We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Clean Room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn Great Lakes - N. Chicago

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Days Inn Great Lakes - N. Chicago to your Saves list
Days Inn Great Lakes - N. Chicago
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3000 Highway 41 Skokie Hwy, Corner of Rt.41 & Buckley Road., North Chicago, IL 60044   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead and Save 15%
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in North Chicago
Macon, Georgia
1 review
“Good Clean Room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Our room was very clean and the beds slept very good. I really liked the fact that each person had four pillows. Staff was very friendly and accomodating. I wish the room had a refrigerator and microwave. It's the closest hotel to the Naval base, which is why we were there. The shuttle service to the graduation at the Naval base was very good. All in all, it's a great place to stay.

Room Tip: No pool or restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    45
    32
    38
    53
See reviews for
141
16
13
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Yucaipa, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We booked this hotel online. Arrived at the hotel and noticed it was a little run down. When we finally got to our room, the curtains were hanging off the rod, torn, the bath tub stopper was broken, there was a suspicious lump under the beadspread and yellow stains on the towels. Within minutes we returned to the front desk and were offered another room. The new room had yellow stains on the towels, the lights did not work and like the previous room it smelled like mildew covered up with bleach. We returned to the desk and told them we could not stay here. The desk clerk had to answer a call and left us waiting for quite some time. The manager refused to give anything but his first name??? (In our opinion this was very questionable professionalism)and refused to refund our money for the first night even though we were only there for minutes. It is our opinion that this hotel is very run down, very dirty and questionably safe.

Room Tip: Hotel Marriott
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

So close to the Great Lakes Naval base with this awesome dinner across the street. There's a gas station next door too, excellent location. The room wasn't the newest, but pretty spacious considering what we paid for it. The staff was friendly and even helped us out with a bottle opener when we forgot ours. Also, we were a bit late checking out in the morning, but they were totally nice about it. Ideal place for anyone looking for a reasonable room in a great location central to the GL base.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The hotel interior was in need of repairs and renovations. The room itself was clean and looked well maintained. I would have given it a better rating if the lobby and front area looked better.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlingen
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

The management was very pleasant and hospitable. Very patient and helpful in making sure that our stay was comfortable made us feel part part of the Days Inn Family.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Days Inn Great Lakes - N. Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Great Lakes - N. Chicago

Address: 3000 Highway 41 Skokie Hwy, Corner of Rt.41 & Buckley Road., North Chicago, IL 60044
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Lake County > North Chicago
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in North Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Great Lakes - N. Chicago 2*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WE ARE THE CLOSEST HOTEL TO GREAT LAKES NAVAL TRAINING CENTER. 1 MILE. We offer an incredible customer focused staff, upgraded rooms with new linens, beds, and carpet. We take pride in our hotel at Days Inn. Come in and take a look for yourself! WE OFFER COZY AND COMFORTABLE 1 KING, 2 QUEEN, OR JACUZZI SUITE ROOMS. COME ENJOY OUR COMPLIMENTARY CONTINENTAL BREAKFAST EVERY MORNING. PLEASE NOTE OUR ENTIRE HOTEL IS NON SMOKING. ALL ROOMS HAVE BEEN RENOVATED AND UPGRADED. OUR KING ROOMS HAVE A FULL SIZE DESK WITH WORK LAMPS. OTTOMAN, AND WORK TASK CHAIRS. COME ENJOY OUR MODERN LUXURIOUS NEW LOOK. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Days Inn Great Lakes - N. Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Great Lakes - n. Chicago Hotel North Chicago
Days Inn North Chicago
Days Inn Great Lakes - N. Chicago North Chicago, Lake County, IL

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn Great Lakes - N. Chicago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.