We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One great night” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sybaris Northbrook

Save Saved
You added Sybaris Northbrook to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sybaris Northbrook
2.5 of 5 Specialty Hotel   |   3350 Milwaukee Avenue, Northbrook, IL 60062   |  
Hotel amenities
Kirkland, Illinois, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“One great night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Although it was expensive the husband and I had a spectacular time for our eleventh anniversary. We stayed in a deluxe whirlpool and it was amazing. Everything in the room worked great and was impeccably clean as it was a worry when I made the reservation. Some things in the room showed sign of wear such as the wall paper in the bathroom but nothing that will keep us fron going again. But next time we will spring for a room with a pool. P.S. check the closet, their is a pleasent surprise!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    54
    15
    5
    5
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
61
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I would suggest this place to anyone who loves pools an wants to continue to keep a spark in their relationship.. It's cozy, secluded, private an super romantic, I love this place an would an have recommended it to everyone I know.. A best kept secret also...all I can say is WOW!!!...

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

My wife and I have not been here in about 8 years or more, and after our recent stay we both agreed that we have to try to stay more often. We stayed in the magestic room what can I say!!! We have forgotten how clean and just full of ammeneties the rooms have to offer. if your looking to spend some good quality time with one another yet feel like you're in a mini vacation this place is a must try!!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

I love this place! very nice interior, romantic atmosphere, pool, waterfall, falls into a fairy tale! :)
Last year on Valentine's day my beloved made an offer here, and this year we have a wedding on 14 February ! After the wedding, we at once in this hotel!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

My fiancé and I went for our dating anniversary and it was so much fun! It was extremely private and a great place to shut out the rest of the world. They have mp3 hook ups that will play not only in your room, but in the pool area too. Though there aren't too many channels, they supply a DVD player. The bath amenities are awesome too. They supplied extra toothbrushes, toothpaste, mouth wash, etc.

The only draw backs, the floor of the pool area is a bit rough on the feet. We had a coffee machine, but our room wasn't stocked with coffee. While swimming, I was concerned that there was a rose petal floating around that wasn't put there by us. So I was a bit unsatisfied with the pools cleanliness. They had vending machines that didn't work.

Altogether, it may not exactly be worth as much as is, but the experience is worth it. You will never find a hotel like Sybaris. I will definitely be scraping pennies together for my honeymoon weekend there. Luckily, after my original stay, they gave me a coupon for up to 50% off. Can't wait!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Stayed at the Sybaris for an overnight trip and I really have no complaints. It is a little pricey to get the room over night, but the staff were all friendly and the rooms were very clean. Everything work in the room and was ery relaxing.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

My wife and I of 14 years wondered if this place was too romantic/sexy for us. We had gotten an image from the advertising and reputation it had from a couple people we know. Thankfully it wasn't over the top - and we had a comfortable two night stay at the Northbrook location.

We stayed in a classic whirpool suite. It's really built for someone that wants to relax and enjoy the room as a getaway. We had gift certificates and mainly used it off and on while exploring the city. If you want to explore the city find a place downtown or a better deal on a hotel. If you're looking to relax or spend quality time with your significant other - this is nice.

If you're looking to stay sign up to get deals on Sybaris' website. You can get way better deals that way. Don't spend full advertised price - too much.

The whirlpool suite was a decent size room. We loved having our own building and no neighbors to contend with. The room was very clean and comfortable. Even enjoyed the massage chair. Bathroom spacious and clean. It did have a fridge, microwave and dvd player.

It would have been nicer with a couple little things. No wi-fi. I get it, it's a getaway sort of place - but even fast food joints give you the option. The tv options were also bad...not many channels. You also had to dance around the porn channel which I seemed classless - probably the only over the top thing about the place. Whirlpool had a couple little issues too.

All in all it was a nice place that would work really great for a certain type of getaway. Service was decent when making reservations and while visiting property.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sybaris Northbrook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sybaris Northbrook

Address: 3350 Milwaukee Avenue, Northbrook, IL 60062
Location: United States > Illinois > Northbrook
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty lodging in Northbrook
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sybaris Northbrook 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sybaris Pool Suites located in Northbrook, Illinois is a Romantic Paradise like no other. The suites feature your own private swimming pool with a tropical waterfall, soothing whirlpool tub, misting steamroom, cozy fireplace, relaxing massage chairs and so much more to make your stay unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Venere so you can book your Sybaris Northbrook reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sybaris Northbrook Hotel Northbrook
Sybaris Hotel
Sybaris Pool Suite Northbrook
Northbrook Sybaris Suites Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sybaris Northbrook, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.