We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Beds & coffee syrups in the lobby” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Chicago Northbrook Hotel

Save Saved
You added Sheraton Chicago Northbrook Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sheraton.com Booking.com
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Chicago Northbrook Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1110 Willow Road, Northbrook, IL 60062   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #4 of 5 hotels in Northbrook
Campbell, California
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great Beds & coffee syrups in the lobby”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

This is your typical Sheraton hotel. I like how they offer full-blown coffee syrups in the lobby so you can make your own vanilla or hazelnut coffee in the morning. Other than that, it's your typical hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana S, Director of Sales at Sheraton Chicago Northbrook Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thanks so much for taking the time to provide us with feedback. We truly appreciate it and hope to see you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    40
    40
    18
    9
    2
See reviews for
31
20
12
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, MI
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

The staff are always friendly, and incredibly, one even remembered us from 10 months ago!

The beds are so comfy, sheets silky smooth, pillows soft and supportive, bathroom is elegant and clean, plenty of space to set your bags down on the bench under the wide-screen TV. Fast and easily accessible internet. However, the best secret (and the reason why we came -- besides the staff :) is the hot tub: it has the most powerful jets on the planet. Really a treat. Better than a spa. Ahhh...

Right down the street from a Whole Foods and other shopping, plus Pinstripes (with indoor dining, bowling and bocce ball) if that's your cup of tea.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana S, Manager at Sheraton Chicago Northbrook Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Thank you for the great feedback! Our staff works very hard to ensure that our guests feel happy and comfortable during their stay. One of the things we pride ourselves on is our employees and I will be sure to share your feedback with them. Looking forward to having you stay with us again and again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I planned to stay for four nights but checked out after two. The room was small and furnished with cheap inadequate furnishings. Inadequate lighting. No closet, only a small armoire with two smallish drawers. No drawers in bathroom. No drawers in night stand. No couch, only one conformable sitting chair and that one didn't have a light nearby. Inadequate ventilation. No exhaust fan in bathroom. Fan on heating/ cooling system cannot be made to run except by thermostat. I had to turn on the air conditioning to dehumidify the room after a shower on a day when the ground was covered with snow.
Probably adequate for a one night, one person, business stay. Not adequate fro two people or multiple night.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diana S, General Manager at Sheraton Chicago Northbrook Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It is regrettable that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. One of the most important things we learn from on-line reviews is how we might better serve our guests. Please know that we consider your feedback valuable in improving our product and service. We hope you will give us another opportunity in the future.
Thank you,
Sheraton Chicago Northbrook Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I grew up in the area, but have been gone for 18 years. The courteous staff was happy to update me about the changed landscape. The hill behind the hotel - I remember it as a landfill - now it is a golf course! The naval station - a high end mall. My former highschool - they make movies there now - (well that makes sense they filmed the Breakfast Club there the year it closed)! Large room - even larger desk! - perfect for the business traveler. Comfy bed, quiet halls. Safe neighborhood for a wonderful run - hill optional. While the usually insanely marked up lobby beverages were only moderately marked up - $1 for a coke - there are stores within walking distances and the shuttle will take you to area conveniences or business meetings. If only there was a mini bar or fridge to store my caffeine habit.

Room Tip: It is a long walk, but ask for a room at the end of the hall overlooking the Retreat center
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stayed here in October 2012 with my wife and 2 kids. We had a room with 2 double beds but was disappointed. The beds seemed quite smaller than we normally see in a room the 4 of us stay. My wife and I are normal size and really had a hard time sleeping together in the bed. Also, I realize this is a newer, more modern looking hotel, but I don't understand the design. The bathroom door is on a track outside the doorway kind of like you would see on an old ship or something. It was loud, and if someone got up in the night it would easily disturb everyone. Not to mention the door is fogged glass which does nothing to prevent light from shining into the room. Once again if you get disturbed from the noise of the door, you can bet getting to sleep would be tough until the light gets turned out!

