We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Sampaguita

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Villa Sampaguita to your Saves list
Villa Sampaguita
Bricco Cravera Valleandona 117, 14100 Valleandona, Asti, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Valleandona B&B and Inns
Virginia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Disappointed...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We spent three nights at Villa Sampaguita in Sept 2012 and wish we had spent our time and money elsewhere. My communications with Villa Sampaguita (and the reviews on this sight) led me to expect different accommodations than we found when we arrived. We had been to two other highly rated accommodations in Turin and Courmayeur before we journeyed to Asti. The others were excellent and exceeded our expectations. We understand that Villa Sampaguita is a country property, but we found the lack of cleanliness and maintenance extreme. There isn't a comfortable place anywhere on the property, even considering our North American standards.

The exterior of the villa was our first impression and is very unkept. We should have gotten back in the taxi and gone elsewhere. The furniture in the outside seating areas is so dirty that we couldn't sit and enjoy a glass of wine without having to clean it up or change clothes. Many pieces of furniture are broken. Grass areas are not mowed or weed whacked. The decks are not swept or maintained.

The floors in the rooms are dirty. The linens smell bad. There are cobwebs and bugs everywhere. Window screens and doors are in disrepair. There is extra furniture and junk stashed in the corridor and stairway upstairs where it is in view of the occupants coming and going.

The food was excellent, but hard to enjoy when considering the cleanliness issues. The dinners were the most expensive of our entire three-week visit.

We enjoy the country, and actually live on a small farm, so know that it is work to keep things up. We were not able to relax at Villa Sampaguita. The owners need to hire help.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villasampaguita, Owner at Villa Sampaguita, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
After 12 years of operating our B&B and 8 years of Trip Advisor reviews, I suppose it is inevitable that there would be a first time for a negative review but what a shock to be trashed out in this way. After the anger, denial and depression wore off, and with self-examination and analysis of what went wrong with these guests, we came to the conclusion that this is a mean-spirited attack on our lifestyle. We have never misrepresented Villa Sampaguita online, we are a comfortable B&B set on a working farm just outside on Asti, not a country park resort hotel with a show farm, which it appears that this group was expecting. Our guests come here because they want to stay at someone’s home, enjoy Rina’s cooking, Tim’s wines and avail of our local knowledge of the area for their Piedmont visit, not to mention our central location and ease of finding us if you drive.

The comments about the rooms are simply not true; Rina personally cleans the rooms herself after trying out several maids who were not up to her standard; to say that the floors were dirty is impossible and insulting (unless they brought it in themselves). Cobwebs and bugs? Screen doors and doors in need of repair? Yes folks we did find a small cobweb on the eaves of the balcony but never in the rooms. We live in the country so of course we have insects, good and bad, this year very few and the screen door works perfectly well and is not in disrepair. Linens that smell bad?? At the same time as they stayed another guest told us how nice it was to have fresh sun dried sheets and towels in the rooms. Furniture and junk in the corridor and hallway? Do they mean the antique chest, which serves as a linen chest, in the corridor or the antique armchair on the unused landing going to the attic?

True enough that the house exterior and deck area could use a fresh coat of paint, this year was a challenging year with extremes in climate and weather creating a lot of damage, so other priorities took over, and yes the farm is a little unkempt this year; problems with tractors and getting help, but we are an organic farm, no chemicals and weed killers etc so a little wildness and a few weeds are tolerated. However the guest area around the house is well maintained - maybe they were too busy noticing the small patch of weeds along the driveway that we allow to grow as a natural garden area (and for feeding the ducks) to notice that the front lawn had been freshly mowed the day they came. And then the deck and outdoor furniture had not been used for several weeks, it was too hot in August plus it rained just before they came. Of course we clean it up when we use it for a dinner or function, but all other guests who want to sit and soak up the view while sipping their wine simply ask us to clean the chairs or more often then not clean the off the rain stains themselves.

We are happy at least that they couldn’t find criticism with Rina’s cuisine, except to mention they were the most expensive meals on their trip. You won’t find a 3-course dinner with a couple of bottles of wine at 25 euro each (on their first night) except if you go to a pizzeria. We invited them for our grand welcome dinner with all our Palio-week tour guests, a 7-course extravaganza with many bottles of wine both Barbera’s and Barolos and preceded by a tasting of 4 lesser known wines of Piedmont, all for the princely sum of 45 euro each. Easily 80-100 euro each at any equivalent restaurant in Piedmont. We arranged a minibus and driver for a day’s tour, as they didn’t have a car, which included lunch at a restaurant of their own choosing and the driver was flabbergasted that they only ordered one plate each, not the etiquette for Piedmont restuarant, so we have to conclude they were budget travellers expecting a 5-star hotel at B&B prices.

In all we do regret that this group has such a bad experience here, we had a long and pleasant e-mail exchange before they came, and they didn’t complain while they were here as well as enjoying their meals. If they had such a negative impression on arrival it’s too bad they stayed, we would have gladly found them another place to stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    33
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
28
115
5
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We went back to Villa Sampaguita as it is a pleasant and relaxing place in the Monferrato hills of which I had good memories. Tim and Rina the owners are knowledgeable and go out of their way to help, and being foreigners in Italy themselves they know what questions visitors will ask and how to guide them towards what the region has to offer in sights and cuisine, and Rina serves up some of the local dishes herself as well. This is not a really luxurious retreat but really quite comfortable enough for most of us, and we liked being on a working farm getting a genuine touch of the Italian countryside as well as some fresh air.

