We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay here if you're going to Bloomington/Normal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Bloomington-Normal

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Bloomington-Normal to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Bloomington-Normal
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   320 S. Towanda Ave, Normal, Bloomington-Normal, IL 61761   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and save 15%
Ranked #1 of 10 hotels in Normal
GreenLeadersSilver level
USA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Stay here if you're going to Bloomington/Normal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

I travel for business to Central IL regularly and I think this is the best Hampton Inn location in town (although the other Hampton by the highway is very nice as well). It's right off of Veterans' Parkway which has a ton of restaurants and shops. The hotel itself is one of the more updated Hampton Inn properties so the rooms are very nice and the staff is also very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInnNormal, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Bloomington-Normal, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
We appreciate your personal feedback and recommendation of our award-winning hotel to other travelers. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the local and hotel amenities offered at our property along with our friendly team! Once again, thank you for taking the time to share on your experience with us and we hope that you will visit us again soon. Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    174
    41
    9
    4
    0
See reviews for
83
30
18
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Florissant, MO
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

I stayed two nights here in early March while on business in Normal, IL. The staff was super friendly and check in was fast. My room was very clean and spacious. Everything worked as it should. The wet bar area was wonderful -- it was so handy to have a sink, microwave nd refrigerator all close together. I stay at Hampton Inn whenever possible because I know that I will have a consistently good experience. My only complaint is with the fitness room -- one of the treadmills did not function correctly (walking surface did not move smoothly) and the elliptical machine was very noisy. However, I was still able to complete my morning workout and got my day off to a good start. if I am ever in the Bloomington-Normal area on business again, I will definitely reserve a room here!

Room Tip: I had a room very close to the elevator and did not hear elevator noise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInnNormal, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Bloomington-Normal, responded to this review, April 3, 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to report on your recent stay with us. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to enjoy our friendly staff and our clean and spacious rooms. I apologize for certain machines in our fitness room not functioning properly; I want to assure you the issues have been corrected. We would enjoy having you return to our award winning Hampton Inn & Suites when future travels bring you to the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Indiana, United States
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

I stayed in this hotel while on a business trip. My experience was very positive. Very nice and very clean. Would definitely stay again if in this city.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInnNormal, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Bloomington-Normal, responded to this review, March 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to report on your recent stay! We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate you sharing your experience with our award winning accommodations for other travelers coming to the area. We hope to see you again if future travels bring you to the Bloomington/Normal area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean County
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

I use the meeting facilities of this Hampton about 12 times a year for all day classes, and I cannot say how much their great service, wonderful facility, and overall guest experience contributes to our success. Thank you Hampton!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInnNormal, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Bloomington-Normal, responded to this review, March 19, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to share your experience with other travelers. We hope to see you again for future meetings and award winning accommodations in the Bloomington/Normal area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here on business, location is on a retail park so there's plenty to do. There's a handful of restaurants, a Target store and clothes stores. Right opposite Desthil which is great. Hotel has no room service but breakfast is good, everything on plastic cutlery and plates but keeps the place clean. Cooked breakfast, cereal, fruit, saddles etc. and they have free water to take. Also for those in a rush they have breakfast bags. Hotel has a very small pool and a fitness centre.

Rooms are huge, have a breakfast area with fridge and microwave and sink. Bathroom OS nice, bed comfy and has sofa and office area.

However the heating is terrible. It's an old fashioned unit that turns on every 20 mins and is very loud. If you are a light sleeper you might not get much!

WiFi is insanely fast, even with both my mobiles and my laptop it was super fast.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInnNormal, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Bloomington-Normal, responded to this review, March 8, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and overall satisfaction on your recent stay with us and other travelers! We enjoy any and all feedback from all of our guests and we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. If your travels bring you back to the area, we hope to have you as our guest again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

If you are in the Bloomington/Normal area you have to spend the evening at the Hampton Inn. Not only is the service outstanding but the shopping and dinning aroung the hotel makes a nice place to spend the evening or the weekend.
My daughter and I meet our friends (daughter and mother) for a weekend get-a-way. The hotel staff was warm and welcoming to out six year old girls and made them feel part of the "grown up" stay.

Room Tip: Save room for a great hot breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInnNormal, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Bloomington-Normal, responded to this review, February 29, 2012
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We pride ourselves on having the “friendliest” team members in town and we are glad that you experienced that service during your stay with us! We look forward to accommodating you if future travels bring you back to the Bloomington/Normal area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

Great place clean quiet very good value would stay again!
Some broken furniture in the room so check the furniture when you get in the room!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HamptonInnNormal, Oscar Ruiz, Chief Engineer at Hampton Inn & Suites Bloomington-Normal, responded to this review, January 23, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on your recent stay with us. We value and react to all guest feedback that we receive. I apologize for the challenge that you experienced with the condition of the furniture in your room. I’m sorry we failed to take care of the minor repairs before your arrival. Rest assured, no subsequent guest will encounter the same challenge. Once again, it is always a pleasure to hear from guests personally and we appreciate you choosing us during your travels to the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Bloomington-Normal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Bloomington-Normal

Address: 320 S. Towanda Ave, Normal, Bloomington-Normal, IL 61761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Bloomington-Normal > Normal
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Normal
#1 Green Hotel in Normal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Bloomington-Normal 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
first class hospitality in the heart of Central Illinois.Hampton Inn & Suites Bloomington/Normal is located within the Shoppes at College Hills just minutes from Uptown Normal, Illinois State University, Illinois Wesleyan University, Country Financial, State Farm Insurance, and Mitsubishi Motors North American Headquarters. Enjoy convenient access to Interstates 55, 74, and 39. See professional hockey, basketball or arena football at the U.S. Cellular Coliseum or take in a baseball game at the Corn Crib. Watch a classic film on the big screen at the Normal Theater, a restored Art Deco theater. Enjoy live theater in an outdoor Elizabethan-style venue at the annual Illinois Shakespeare Festival at Ewing Manor. Dine at Destihl Restaurant & Brew Works, Joe's Station House, Logan's Restaurant or Flat Top Grille. The Normal area offers a variety of courses for golfers including Highland Park Golf Course and Arnold Palmer's Signature Golf Course, The Den at Fox Creek. Take the kids to the Children's Discovery Museum, Miller Park Zoo or Challenger Learning Center. Tour the David Davis Mansion, the Victorian home of the 19th century U.S. Supreme Court Justice.Relax in one of our 128 guest rooms and suites with 32-inch HD TVs and free high-speed internet access. Finish a presentation for tomorrow’s meeting at the work desk or convenient lap desk. If you’re traveling with family or prefer additional space, reserve a spacious one-bedroom or studio suite. Our fitness center and indoor swimming pool offer the perfect spot to unwind after a long day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Bloomington-Normal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Hotel Normal
Hampton Inn And Suites
Hampton Inn Normal
Normal Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn & Suites Bloomington-Normal IL

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Bloomington-Normal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.