We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right off I-64, Great break from all the chain restaurants!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Good Ol Days Restaurant

Good Ol Days Restaurant
5 E Hanover St, New Baden, IL 62265-1807
618-588-4582
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 9 Restaurants in New Baden
Restaurant details
Bratt, Florida
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Right off I-64, Great break from all the chain restaurants!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Good Ol' Days is a tiny, inelegant, small-town cafe. For those of you who grew up in a town where you can name every person who walks into the restaurant, and most likely know their pets' names too, you know this kind of place.

It's an easy stop off interstate 64, exit 27 in Illinois. (Just bypass the Arches and Subway.) Good homestyle cooking, nice portion sizes and a reasonable price. The fried chicken is worth the wait! Check the whiteboard for seasonal sides or desserts that aren't on the menu. Regarding another review, if you see something posted that you want...ASK for it. The wait staff are all home town kids, not professional waiters. So service could be quicker or more professional, but if that's what you need, why did you walk into the litte corner shop to begin with?

Good Ol Days is just PLAIN good food in a small town. No chains. No slick printing or gimmicky greeting. Sometimes that's exactly what I'm looking for.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    15
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best food ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

All there food is good. I been there alot in my life.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alton, Illinois
1 review
“Worst restraurant I have been to in years”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

My baked potato was half cooked. The grilled catfish was tastless and looked not fully cooked. It was served without bread or a biscuit. The salad bar looks like it was not cleaned in days and tasted like it was there way too long. The salad dressing had an oily slime floating on top of the ones in back. My friend's catfish sandwich was overcooked, hard to chew , and the bun was cold. I cannot believe that this is called the best restraurant in New Baden - they probably have not been inspected by the health board for a while.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockbridge, Georgia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Generous portions, homestyle cooking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

Made a trip here one Sunday afternoon and the place was pretty busy. The food was good and the servings were generous. The burgers are humongous and are probably the big draw for the kids. The rest of the menu is similar to what you might find at a Crock n' Block though I suspect that most of it is made with fresher ingredients and not mass-made like the aforementioned chain.

Service was okay, we visited at a very busy time and were willing to try out what looked like some delicious deserts but our waitress brought our check without even asking about deserts. I think the place could benefit if they hired some waitresses that were a bit older than the high school/young college age people they seem to hire. Overall though, a great treat on a Sunday afternoon.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mascoutah, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good home cooked food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

I like to try one of a kind restaurants and this place is a very good one. If you are looking for 5 star atmosphere this is not the place for you, but if your looking for "just good food" this is the place to stop. Located on Route 161 in the heart of town this place has just good food at reasonable prices. Their chicken is as good as anybody's. I would write more, but just go there and enjoy a good meal.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Good Ol Days Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Good Ol Days Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Good Ol Days Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.