We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, but overpriced and small rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Chicago Northbrook Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Chicago Northbrook Hotel to your Saves list
Sheraton Chicago Northbrook Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1110 Willow Road, Northbrook, IL 60062   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Northbrook
Carmel, Indiana, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, but overpriced and small rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

The hotel had a modern updated look to it. The lobby does have a nice fireplace with chairs around it. The room is smaller than what I expected. There is a nice long desk if you will be working. The room heater was very loud, woke me up at night. Why does a modern hotel not have central air??? The price was salty too.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana S, Director of Sales at Sheraton Chicago Northbrook Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience at the hotel with us. Your feedback is very important in helping us to improve our operation. We hope you will consider staying with us again as we continue to grow and improve the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    48
    23
    9
    6
See reviews for
36
25
14
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Summerville, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

From the fire burning in the fireplace to the cozy lobby and warm greeting from the gentleman checking me in at the front desk I felt welcome and right at home. The hotel is new and beautifully appointed, it feels more like a boutique hotel than a typical Sheraton. My room on the club floor is beautifully appointed. I live the long desk with a charging station for all of my technology... No crawling on the floor looking for an outlet. Furniture is in new condition, elegant and comfortable. Best of all, a huge fluffy duvet and and huge fluffy white pillows... The bed is pure comfort


Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana S, Director of Sales at Sheraton Chicago Northbrook Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We truly work very hard to ensure our guests feel at home and comfortable. Looks like we succeeded!! I will be sure to share your comments with the team and look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel but in a very suburban area. We were working near by so this worked well for us, but you probably woiuldnt choose this place unless you needed to be close by.

Had a club room which was nice and a good size. Hotel has small pool and good gym. Bar service is hit and miss with Joe the barman doing more drinking than serving!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana S, Director of Sales at Sheraton Chicago Northbrook Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thanks so much for taking the time to provide feedback. I would like to ask that you contact our General Manager, Wolfgang Wildoer at 847-480-1900 as he would be very concerned with our service being less than acceptable. Thanks again and we hope to have you with us in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

I would very highly recommend this hotel to anyone that is looking for a clean and comfortable hotel stay at a reasonable rate and fairly close to Chicago (although definitely not within walking distance of the city). The check-in process was quick and simple. The beds were very comfortable and the room was spacious. I would definitely return to this hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana S, Director of Sales at Sheraton Chicago Northbrook Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to having you stay with us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for business. Prior to arriving, I read many of the negative reviews. If you are expecting a resort, you will be disappointed. If you are expecting a nice business travel hotel, you will be pleased. Check in was fast and easy with polite professional service. In fact every staff member with whom I had contact was polite, friendly and professional.

The hotel is fairly new so the building is in good condition. The rooms are on the small side, but not uncomfortably so. The décor is contemporary and attractive with upscale finishes. I particularly liked having the large desk located at the window so that I could look outside while I worked, and the large walk-in shower. I found the hotel to be quiet . I enjoyed my stay.

There were a few areas in which the hotel could improve. I went down for breakfast service, which the hotel states begins at 6:45 a.m. I arrived about 6:48 a.m. and there was already another guest sitting at table. I noticed that he had no coffee, no juice and no other drink or food item on his table. I sat down and waited five minutes and no dining room staff member ever arrived, so I left. If the hotel is going to state that breakfast service begins at 6:45, then it should begin at 6:45. I had business to attend to that morning and could not wait around for wait staff.

My second concern is one that I read about in one of the reviews. When I read this complaint, I thought that the reviewer must be overly critical; however after my own experience, I realized that this reviewer had an accurate complaint. This isn’t terribly important, but it is strange. When changing the channel on the guest room television, the screen goes blank for as long as six seconds before the next channel’s image appears. And the sound for that station doesn’t begin for another two or three seconds. I know this seems like a weird thing to complain about, but it is strangely frustrating when scrolling through the television stations. I’ve never experienced this situation before.

I would stay at this hotel again. The common areas and guest room was clean and in good repair. The bed was extremely comfortable. The hotel is quiet and at a convenient location. And the staff, with the exception of the breakfast staff, was polite, professional, and friendly.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana S, Director of Sales at Sheraton Chicago Northbrook Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thanks so much for sharing your experience with us. We truly appreciate it and will utilize your comments to help train and educate our Staff. We hope to see you again so you can witness firsthand the improvements we are making. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell, California
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

This is your typical Sheraton hotel. I like how they offer full-blown coffee syrups in the lobby so you can make your own vanilla or hazelnut coffee in the morning. Other than that, it's your typical hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana S, Director of Sales at Sheraton Chicago Northbrook Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thanks so much for taking the time to provide us with feedback. We truly appreciate it and hope to see you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, MI
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

The staff are always friendly, and incredibly, one even remembered us from 10 months ago!

The beds are so comfy, sheets silky smooth, pillows soft and supportive, bathroom is elegant and clean, plenty of space to set your bags down on the bench under the wide-screen TV. Fast and easily accessible internet. However, the best secret (and the reason why we came -- besides the staff :) is the hot tub: it has the most powerful jets on the planet. Really a treat. Better than a spa. Ahhh...

Right down the street from a Whole Foods and other shopping, plus Pinstripes (with indoor dining, bowling and bocce ball) if that's your cup of tea.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana S, Manager at Sheraton Chicago Northbrook Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for the great feedback! Our staff works very hard to ensure that our guests feel happy and comfortable during their stay. One of the things we pride ourselves on is our employees and I will be sure to share your feedback with them. Looking forward to having you stay with us again and again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Chicago Northbrook Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Chicago Northbrook Hotel

Address: 1110 Willow Road, Northbrook, IL 60062
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Northbrook
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Northbrook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Chicago Northbrook Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Chicago Northbrook Hotel, conveniently located in the North Shore of the Chicago area, offers a stylish and comfortable stay for all guests, whether visiting for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Starwood and Hotels.com so you can book your Sheraton Chicago Northbrook Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Chicago Northbrook Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.