We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Burgers” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tom Kelly's

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Tom Kelly's
495 Degroate Rd, New Lenox, IL
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 50 Restaurants in New Lenox
Cuisines: Irish
Restaurant details
New Lenox, IL
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Great Burgers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Diverse Menu - Burgers are Top Shelf, and homemade chips... will definitely return. Large salads, too.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    10
    1
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good Find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Stopped here on our way out to Michigan on a Friday night. Able to be seated right away (table of 3). Service was good - our waitress was super spunky and friendly. Husband had pork chops which was awesome. I had the reuben and it was also very good. Kiddo had the child'e meal cheeseburger - very fresh and just the right size. All in all, we enjoyed it very much and were glad we stopped after having seen this place for a couple of years. Only negative was that my hubby ordered an appetizer of soup and it took 15 minutes for it to come out. Could have been a kitchen mix up, but it was worth the wait as it was sooo good.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joliet, Illinois
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Lunch and a movie”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We were on a mini-vacation and decided to get a bite to eat and go to the movies. We found Tom Kelly's online and read the reviews so we thought we'd give it a try. Really excellent food, big portions, and excellent service. Super convenient if you're going to the movies!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“So much potential, but not there yet.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

First impressions here are very good, a bright, clean atmosphere, and friendly staff. We were on our way to an Irish music concert, so we felt this Irish pub-style place world start the evening off right.

The menu has many appealing items, but we decided to share the fried zucchini appetizer followed by the meat loaf entree.

The zucchini was great but the amount of dipping sauce served with it was badly inadequate. We had to ask twice for additional ranch dressing for the generous portion of zucchini sticks.

The meatloaf entree was dumped between us by the runner who seemed surprised and annoyed when we asked for an additional plate, since the serving was not split up in the kitchen as most places do.

The meatloaf portion was generous but there was too few of the delicious garlic mashed for the amount of meat. The overlying gravy was way too skimpy for the size of the dinner. Our cheery young waitress was pleased to bring out an extra serving of the gravy, which was badly needed to offset the very bland meat loaf. I should have asked for hot sauce, it was that tasteless.

After spending an hour at this place we realized how much the place lacked decor-wise. It's really just a huge barn-like room with a large rectangular bar built in the middle. Lots of TVs, very little ambience. Just before we left, the lights were turned down, adding some small amount of atmosphere.

Overall, not a horrible experience; our really excellent server made a weak food performance passable. Next time in this area, we'll try a different place.

Sorry, Tom Kelly, but you could do so much more with what you have here.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Great Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Great Irish food. Our waiter had a full area, but took very good care of us. The rueben burger is great, and you need an appetite. The traditional corned beef and cabbage dinner is soo good. All those natural flavours came out and had a dance party on my tongue.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tom Kelly's also viewed

 

Been to Tom Kelly's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tom Kelly's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.