We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just seems to fit nicely.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Bloomington-Normal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Bloomington-Normal to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Bloomington-Normal
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   320 S. Towanda Ave, Normal, Bloomington-Normal, IL 61761   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and save 15%
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Normal
GreenLeadersSilver level
Chesterton, Indiana
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Just seems to fit nicely.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

The front lobby is clean, well appointed and staffed with very friendly and helpful staff. The breakfast is better than your average continental with several nice choices. The rooms are clean, predictable and comfortable with lots of room to work and a nice fridge and microwave. All in all, the folks at Hampton seem to have this down pat. Thanks

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard R, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Bloomington-Normal, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Hello "WorldlyTravelersIN". Thank you so much for taking the time out of your busy schedule to report on your recent experience. Impressive you have over 50 reviews in several cities. We appreciate that. We also appreciate you reporting on the recent refinements we've completed in our lobby and breakfast area. Stay tuned for more improvements to come and safe travels to you and yours....
-richard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    58
    10
    5
    1
See reviews for
105
41
19
97
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

My wife and I took a 3-day getaway by Amtrak to Normal, IL and had an excellent experience at this hotel. Great breakfast and staff. Clean rooms and wonderful pool. We had an obnoxious noise problem at 1:00am. I reported it to the desk and the man walked back with me to my room to check it out. 45 minutes later the problem was fixed. We will come back here in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard R, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Bloomington-Normal, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to report on your experience at Hampton Inn & Suites - Bloomington/Normal. Your phrase 'excellent experience' is paramount for us and we're pleased you shared this with the world. Should travels bring you to the area again, let us know....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
location, location. location...
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

The weekend we stayed there happened to coincide with graduation weekend at Illinois State University. The hotel was very busy but the staff easily handled the crowd, especially in the morning when the ravenous horde migrated to the feeding trough. Bed was comfortable, room was clean, the shower was strong and I was quite pleased for what I got for my money. Location is good, especially with the proximity to the mall, I-55 and Veterans Parkway, and Destihl's is just across the perking lot (I think I reviewed this restaurant before?).

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard R, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Bloomington-Normal, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Hello "Baked again". Thank you very much for taking the time out of your busy schedule to report on your experience with us. As a seasoned traveler, 50+reviews in nearly 30 cities, we're honored to be among them. The team grinned ear to ear after I shared your review. Safe travels and see you soon....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheaton, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

For a few dollars more, this hotel is hand down over most of the economy hotels. It offers a lot of the same amenities - indoor pool, breakfast and internet. However this hotel is more modern, also has a hot tub and elevators.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard R, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Bloomington-Normal, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Hi "Frank A S" thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to report on your recent experience. You got it, should anyone need a room for an ISU event OR IWU for that matter, we're here for you. Thanks again and safe travels to you and yours....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

I've this Hoyle for four visits to visit my daughter at ISU and each visit has been great. Never a bad visit Rooms were always ready and they were always clean/fresh. Staff always helpful and friendly too. No sounds of traffic from the highway. Located next to Destihls for a good dinner. Breakfast is always fresh with just the right balance between warm and cold selections. Also, very close to shopping if you forget something. Starbucks within the same complex too.

Room Tip: Stayed on higher level away from elevator to avoid foot traffic, but this is just a personal choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard R, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Bloomington-Normal, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Welcome and thank you so much for taking the time out of your busy day to report on your experience with us. I especially appreciate you reminding other travelers that they will never find 'powdered eggs' or 'faux' items of any sort in our full and fresh breakfast buffet. Comments such as these are priceless and we can't be thankful enough you and others take the time to share them with the world. Safe travels to you and yours and we'll see you soon.... :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savoy, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

This was a great hotel for a weekend of baseball with the family. We stayed in a king studio which was very spacious with a pull out couch for the kids and king bed for parents. Kids swam in the pool, breakfast was great, hotel was very clean. Within walking distance to restaurant and shopping center. We had a great time.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard R, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Bloomington-Normal, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Many thanks 'MichelleM' for taking the time out of your busy schedule to share with the world your experience. Reviews such as yours are priceless and we thank you. Let us know how we can make the next trip even better. Safe travels to you and yours and see you soon....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

I've stayed several times recently for business. Great location, not a fan of the breakfasts though. The powdered eggs are not good, neither are the faux pre-made omelets, or faux bacon.
Also, don't understand the strategy of having FOX News on the TV in dining area for breakfast. I'm not overly political, and find Fox and MSNBC questionable choices for morning TV when your goal should be to not irk your guests. Neutrality! I travel, and stay in hotels 200+ nights a year, and large majority go with local news, or CNN!
Also, twice at this hotel, when showering in the AM a body odor permeates through the vents. It's is not every room, and maybe I've just had bad luck with this.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard R, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Bloomington-Normal, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to report on your experience. Though, we're not happy with your rating we understand the need to give it our all at every turn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Bloomington-Normal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Bloomington-Normal

Address: 320 S. Towanda Ave, Normal, Bloomington-Normal, IL 61761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Bloomington-Normal > Normal
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Normal
#1 Green Hotel in Normal
#1 Business Hotel in Normal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Bloomington-Normal 2.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
first class hospitality in the heart of Central Illinois.Hampton Inn & Suites Bloomington/Normal is located within the Shoppes at College Hills just minutes from Uptown Normal, Illinois State University, Illinois Wesleyan University, Country Financial, State Farm Insurance, and Mitsubishi Motors North American Headquarters. Enjoy convenient access to Interstates 55, 74, and 39. See professional hockey, basketball or arena football at the U.S. Cellular Coliseum or take in a baseball game at the Corn Crib. Watch a classic film on the big screen at the Normal Theater, a restored Art Deco theater. Enjoy live theater in an outdoor Elizabethan-style venue at the annual Illinois Shakespeare Festival at Ewing Manor. Dine at Destihl Restaurant & Brew Works, Joe's Station House, Logan's Restaurant or Flat Top Grille. The Normal area offers a variety of courses for golfers including Highland Park Golf Course and Arnold Palmer's Signature Golf Course, The Den at Fox Creek. Take the kids to the Children's Discovery Museum, Miller Park Zoo or Challenger Learning Center. Tour the David Davis Mansion, the Victorian home of the 19th century U.S. Supreme Court Justice.Relax in one of our 128 guest rooms and suites with 32-inch HD TVs and free high-speed internet access. Finish a presentation for tomorrow’s meeting at the work desk or convenient lap desk. If you’re traveling with family or prefer additional space, reserve a spacious one-bedroom or studio suite. Our fitness center and indoor swimming pool offer the perfect spot to unwind after a long day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Bloomington-Normal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Hotel Normal
Hampton Inn And Suites
Hampton Inn Normal
Normal Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn & Suites Bloomington-Normal IL

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Bloomington-Normal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.