We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New to me” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Medici

Medici
120 North St., Normal, Bloomington-Normal, IL
309-452-6334
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Medici is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 105 Restaurants in Normal
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 120 W. North St
Transit: Medici is located just steps away from the New transportation center in Uptown Normal. A perfect place to meet when guest are arriving from out of town, or when waiting for the next departure.
Saybrook
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“New to me”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Didn't care for the food. It was OK. Good service. Parking was terrible. Probably will never go back unless a group wants to go.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    49
    25
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Pleasant restaurant with decent food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We tried Medici on a weeknight in January for supper after hearing about it from friends. We made a reservation and were seated promptly upon arrival. Our waitress was friendly and efficient. There were ample drink choices, including many craft beers and speciality cocktails. The dining area was open and somewhat noisy. I had salad and pizza and my husband had stroganoff. The food was hot and decent, but nothing memorable or outstanding. I think it would be an okay restaurant for the college crowd, but it's not a place I would make a special effort to seek out.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great food and atmosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012 via mobile

Went there for a business dinner and had a great meal! They had a good beer and wi e list as well. First time at the restaurant, will definitely go back next time I am in town.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Not what we expected - won't come intentionally again”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Came here because Open Table could get us a seat at the time we needed. We were disappointed in the food - maybe because we ate at a similar restaurant in Springfield two nights before that was fabulous. None of the dishes came out like we expected and just tasted ok. The baked goat cheese appetizer was two chunks of goat cheese put in a dish with a bunch of marinara sauce and then baked. It was very runny and kindof hard to eat. The accompanying bread was overdone. The ribs were actually one large beef rib that was mostly bone and fat (which the dog loved when we got home.) The vegan humus said it came with grilled vegetables -- well they were grilled and then blended up into the humus, which was ok, but not what I was expecting. Our server had trouble distinguishing the beers we ordered, and we even hailed someone else for a refill to double check what we were getting. Pricing was definitely high. I've uploaded pics of what we ordered so other folks can see what they are getting ahead of time. While the atmosphere was very nice, we don't plan on being back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marseilles, Illinois
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Ok food, High Prices.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We are from Chicago area and for what they charged for the food was a bit of a shock. However, it was good and hot and the staff was wonderful. The décor was amazing. This place seemed for more a young hipster crowd who want to be seen and drink hip drinks. Not a dinner place.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Medici also viewed

Normal, Bloomington-Normal
 
Normal, Bloomington-Normal
 

Been to Medici? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Medici, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.