We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Burgers and fantastic service : )” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Charlie Beinlich's Food and Tap

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Charlie Beinlich's Food and Tap
290 Skokie Boulevard, Northbrook, IL 60062
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 104 Restaurants in Northbrook
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Round Lake, Illinois
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great Burgers and fantastic service : )”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Think tavern in the backwoods of Wisconsin. Now think, great burgers packed and cooked fresh. Fresh ingredients made with love! Served by some of the best staff in any five star restaurant. If you return on an infrequent schedule you are still remembered, as is your order. Arrive early or late, or be prepared to wait.

Beware: If you like tomatoes on your burgers, sandwiches, etc. they have ketchup. No tomatoes. And, they take only cash but have an ATM for convenience!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    9
    1
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Deerfield, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Back roads Tavern”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

The burgers are great. There aren't many options on the menu, but everything is great. Cash only, so make sure you have cash. And don't be surprised if there's a wait, but it's well worth it.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Park, IL
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Superb Roadhouse”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This outstanding community treasure has not changed in 50 years. Limited menue of great food, especially burgers, barbeque beef and shrimp and crabmeat cocktail. Great selections of cocktails and beer. You will love it!!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Great burger!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Local treasure with the best burger I've had in quite a while; cash only.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Best Wisconsin Tavern on the North Shore”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

We have been coming to Charlie Beinlich's my whole life, and except for adding a delicious chicken wrap to the menu, nothing has ever changed. Ok, some of our favorite waiters have retired, but new favorites have taken their place. The restaurant, for the uninitiated, is completely unpretentious. But the food is upscale road house all the way. The shrimp cocktail (or crab and shrimp) is the best you will find anywhere--cold and crisp and fresh--from Lakeside Foods (so says the menu which is posted on the wall--don't even think of asking for your own) in Winnetka. Everything on the pared down menu is outstanding. The burgers are of the finest quality beef, though I always get the grilled cheese with raw onions...just as I have always ordered since I was a kid, only now I get my martini with it! It is not a four star establishment, unless you give stars for delicious food, wonderful and personable service, and a decor which is refreshing as it is retro without trying to be retro. How cool is that? Oh...and if you ask for coffee and dessert...you will get a rather unpleasant surprise... lol

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charlie Beinlich's Food and Tap also viewed

 

Been to Charlie Beinlich's Food and Tap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charlie Beinlich's Food and Tap, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.