We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I Liked It”
Review of Barnabys of Northbrook

960 Skokie Blvd, Northbrook, IL 60062-4005
847-498-3900
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Ranked #17 of 102 restaurants in Northbrook
Most recent review
- Jul 23, 2012
Restaurant details
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

73% Recommend
    10
    12
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
There are newer reviews for Barnabys of Northbrook
See the most recent reviews
Toronto
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“I Liked It”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

It was good: It wasn't very fancy -- as other reviewers may have mentioned, you order at the counter. It has a very old-country 70s feel to it. I like the great pricing and had the veal parmigiana. I enjoyed lunch so much I went back for dinner with colleagues afterward. Very friendly staff.

I would visit again.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon, Indiana
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Quick option for lunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

You order at the counter and then find your own seat. The food is good enough and it's a quick option for lunch.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Good food and good value, but needs better signage inside”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

I was staying at the hotel across the street and walked over for dinner. Very good food! Not having been here before though, I was confused about the business model. When you walk in, there's a hostess station, but no sign that says to go to the back counter to order. I figured it out by watching others walk straight to the back. You order your food at one counter, and then wait in a second line at the bar to order your drinks. The night I was here the bar line was pretty long, so the food counter was calling out my order number while I was still in line at the bar. So you end up with two credit card receipts, two separate tips (not sure what exactly I was tipping?), and you carry your food back to your table. I think I would have preferred regular waitress service at a place with the food as good as it was, plus I should have chosen to not sit next to the guy with the microphone that was calling out food orders while trying to enjoy my meal. Still, I enjoyed it and would go back next time I'm in town

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petoskey, Michigan
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“pinched but perfect”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

Barnaby's is a Chicago landmark. They serve the best corn meal thin crust pizza with pinched edges,containing their own fresh sauce. The service style is unique-- you pick your table then go to the order counter to order and pay. they will call your # when it is ready. Drinks are ordered from a seperate full service counter and some beverages are available in pitchers. We had Mustaccioli (delicious) potato skins ( a specialty) ceasar salad and a pizza made to order with our ingedients. No room for desert.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L.A.
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Shakey's Pizza with an attitude”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

This place was across the street from our hotel. The restaurant has no signage that it is self-serve. The food was average at best. We tried it once BUT would not go back.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barnabys of Northbrook also viewed

 

Been to Barnabys of Northbrook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barnabys of Northbrook, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.