Room Tip: The rooms have good views across the rolling hills.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Cape May, New Jersey, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

Tim and Rina are wonderful hosts. They plied us with food and wine regularly, and opened up their home to us. Actually, it felt better than being at home. Where else can a couple wander through the acres of fruit trees and vines, and borrow bicycles for a midnight ride into Asti, and sit down at a table when we decide to, in order to receive manna from Rina's heaven? Tim enjoys telling a good story, and has a few choice opinions, which he likes to share over a glass of the local wine. He is also well versed in the history and geography of the region, and can help out with any queries regarding travel, sites, wine tastings, cycling, etc. We will go back as often as we can.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netanya, Israel
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

We had a wonderful 3 night stay at Villa Sampaguita - in the end of our two week holidays in Italy. The owners - Tim and Rina - were excellent. From the very first email it felt like a holiday already! Two families with 4 active kids (aged 9 till 12) we were a bit concerned if the entire party will be comfortable there. The place was perfect for everyone. Kids felt immediately at ease in the Villa, playing badminton or using a laptop in the wifi zone in the lobby. Moms and Dads had a great time, welcomed by Tim with his own wine, and then treated by Rina to a delicious dinner. Every day started with a "map session" with Tim - Tim planned perfect itineraries for us. On the first day it was Tourino - Cinema Museum and the Automobile museum. Cinema Museum was excellent, kids loved it so much, that we stayed there nearly half a day, and there was no time left for the second museum. On the second day Tim suggested a different route that was supposed to appeal more to adults - Barolo region wineries route with a stop over at Fontannafredda winery for a walk in the winery's magnificent park and lunch at little town of Barolo. This was another fantastic day in the Piedmont region!
Thank you Tim and Rina for the wonderful time and for your warm hospitality!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carlsbad ca
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

This was our first stop on a 2 week trip, and was the perfect way to ease into an international experience. Tim and Rina both speak English, which helped as we tried to recall our rudimentary Italian. The rooms are very large and comfortable, and Rina's cooking is a national treasure! Plus she's like the nicest person you'll ever meet! She lamented the rooster calls every morning, but it didn't bother us. What's a farm without the animals?

Tim performs the role of tour director, which makes this place a bargain at twice the price! He knows the best wineries in the area, and the Culatello ham in Zibello was unbelievable! Yes, we did find it, Thanks, Tim!

They hosted a welcome dinner for us and another couple who'd just arrived. They were from Lithuania and Canada, and before you know it, we had 2 new friends. I highly recommend booking one of Rina's dinners while you're there!

We borrowed their wine glasses each evening, and some silverware, and their extra fridge, and their washing machine. And, in the quiet, beautiful mornings, we would hang out and chat with Rina in the kitchen, as opera quietly played on the Bose radio. She told us stories of their exploratory trips to interesting places in the region, like gorgonzola producing shops.

And Mr. Bean, the cat, even gave us a nuzzling "Ciao" as we departed.

Room Tip: There's nothing but good rooms here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villasampaguita, Owner at Villa Sampaguita, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Hi Pat and Cheri,

thank you so much for your nice review and for the California wine which we are waiting for the right occasion. Glad you found Zibello and look forward to seeing you again. Have a great summer in California.

Tim and Rina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Our trip to Villa Sampaguita was everything we hoped it would be. We traveled with our family and it was a perfect place to stay. We had an apartment with very comfortable bedrooms and beautiful furniture. The bathroom was large and felt very Italian. We were able to shop at the local grocery store a prepare some simple meals in our kitchen. We had hoped to enjoy the local cuisine and we felt the best food we ate in the Piedmont region was cooked by Rina. She uses many ingredients from her garden. We did a cooking class with her and had some amazing meals outside overlooking the beautiful scenery of Piedmonte, drinking wine made by Tim from their own vineyards. Our girls got to feed the ducks and geese and loved exploring the gardens and vineyard. We spent a lot of time exploring other cities in Piedmont and Tim provided information, maps and directions that made our traveling easy. He even organized a truffle hunt where we found white truffles out of season and got to eat them. We truly loved our experience and would love to return! Thank you Tim & Rina for all your hospitality!

Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villasampaguita, Owner at Villa Sampaguita, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Hi Dario and Amy and girls,

thank you for the wonderful review, we really enjoyed having you stay with us and missed you when you left (especially Harriet). - Wishing you a great summer in Omaha - Tim and Rina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Villa Sampaguita provides a peaceful setting for a restful vacation in Asti, the Piedmont region of Italy. Large rooms, comfortable beds, and ample bathrooms and a whirling fan will lull you to sleep. You will sleep through the 5 am rooster call. You will feel fit and restful. Rina is charming. Arriving late, Rina cheerfully whipped up a tasty bolognase. She is a self taught chef and her Italian cooking is outstanding. She is full of life with a very gentle soul.

Tim is a man for all seasons. He is a vintner, a cartographer who will design multi colored maps for you, a purveyor of history, a hard worker around the hacienda, and just when you are wondering "Where is Tim." he magically appears.

Get a map with written directions with distances to get to the villa and you will be glad you did. After your stay you will ponder "How" and "When can I return"

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villasampaguita, Owner at Villa Sampaguita, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Ciao Virginia and Robert,

we are so happy that you decided to stay with us and thank you for your nice review. The rooster is in serious danger of losing his head, except he is so handsome! Enjoy your summer in Virginia beach.

Tim and Rina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Sampaguita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Sampaguita

Address: Bricco Cravera Valleandona 117, 14100 Valleandona, Asti, Italy
Location: Italy > Piedmont > Province of Asti > Asti > Valleandona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Valleandona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Sampaguita is close to Asti, the ideal location for touring Piedmont's famous wine country and near Turin, Milan, Lake Maggiore, Liguria & Val d'Aosta. Make our beautifully restored old farmhouse B&B your home away from home, and share our love of Italy's finest wine and food region (plus lots of culture too). We also have self-catering apartments suitable for families and we organize tours for small groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Villa Sampaguita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Sampaguita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.