We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sybaris Northbrook

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Northbrook
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sybaris Northbrook
2.5 of 5 Specialty Hotel   |   3350 Milwaukee Avenue, Northbrook, IL 60062   |  
Hotel amenities
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

i was there with my wife on 10-05-12 and i can only say one word PERFECT. From the amenities to the linens. i loved this place it was so romantic for us and completly private which i had no porblems with. who wouldnt want complete privacy for you and your loved one. I WILL BE BACK

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    53
    15
    5
    5
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
60
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

Seriously, i thought this would be a great get away. I know its considered old school but didnt think it would be for real. First of all the room was covered in carpet secondly, all the amenities where super dated, and finally it was dirty. In Northbrook, the rooms are comparable to a very cheap motel. On the tv was 3 channels that played Twighlight, Underworld, and porn. Seriously, if you have standards this place isnt worth $50 per night let alone $200. I swear i feel got. I wish i could get have my money back. To top it all off there where small bleed stains on the sheet. So to hammer my point about this place in your head, Never Ever Go to this place. Whatever you dont go even if its free. I promise you will regret it!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

OK, this is a great place for a couple to go and spend a romantic evening. But you have to know what to expect. We stayed in the swimming pool suite. There's a small gate that guards the property. You put in your room key to raise the bar and drive onto the grounds. You follow a windy drive to your building. Each suite is a separate building. Some have garages and some you just park outside. There are no windows. When you walk into the swimming pool suite you immediately see the pool, which is half of the suite. There are all kinds of cool lighting options (to turn the pool red, green, blue, etc). There's a small square hot tub area connected to the pool. You can flip a switch and a waterfall will start pouring down on to the middle of the pool. Then there's a glassed in bedroom - so you can lie in bed and look out over the pool. There's a leather massaging chair. Mirrors on the ceiling. TV with DVD. Stereo system that pipes out into the swimming pool area. Steam room and steam shower. Regular bathroom and bidet as well. So it's a great place to spend a romantic evening. Don't expect a big hotel with lots of other things to do. You'll just be doing each other. :) It's expensive, but worth a treat.

Room Tip: Swimming pool suite is nice. The chalet suite has two levels and a slide that you can ride into the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Algonquin, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

We stayed at the sybaris once again! This was our 5th time at the Northbrook location. We always stay at a pool suite. The paradise and Majestic. Both rooms are very similar with the exception of the pool size, the Paradise suite with just a couple of feet smaller than the Majestic. They both have the hot tub, pool, steam room, refrigerator stocked with ice, coffee maker etc. The reception desk at check in, they were professional, friendly, efficient and do their best to make your stay special.
I recommend a multi night stay to truly enjoy and relax. Take some snacks ! There is food delivery so you don't have to leave. The rooms are spotless! I also recommend their chocolate covered strawberries which you can pre order, they were delicious! Overall an excellent experience and will stay there again!

Room Tip: Majestic or Paradise
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

This was my third time staying at the Sybaris, the second time at the Northbrook location. I love the concept of it, I love that everyone's room is its own building without windows...ensuring maximum privacy. The front desk staff was very friendly. Unfortunately, this place is dated and is in need of some updating. The bed was comfortable but the pillows were rock hard. The robes weren't like I had my previous two stays with the company. They had previously been about mid calf on me and very thick. This time they were only down to my knees and fairly thin. The room had an alarm, but that was out of order, with a letter over the alarm stating it was due to recent storms. The massage chair did not work at all, the fireplace had only about a 2 inch tall and 1 inch wide fire (no exaggeration) so we just turned it off (it operates by switch). When the whirlpool tub was turned on, a few dead earwigs came flying out of the jets. The mirror above the bed where the "basket" hangs had a crack in it, guaranteeing I would not be hanging anything there. And an odd thing...the toilet paper was several feet away from the toilet, so you either had to get up and walk to it, or grab some before you used the bathroom. I had been hoping the Northbrook location had been updated since staying about 10 years ago, as my room back then had a nonworking steam room, but it seems as though not much, if anything, has been updated. If they update their rooms and ensure the things within it actually work, I'd be happy to stay again. But as is, I don't see the point of staying in a relatively expensive room when all I get out of it is the bed and a tv with only a couple channels.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portage, Indiana, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

I recently went to the Northbrook location, we had made a reservation for the Majestic Suite since the Chalet was already reserved, well to our surprise they offered us the Chalet for $50 more when we got there since someone had cancelled their reservation last minute... and I must say it was absolutley AMAZING! Everything was so CLEAN, and just PERFECT! The pool was amazing, with the water fall, and the massage chairs MY GOODNESS! There are mirrors everywhere, and we had our own little garage. We ordered pizza because we did not want to leave the place! I LOVED it. I advise everyone to go there for a little getaway. It is totally worth it, you get to spend time with your loved one, and be as loud as you want. We played music the wholte time, i abosultey loved the mirror over the bed that looked like it was star lit. The steaff is really nice... my experience was beyond what I would have ever imagined. I cannot wait to go back!

Room Tip: Go with the Chalet it's totally worth it :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palatine, Illinois, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Reception office had no sign indicating they were the office. Reception staff not very nice when I arrived. The second reception person was nicer. Refrigerator too cold and it froze my strawberries I brought for my anniversary...very disappointing. The jet tub had a hard time draining as the drain was clogged. Room has a terrible small....could have used some freshener in there. There was no wi-fi or internet and no phone. Described these things at my departure and reception didn't seem to care. I will not come back ever nor can I speak nicely of this place. I wasted my money here. The bed was hard to sleep on as well.

Room Tip: Check out somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sybaris Northbrook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sybaris Northbrook

Address: 3350 Milwaukee Avenue, Northbrook, IL 60062
Location: United States > Illinois > Northbrook
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty lodging in Northbrook
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sybaris Northbrook 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sybaris Pool Suites located in Northbrook, Illinois is a Romantic Paradise like no other. The suites feature your own private swimming pool with a tropical waterfall, soothing whirlpool tub, misting steamroom, cozy fireplace, relaxing massage chairs and so much more to make your stay unforgettable. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sybaris Northbrook Hotel Northbrook
Sybaris Hotel
Sybaris Pool Suite Northbrook
Northbrook Sybaris Suites Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sybaris Northbrook, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Sybaris Northbrook to your Saves list