We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This staff continues to impress” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Naperville

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Naperville to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Naperville
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1155 East Diehl Road, Naperville, IL 60563   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$20 Daily Credit
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Naperville
Fairhope, Alabama
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“This staff continues to impress”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I have stayed in this hotel on many occasions as a frequent visitor to Naperville. I have been a Marriott Rewards Elite member for 13 years and I have never cared for Courtyard properties very much but this property stands out because of the staff. The service starts at the top and I have personally witnessed the GM (Noonie) brushing snow off of car windows early in the morning. The rest of the staff is amazing and goes miles beyond any staff I have ever encountered. I so appreciate the way the staff welcomes every guest that enters the hotel. There are not enough superlatives to describe this team. Kudos to Noonie and the staff she has put together in Naperville. Top to bottom, you guys are the best EVER!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoonieA, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Naperville, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
I thought I had responded to you already, but maybe it didn't post? Well, just in case, THANK YOU again for the GREAT review!!! Much appreciated!

You are a loyal guest to our hotel and we sincerely appreciate you choosing to stay with us! We hope to see you again soon, if there's ever anything I may assist with, please reach out.

Safe Travels,

Noonie Aguilar
General Manager
cy.chinp.gm@marriott.com
630-505-0550
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    37
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
28
10
5
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

This is clearly an older property, which has been remodeled at some point, but as other reviewers have commented, the rooms have small bathrooms and the work area is cramped. There is one elevator, which is at the back of the property so you wander around trying to find it. In and out for one night, which is about all it would be worth, Friendly front desk staff and nearby a variety of eating options, though a bit of a walk.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoonieA, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Naperville, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
I did post a reply a while back, I apologize that it did not get posted!

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. I do agree with you that the design of having 1 elevator is not convenient and was a poor design choice 26 years ago, when the hotel was built. Unfortunately, we cannot fix that part of our structure and add in more elevators. But the great part is that we are true to our name and we have a fabulous courtyard in the middle of our hotel that boasts a nice patio area with comfortable furniture for our guests to gather at.

The other good thing about the design of the property is that We also have large sliding glass doors in all of our rooms and the ones facing the courtyard open up to patios and balconies that our guests can sit and relax on. We have complimentary Wi-Fi throughout, so are guests can sit anywhere in the hotel and surf the web. We also have a large indoor pool that has a nice seating area, as well.

We renovated our lobby space in 2011 and now have the Bistro, offering convenient and delicious Breakfast and Dinner/Bar options daily. We offer catered lunches for our meeting room guests and work with their needs and requirements.

And we recently renovated our guest rooms, which was completed in February, boasting new mattresses and a new lush bedding package. We are partnered with Paul Mitchell for our amenities, there's new vinyl, carpeting, ergonomic desk chairs and large workspace/table.

I am confused that you mentioned the nearby restaurants being a bit of a walk? We are adjacent to Freedom Commons, which has numerous eating options and just a 2 minute walk or less to Jason's Deli, which is located in the middle of the commons and on each side, there are approximately 5 other restaurants.

Thank you again for providing your feedback! If there's anything else I may answer for you or assist with, please feel free to contact me.

Noonie Aguilar
General Manager
cy.chinp.gm@marriott.com
630-505-0550
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hogansville, Georgia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Was surprised by the room size. Have never stayed in a Courtyard with a room as small as this one. It is an older hotel remodeled, so it is clean, newer, carpet, bedding, etc.; however, the size of the room, sink area and bathroom could not be altered and it is very small. The staff is very accomodating, small coffee makers, no coffee in the lobby, and noisy adjoining room.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoonieA, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Naperville, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Hi again,

I know that we've been in communication regarding your feedback from your stay with us? And we even discussed the noise issue, etc...

It's showing up that I didn't respond, so I just want to make sure that your issue during your stay was resolved?

