We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unusual venue good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pinstripes

Pinstripes
1150 Willow Rd, Northbrook, IL 60062-6819
847-480-2323
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 103 Restaurants in Northbrook
Price range: $3 - $25
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
USA
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“unusual venue good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We walked past the bowling alleys and Bocci ball lanes to the surprisingly large restaurant. Ate outside on a pleasant patio. Menu was a good but not overly extensive and reasonable prices. It was fathers day so they had a buffet for $20 which contained most of the menu items so was a good option. Only downside was the glare as the sun went down.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PinstripesBBB B, Manager at Pinstripes, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thanks for your review and glad to hear you enjoyed our patio dining!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    40
    13
    3
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“Sunday brunch was a value but it came without service.... we could've walked out and no one would've cared”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

20 bucks for brunch is relatively cheap for what they offer - but our experience was comical given the lack of anyone supervising the wait staff or food ..... and a sneeze shield is definitely lacking!

We arrived with a reservation and were asked to wait until a table was ready...... 10 minutes later we were led through a half full dining room and offered our choice of tables? Then we waited...... no drinks, no wait staff.... after 15 minutes conversing with our friends, I finally got up and tracked down the hostess who said, 'Oh, you're white card isn't at the end of the table.' What? - 'I'll just take your drink order and you go get plates and can eat.....'

The area displaying the food was nice - and the food there was pretty well prepared - but they were constantly out of things and waiting for platters..... waited 10 minutes for waffles while the waffle maker behind the chef sat un-used - is it there for decoration? Instead they brought out 2 huge bowls of not-freshly prepared waffles and dumped them into the serving bowl....

The omelet station burnt my wife's first order and couldn't make 2 fried eggs without bringing the line to a standstill... if you asked for roast beef, it was cut quickly in between omelets.... average taste....

The salmon and raw shrimp were fresh and plentiful - and bagels, cream cheese just fine - the pizza station looked like a dozen 7 year olds ripped it to shreds - partial slices and cheese drippings strewn about and no hot ones upon my arrival - then while waiting for the waffles, we saw the hot pizza deposited on the old scraps - no thanks.

Coffee and the soft drink arrived but no waiter returned to take 4 empty dirty plates while we browsed for 10 minutes for our second plates... we had to remove them ourselves! With an empty coffee cup, I stopped one of the rare passing waiters and asked for more coffee - he cheerfully replied, "Here, have some I have in these 2 paper cups I just filled" and then poured it into my cup..... is this summer camp service?

Had to chase someone down for the tab - we could've walked out and no one would've noticed or cared - seems like this place is manned by high school students..... once our bill was finally brought, they had undercharged us.... they had no idea which customers are which and seemed to not have cared less. On the other hand, if you don't mind a fully self service brunch, the food was a good value!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latrobe, Pa
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“An Unusual Combination That is GREAT!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Family business brought me to Northbrook, Il for a weekend event. My 18 yr old daughter was visiting a friend and my wife and myself got a room at the Northbrook Sheraton. Located in walking distance was a large building named Pinstripes, and disco style lights could be seen from the outside. We went inside and I was a bit confused as I was faced with my choice of Bowling, Bocce, a nice subtle bar, and a restaurant...the place is big!
We were quickly seated and chose to try the dining room...the bar area was nice and had live music, but I was in the mood for a quiet dinner after the 10 hour drive to get here. The waiter quickly took our drink order while giving us a few minutes to digest the menu. He returned quickly and promised to come back in a minute to take our dinner order. I think he forgot about us as we had to wait about 10 minutes before he returned to take our order. This was the only real criticism I had, and it was probably an honest mistake. The menu was American with Italian overtones and featured most of the popular appetizers you could ask for in the Italian & American blend. The dinner selections were varied and featured a nice mix of meats and salads as well as sandwiches and pastas. I ordered an Artichoke/Spinach dip as an appetizer and Chicken Parmesan as a dinner choice. The Artichoke/Spinach dip was served on a large wooden tray that held a small cast iron skillet full of the dip with toasted seasoned bread medallions surrounding it, as well as a nice bunch of grapes. It was great! The bread was a bit too crunchy for my preference but it was tasty and nicely presented. The Chicken Parmesan came perched on a sizable patch of homemade wide noodles with grape tomatoes, fresh basil, and a nice mix of Italian spices. The chicken was a large, well breaded breast smothered in a great Parmesan topping. One thing that took me by surprise was the way the Chicken Parm was made. I am accustomed to having them made in a tomato sauce base, while this was served without the tomato sauce (the pasta had little or no sauce, but had grape tomatoes instead) and an excess of rosemary. I love Rosemary Chicken but I don't think it goes well with a Parmesan cheese mix as it tasted a bit bitter. Again, this was my preference and certainly not a criticism of the foods taste or quality.
The one thing that I noticed is that everything was super fresh and served in a simple presentation that maximizes on the fresh flavors mixing as they are eaten. Everything was fresh, hot, and tasty. I can't really say that I could find fault with any of the items I ordered as they were good, fresh, and served quickly. The waiters were attentive and professional and made the evening an enjoyable time. I would recommend this to anyone and will stop in the next time I am in town.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Family fun worth the visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We lived the food, atmosphere and family orientated fun. This is a definite return to place. We as a family loved this venue. E will definitely be back.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheeling, Illinois
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not your average bowling alley restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This place is more than a bowling alley; it actually offers fine dining too. Had the jambalaya risotto and it was a deconstructed version of risotto, with the chicken and shrimp not mixed in with the rice. It was tasty and had just the right amount of "kick"!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pinstripes also viewed

 

Been to Pinstripes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pinstripes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.