We stayed on a Thurs, Fri, and Sat nights and we also had problems with the service. Most of the staff was friendly, but they either didn't have enough people or were poorly managed. We were in town for an event on Saturday. We got up, showered and dressed to leave for the morning portion. We were out until at least 4pm, and had to go back and change for the evening portion at 6pm. When we got back we found the room had still NOT been cleaned for the day! Knowing my time was running short I looked for the maid staff on the floor and asked why our room wasn't done and they had trouble understanding me, but I think it was because someone was being trained. I asked them to do my room right away and we went to the lobby to wait.

In the lobby I spoke to the front desk to see why at 4pm our room would not have been cleaned for the day. I was not pleased with their response as they said they were working on it best they could. So we sat and waited until the front desk told us our room was ready. So, back up we went and got to the room to find it was far from ready as they were still in there working on it. Now I was really mad and I went back down to give them a piece of my mind, I was given 2 free drinks as a way for them to apologize. Not good enough, but I took the drinks. It was finally finished about 10 minutes later.

Oh, and on top of all this we had an entire day during our stay with NO HOT WATER! The entire hotel had no hot water! My poor kids had to take cold showers for an event!

Next time I'm in the area I will be staying at the Renaissance Chicago North Shore instead. Its close by and comparable in price but much nicer overall!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnson City, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

I've stayed at this Sheraton many times since 2010 on business. It's a competent property that benefits from having very little competition close by, and it's newness is a big benefit.

The staff has always been courteous and professional. The restaurant is fine. Exercise facilities are good (if a little small for a business traveler-oriented hotel).

Rooms are well-sized with nice, modern bathrooms (great stand-alone showers). Bedding is excellent and comfy. Instead of a closet, a nice armoire stores clothes. The rooms have a good-sized desk with plenty of plugs, making an excellent work area. The wi-fi at the hotel is often quite slow. Breakfast in the lounge is above average in my experience.

One thing that concerns me is the persistent smell of dampness on the guest floors when I stay there. It's never interfered with sleep but is always noticeable, especially in the first 30 minutes or so upon entry.

All in all, this is an easy hotel to recommend for now if you need to be in Northbrook for business.

Room Tip: Some rooms have great, standalone showers (which I prefer) and no tub, while other rooms have a full...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison
Top Contributor
209 reviews 209 reviews
176 hotel reviews
Reviews in 116 cities Reviews in 116 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Check in was pretty good, very friendly staff. Well explained features, club, etc. No upgrade. Lobby was clean. Pantry had a very small choice of items.

When walked to room on 4th floor, I noticed bumps in the carpet. Turns out the bumps are from the carpet coming up from the floor, in the middle of the hall. Almost a trip hazard.

Smell of the hallway and room very reminiscent of a nursing home, or elder care facility. Not super strong, but not pleasant.

Entering room took photos. Room was normal size room with typical recent Sheraton style. Bathroom nice and clean, workspace excellent. Bed nice and comfy.

HVAC worked very well. Tried air conditioning, and heat, both very responsive.

Internet excellent, stayed online all night.

Carpet in room coming up from the floor, and once again, a potential trip hazard. The bumps are about 1 inch high by about 8 inches long. They blend in with the dark carpet, so hard to see.

I am surprised to see this extreme carpeting issue throughout a newer Sheraton. I cannot imagine how the carpeting vendor would not be accountable for such a poor installation. Nonetheless, the carpet should be replaced, or repaired.

Ordered room service, and it took about 40 minutes to receive food..

Ordered burger and fries, with carrot cake. Did not receive fries (which I did not notice until I sat down to eat). I called to room service. No one answered the phone, but there was a voice mail message saying to leave a message and they would respond to my request ASAP. I never received a call back, or my fries.

If room service response was good when I called, I would probably have given hotel 4 stars. But after that, and the carpeting, i downgraded to 3 stars.

Room Tip: Request away from elevator, and non-connecting room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sheraton Chicago Northbrook Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Chicago Northbrook Hotel

Address: 1110 Willow Road, Northbrook, IL 60062
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Northbrook
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 hotels in Northbrook
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton Chicago Northbrook Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sheraton Chicago Northbrook Hotel, conveniently located in the North Shore of the Chicago area, offers a stylish and comfortable stay for all guests, whether visiting for business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Sheraton Chicago Northbrook Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Chicago Northbrook Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.