Regards,

Noonie Aguilar
General Manager
cy.chinp.gm@marriott.com
630-505-0550
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

I stay in the area often and this Courtyard is always a good option. The rooms are of standard size and quality with all of the amenities in working order. The hotel location is very convenient to 88, downtown Naperville, and a host of restaurants within easy walking distance. It has the standard Courtyard bar and food service. Internet is free but you need to pay for breakfast. The staff is very nice and accommodating.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are removed from the road so noise shouldn't be a factor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoonieA, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Naperville, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
I apologize for the delay...

Thank you so much for taking time out of your schedule to provide your feedback regarding your stay with us! We truly appreciate it, as we are always looking for ways to improve our guest experience at our hotel.

Overall, it looks like you had a pleasant stay and enjoyed our hotel. Is there something we could have done better to receive a better rating from you?

Regards,

Noonie Aguilar
General Manger
cy.chinp.gm@marriott.com
630-505-0550
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Iowa, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Cassandra works the front desk at this property.I was driving in from Iowa and my sister (almost 80) was driving in from Georgia.Originally my sister was to get other transportation but when it fell thru she instead decided to drive and she did it straight thru approx.18 hours.When I learned of her change of plans I called the Hotel and got Cassandra I told her of our plight and she assured me that she would have a room ready for early check-in for my sister.I arrived at 12:15 P.M. and my sister hadn't gotten in yet,I called her cell phone and discovered they were having trouble location the property on Diehl Road.I walked to the road and flagged her in.When she walked in Cassandra came around the front desk and gave her a big hug!After we got my sister to her room Cassandra brought her a cup of hot tea.Prior to my sister checking out on Sunday she arranged for a Hotel room in Nashville and when she realized it was in a high traffic area,changed it to a less busy area.She even called and asked if my sister had arrived safely.She is truely an employee you can be Proud of! "What you do for the least of these you do for me" Thank you Cassandra and Thank you Courtyard By Marriott!!!

Room Tip: I can't comment on kids activities as we weren't traveling with children and we didn't u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoonieA, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Naperville, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Ginny,

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with your feedback! We are very lucky to have Cassandra on our team and she is an exceptional associate! I'm very happy to hear that you were so pleased with your stay and the service provided. I also recieved the email that you sent to our guest relations office and the letter I recieved today. We hope to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

The hotel rooms have been updated, so the new carpets, mattresses and bedding is very nice. I prefer to have a room rather cold, and I was very pleased that I was actually able to set the HVC to a cooler temperature and was able to cool the room. Typically you can't get it very low, so this was a huge benefit for me. Whoever designed the layout of the Courtyards did a terrible job with elevators!! Like a lot of Courtyards, there is one elevator, and depending on where your room is, there is a lot of walking. It's great exercise, but if you have a log of things to carry or have any mobility issues, this is a terrible layout. They need to have an elevator on each side. The staff is friendly and helpful. Food in the restaurant is average, but the service was very good.

Room Tip: As for a room near the elevator if you don't want to walk a very long distance
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoonieA, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Naperville, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to provide your feedback! I agree with you about the elevator, unfortunately, our hotel was built 26 years ago, so the deisgn was much different back then. In regards to the mobility question, we do have over 60 rooms on the first level and we also have rooms that are handicap accessible for guests that may need that.

I am glad to hear that you like our newly renvovated rooms and that rest of your stay with NICE! We hope you choose us again when traveling to Naperville.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catwalk
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I spent one night here over a weekend. The experience from check-in to the service in the lobby café were fantastic. Helpful, friendly staff. Room was comfortable, shower had nice hot full pressure flow of water. Would stay here again if I'm in the area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NoonieA, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Naperville, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you very for providing your feedback. I'm glad to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us. We hope to serve you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Naperville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Naperville

Address: 1155 East Diehl Road, Naperville, IL 60563
Location: United States > Illinois > Naperville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Naperville
#6 Business Hotel in Naperville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Naperville 3*
Number of rooms: 147
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Naperville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Chicago Naperville Hotel Naperville
Courtyard Naperville
Naperville Marriott
Naperville Courtyard
Courtyard Chicago Naperville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Chicago Naperville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.