We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A delightful retreat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arcadian Retreat

Arcadian Retreat
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Laguna
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Arcadian Retreat
Save
You added Arcadian Retreat to your Saves list
3868 Great North Road, Laguna, Cessnock, New South Wales 2325, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Laguna B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“A delightful retreat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Arcadian Retreat was perfect for a long weekend exploring the lower Hunter Valley. The accommodation is lovely, with quiet and private suites, surrounded by charming gardens and a very attractive pool. An unexpected surprise was the quality of Di's meals - the breakfast was sensational and the evening BBQ hampers a perfect way to spend the evening. Every detail was right, from the cheese platter on arrival, to the warm farewell. I recommend it highly and hope to return soon. PS: since writing this I have already returned!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    0
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
1
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We booked our wedding reception with Arcadian Retreat. At first they were great anticipating our needs and providing an excellent response at short notice. We were really looking forward to the garden reception but suddenly had the rug pulled from under our feet when they literally dumped us and told us they'd taken bookings from other guests. We felt misled and floored by the last minute turn about face. They refused to discuss the issue. Highly unprofessional, especially given the occasion.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian J, Owner at Arcadian Retreat, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
They did not pay a deposit when requested. We discovered they booked and paid a deposit for another local venue. We therefore put the rooms back on the market. They have never set foot on this property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arcadian Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arcadian Retreat

Address: 3868 Great North Road, Laguna, Cessnock, New South Wales 2325, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Cessnock > Laguna
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Laguna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 41/2 star guesthouse with just 4 luxury suites located in 2 cottages separate from the main homestead. Each has an open fire, spa bath, R/C air conditioning, TVs, DVD players, telephone, kitchenette and private lounge/dining room with complimentary wifi and access to comprehensive DVD library. The 110 acre property has its own bush walks and in-ground swimming pool perched on a stunning rocky. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arcadian Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.