We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Nauvoo

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nauvoo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Nauvoo
Save
You added Hotel Nauvoo to your Saves list
1290 Mulholland St, Nauvoo, IL 62354   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Rooms from $65 per night
Ranked #3 of 15 Nauvoo B&B and Inns
Salem, Oregon
Top Contributor
280 reviews 280 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
154 helpful votes 154 helpful votes
“Great Place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2008

Friends recommended this hotel, which is a home with I believe 9 rooms + a 2 bedroom cottage. If you want to stay in an authentic home of the 1800's, this is it. The price is very reasonable.
We stayed in Room #5, which was small but comfortable and had everything we needed. The bathroom was large, and could have been cleaner, but as John told me, good help is hard to find. Everything else was great. There were cookies and a selection of hot drinks one could make with the hot water provided in the upstairs sitting room.
The breakfast across the street was excellent every morning and is included with your stay. Dinner downstairs is always yummy, but we also ate other places in town and found all were good, not a bad experience in the bunch. Be sure to visit the Fudge Factory across the street and the Frozen Custard store down the street. Had good lunches at Zion's and the Mill Bakery. Also try the Summer Kitchen.
My only regret is that we couldn't stay longer. A lot to see and do in Nauvoo, and the native townspeople are very kind, friendly and informative.

  • Liked — Breakfast
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNauvoo, Owner at Hotel Nauvoo, responded to this review, April 4, 2009
Thank you for your wonderful compliments.

We're told that we have the cleanest rooms in town, so we're double-checking behind our housekeeping crew to make sure that everything is just right for your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    21
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
13
15
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New England
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2008

We did not stay overnight at the Hotel Nauvoo. We went there specifically for the dinner buffet. The price is reasonable, the food was very good, the variety of selections was excellent, and the atmosphere was charming.

This is the best place to eat for miles around so be sure to call for reservations.

  • Liked — The food
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
American Fork, Utah
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2006

We're glad we stayed at Hotel Nauvoo. It is right in the middle of the historic downtown area and across the street from the LDS Temple. It is a very convenient location, plus we love the historic atmosphere. Our room was clean and comfortable. We enjoyed the cookies and mints in the evening, plus the hot chocolate. The room came with a complimentary breakfast buffet at Grandpa John's across the street from the hotel, so it was well worth the price of the room. We also enjoyed the Hotel Nauvoo dinner buffet in the evening (not included in room price) which always has a nice selection of items and is something you shouldn't miss when in Nauvoo.

  • Liked — Historic atomosphere
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — Be sure to stay there
  • Stayed August 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northeast
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2006

This hotel has an arbitrary cancellation policy. On their web site they say you can cancel within 48 hrs of check in time with no mention of a fee. If you call the hotel they say there is a $10.00 fee for cancellation, but when you make the reservation they say you must pay in full without any refund for cancellation. And if you have the gall to cancel a reservation and book another hotel, the owner will track you down at whatever hotel you may be staying at and make harassing phone calls to your room calling you derogatory names and hanging up on you.

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelNauvoo, Owner at Hotel Nauvoo, responded to this review, April 4, 2009
Thank you for your comments. We have carefully reviewed the cancellation policies of other overnight establishments, and we have taken steps to ensure fairness and good business practices. Our modern, extra-clean rooms in Nauvoo's original, genuine historic inn are very much in demand, and we want to make sure that we have not turned away anyone unnecessarily. We hope that you will visit us soon for the most unique and enjoyable experience in Nauvoo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gig Harbor, Washington
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2006

This is a cute, little historic inn in downtown Nauvoo. We stayed in the house behind the inn, it has 2 bedrooms and a fold out sofa. It was clean and comfortable. The furnishings were new. Do not miss the buffet dinner at the Hotel Nauvoo. Make reservations in advance, its always busy.

Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2005

The Hotel is so close to the newly constucted Temple
I had a wonderful room #9. they served a great dinner
and the Cupola Room at the very top was my favorite spot,I could see the Temple top from it's windows
I seek out Homes with Cupola's and this home was made into a Hotel
best value

  • Stayed August 2005, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2004

Great rooms and price. However for the top dollar paid for the room a cont. breakfast should be supplied. They do give cookies for the eveing.

Was this review helpful? Yes 25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Nauvoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nauvoo

Address: 1290 Mulholland St, Nauvoo, IL 62354
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Nauvoo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Nauvoo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nauvoo's original, genuine Historic Inn, built in the 1840's, with fully restored overnight accommodations. Cleanest rooms in Nauvoo. Discounted breakfast next door at the ultra-clean Grandpa John's Cafe. Free Internet. We are located one block from the Nauvoo Temple. THE HOTEL NAUVOO DINING ROOMS ARE CLOSED FOR THE SEASON FROM NOVEMBER 16, 2014 THRU MID-MARCH OF 2015. OVERNIGHT GUEST ROOMS REMAIN OPEN ALL YEAR. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Nauvoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.