We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Butterfield's Pancake House & Restaurant

Butterfield's Pancake House & Restaurant
4195 Dundee Rd, Northbrook, IL 60062-2129
847-205-2588
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #56 of 104 Restaurants in Northbrook
Restaurant details
buffalo grove
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

I love this restaurant. They make breakfast quesadillas, my favorite. The food (freshly squeezed OJ), the ambiance (they play my 50's-60's oldies), the decor and the service are perfect. Prices are very reasonable. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    0
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Team Breakfast”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

The food was good and the portions were perfect. Was disappointed on how they handled the bill. We suggested that they take our orders by jerseys numbers as it will make things easier for the wait staff. Unfortunately, they got confused and didn't know how to separate the bills. Ended with one large bill which we had to figure who owed what.
One of the waitresses was a bit snarky about having separate bills and kept saying her way was the correct way. This is something you don't say to a customer.
If it wasnt for the attititude of one of the wait staff, review would have been very good.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
397 reviews 397 reviews
300 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
175 helpful votes 175 helpful votes
“worth checking out..........”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

I have never had anything but average food and service at this restaurant, but I know others who absolutely LOVE it! My advice would be to check the menu online to see if the selections and prices appeal to you and then give it a try. You might be one of the lucky ones who finds it to be five-star quality. They have an enormous parking lot, which is a plus.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metairie, Louisiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

The food at Butterfield's was excellent. You get your money's worth of the best breakfast food in the area. This is a must go to restaruant.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo Grove, Illinois
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Who's Idea was it to change the French Toast???”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

I have always loved your restaurant but today I was there and ordered the french toast and it was served on the thickest bread ever....now someone would say oh that sounds good...but not in this case...it is sooo thick that one of the pieces were totally soaked so when I cut into it...it was like slop in the middle....(too thick to cook through)..then the other piece must not have been soaked as much and had nothing in the middle it was just dry bread...Texas toast is one thing...this is over 2 inches thick....it was Yucky, Yucky...

  • Visited July 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Butterfield's Pancake House & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Butterfield's Pancake House & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.