We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“10 days in September 2012 at Villa Sampaguita” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Sampaguita

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Villa Sampaguita to your Saves list
Villa Sampaguita
Bricco Cravera Valleandona 117, 14100 Valleandona, Asti, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Valleandona B&B and Inns
Rapid City, South Dakota
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“10 days in September 2012 at Villa Sampaguita”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Villa Sampaguita is the perfect compromise between "tourist-tours-that-are-too-structured" and "being-adventurous-but-frustratingly-lost-or-confused." We gained so much from Tim and Rina's wise and helpful advice as well as their gracious and obliging guidance when we were eager to follow rather than work out the details by ourselves. On the other hand, we fully enjoyed the knowledge we gained from them, so that we could be adventurous on our own as often as we wanted.
Our arrival was delayed in Frankfurt because of an airline strike; therefore, we arrived at Villa Sampaguita one day late. We were frustrated, tired, and still wearing the same clothes from the previous day ... immediately, upon arrival, we felt as though we were 'home'. The weather was brilliant; the patio table, laden with good wine and light appetizers, competed with the radiant green valley below ... oh my. What a fabulous evening of new friends, delicious dinner from Rina in the beautiful dining room, and confidence that we were exactly where we wanted to be!
(Be sure to check out the Villa Sampaguita website and pay special attention to the festivals in September. So many choices, so many things to do!)
Thank you, Tim & Rina!
Steve & Ann, Rapid City, South Dakota, USA

Room Tip: Our one-bedroom apartment was very quiet and had windows on 3 sides, which we appreciated. Because...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    33
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
28
115
5
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
oregon
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We spent 2 weeks in their lovely l bedroom apartment and hated to leave. We were made to feel like part of the family and Tim and Rina were wonderful hosts. Rina's cooking is superb and we hope to taste more of it on our next visit. Tim is an extraordinary man with so much information on every subject you can think of. Very helpful with daily itinaries and advice. Lovely area and convenient for daily trips to Milan, Turin, Genoa, the lovely wine country and places beyond. I would definitely recommend it for anyone who would want to enjoy the life and culture of this wonderful country Italy.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Secaucus, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We decided to stay at a B&B vs a hotel to get the warmth and personal attention a B&B affords. We were very pleased that this one was a real villa-not a house like in the states. The room was large and very comfortable with a large bathroom. Our hosts could not have been more accomdating. We arrived late-around 9PM-after an exhausting trip. Rina and Tim not only greeted us but Rina cooked a whole gourmet dinner! This set the tone for the whole visit. Not only did Tim see to our daily schedules, he personalized them to our interests. And when we left he enabled us to find another B&B near the airport. Nearby restaurants are first class and we were fortunate enough to get another of Rina's dinners. The Piedmont is an oenophile's dream and the porcini, pasta, risotto areexcellent. We strongly advise staying here if you are in the area, but the villa is set back off the main road, so a GPS is advisable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We first learned of Villa Sampaguita in Alastair Sawday's book "Special Places to Stay in Italy."On previous trips, we had never been disappointed in his recommendations, and our stay at Villa Sampaguita reinforced our opinion. We have stayed at other agriturismos, and this one was far better with very personalized service. As other writers have mentioned, Rina and Tim are superb hosts. We stayed in the one bedroom apartment for a week, and have no complaints. The apartment was a good size and clean. The bathroom was immaculate, the shower worked, and linens and bedding were clean---everything that we needed including a hairdryer. We ate dinner in on a couple nights. The kitchen was adequately equipped with stove, oven, fridge, freezer, toaster and coffee maker. The dishes, pots and pans, etc. were clean and ready to use. The property grounds need to be tended to a bit, but Rina and Tim do everything on their working farm, and they are very busy catering to their guests. During our stay, Rina had to deal with special diets for two groups, and Tim had to make all the touring arrangements for another. He also had just crushed his grapes and was tending to them. Rina's cooking is excellent. Instead of giving her guests toast, coffee and juice for breakfast (as we have experienced at other B & Bs, she is up early baking bread, cakes, muffins, and preparing fresh fruit salad to accompany your made-to-order eggs. Villa Sampaguita delivers a good price/value ratio. Just remember that you are staying on a country property, really seeing how the locals live, and not at a fancy city hotel. If we ever go back to Piedmont, we would return to this property.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Time and Rina are fantastic hosts and have Villa Sampaguita is a wonderful place to spend a weekend in the wine country! I travel to Torino often for business and have eaten at many of the best restaurants in Torino - Rina's cooking surely compares well with all of them! Tim provided us with help (and interesting conversation!) on a variety of topics ranging from bike trekking, food and wine, world travel, and rocket launches. He is an extremely helpful host and went out of his way to help us with planning both of our days in Piemonte. Would highly recommend and stay here and will be a repeat visitor for sure!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

What others have written about Villa Sampaguita is quite accurate. Of dozens of places where I have stayed in many countries, I have never been to one approaching this for the helpfulness in deciding where to go and how to get there. If you haven't experienced the Tim treatment it is hard to understand how such an energetic and dedicated host can create a five-star vacation. Tim and Rina were all-out to provide great hospitality, including sharing special wine; locating a good driver; and all the other things that others have recounted. The villa is a converted farmhouse and barn on beautiful grounds where you can take pleasant walks. The rooms are simple but quite comfortable. This isn't just any B&B. If you stay there you are guaranteed a very special and memorable trip.

Room Tip: If you want a kitchen you can take the apartment but the smaller rooms are nice and better furnished...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

What sets Sampaguita apart from the typical agriturismo are the owners: Tim and Rina. Not only are they friendly, both are always available and interested in making your stay pleasant. They provide more amenities than you usually get. For the apartment Rina gives you: 4 bath towels plus hand towels, 2 wash cloths, paper towels, 3 kitchen towels, kitchen and bath soaps. There is a washing machine on the property—no charge—and an indoor drying room. For touring suggestions, Tim found out the first day what we are interested in and planned our days to suit our tastes—from arranging a truffle hunt and wine tasting to itineraries and maps to visit mountain top monasteries. We would never have seen the sights we saw without Tim’s help. Both Rina and Tim also provided great restaurant suggestions. They made our visit to the Piemonte a delight.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Sampaguita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Sampaguita

Address: Bricco Cravera Valleandona 117, 14100 Valleandona, Asti, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Asti > Asti > Valleandona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Valleandona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Sampaguita is close to Asti, the ideal location for touring Piedmont's famous wine country and near Turin, Milan, Lake Maggiore, Liguria & Val d'Aosta. Make our beautifully restored old farmhouse B&B your home away from home, and share our love of Italy's finest wine and food region (plus lots of culture too). We also have self-catering apartments suitable for families and we organize tours for small groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Villa Sampaguita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Sampaguita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.