toothpaste, and other toiletries. In the room is also a microwave, fridge, ice, and sink. We brought popcorn which is nice. There are also two menus in the room to order pizza. There are minimal channels but bring your laptop and HDMI cord to plug in the tv. There is also surround sound so you can listen to the radio in the pool area. No WIFI but who needs it when you are here for romance. We will certainly be back for another romantic evening!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wauconda
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

This is a nice place to be alone with your sweetie.
It is a little dated.
And no restraunts within walking distance. So bring take out ;)
Also I reccomend the room with the steam shower for extra relaxation.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed in the Majestic Swimming Pool Suite (#33) for our 2 year anniversary. A great place to get away for the night and reconnect with your partner. We enjoyed everything about the place. We will be going back again and may have to try the Chalet Swimming Pool Suite. Here are my comments/tips:

1. We arrived at 5:40pm and our room was ready, no waiting until 6pm, which was nice. The check-in was fast and friendly (both must be present to sign pool waiver).

2. The lobby sells a variety of wine/mini liquor bottles as well as glassware, robes, slippers, adult games, etc.

3. The room smelled pleasant when we walked in and they had music playing on the stereo with the multi-colored pool lights on, which really set the mood for the evening.

4. If you want glassware, you have to bring your own. They do provide plastic cups if you don't mind and sell glassware in the front lobby.

5. The steam room in suite #33 did not work (real bummer).

6. The massage chair is awesome.

7. The pool is larger/deeper than I expected (hubby is 6'4").

8. The hot tub next to the pool gets very hot after 30 minutes, which was nice. I recommend turning it on for 5-10 minutes before getting in so it has time to heat up.

9. They have all the toiletries you need in case you forget to bring your own.

10. Loved the seemingly unlimited lighting options to choose from in the room.

11. Suggest putting together a playlist on your iPhone/MP3 before you arrive so you have great music to listen to all night (you can hear it in the pool area also).

12. Grab the menus in the lobby if you plan on ordering food. We ordered pizza from Mugs. It was delicious and speedy delivery.

13. There is one porn channel and it was playing mostly 90s porn. I think you have to actually enter the channel number into the remote to access the channel. You won’t come across it channel surfing. The channel listing is on the bedside table.

Room Tip: The steam shower in majestic suite #33 does not work (as of 3/16/13).
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, Illinois, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Although it was expensive the husband and I had a spectacular time for our eleventh anniversary. We stayed in a deluxe whirlpool and it was amazing. Everything in the room worked great and was impeccably clean as it was a worry when I made the reservation. Some things in the room showed sign of wear such as the wall paper in the bathroom but nothing that will keep us fron going again. But next time we will spring for a room with a pool. P.S. check the closet, their is a pleasent surprise!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I would suggest this place to anyone who loves pools an wants to continue to keep a spark in their relationship.. It's cozy, secluded, private an super romantic, I love this place an would an have recommended it to everyone I know.. A best kept secret also...all I can say is WOW!!!...

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sybaris Northbrook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sybaris Northbrook

Address: 3350 Milwaukee Avenue, Northbrook, IL 60062
Location: United States > Illinois > Northbrook
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Northbrook
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sybaris Northbrook 2.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sybaris Pool Suites located in Northbrook, Illinois is a Romantic Paradise like no other. The suites feature your own private swimming pool with a tropical waterfall, soothing whirlpool tub, misting steamroom, cozy fireplace, relaxing massage chairs and so much more to make your stay unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Sybaris Northbrook reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sybaris Northbrook Hotel Northbrook
Sybaris Hotel
Sybaris Pool Suite Northbrook
Northbrook Sybaris Suites Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sybaris Northbrook, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.