We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonably Priced” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Green Basil

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Green Basil
43 E Jefferson Avenue, Naperville, IL
Improve this listing
Ranked #53 of 383 restaurants in Naperville
Cuisines: Vietnamese
Restaurant details
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Reasonably Priced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Difficult to find but once we did it was a unique experience. The lighting was quite bright so I wouldn't consider it a place for romance but if you want good Vietnamese food & know what to order you'll enjoy your time. It was rather empty for a Saturday night & we didn't know we could BYOB.
I had a shrimp dish which was very filling. My husband had soup which he felt was less than stellar but he's not a big fan of the thin strips of beef that were in it. Also he didn't put the bean sprouts into the soup like he should have so I think he missed out on the yumminess of all the flavors getting to know each other. I will go again & try another dish.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

93% Recommend
    4
    11
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“what a hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

super fresh food... high quality ingredients ...no ridiculous oversized portions ... hidden away off the main streets so it's usually really empty ... wonderful staff and super quality food ... they have no booze license so it's a BYOB which we love too when we have a really nice Chard. or Sauv. B to try out .
Absolutely love this place ...

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Vietnamese BYOB”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

I'm now a regular for the bun, pho, and tofu rolls. I have to remember to bring a bottle of wine next time. It's located next to Quigley's around the corner from the white multi-tenant building, so you have to know it's there. There's even some outside seating. And I'm pleased to report that business is picking up. The food quality is high and the prices are reasonable. The service is a work-in-progress and I'm not a fan of the waiters head sets that make me think that I'm ordering from a drive-through cashier. But so long as I can get a little more attention to refilling my water and delivering the check on time, I'll live with headsets.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Simple, well-executed Vietnamese BYO”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Had to get this one on people's radar. It's not often you have a neighbourhood gem like Green Basil; tucked away with little passing trade so we need to broadcast this charming but modest little eaterie with wonderful staff.
The menu is not overwhelming, just the right amount of choices and every one we've tried so far, a delight to the palate. If it's extra chillies you're looking for, Chef Nick will even add a few from his personal stash...just ask! From Banh Mi sandwiches at lunch time to great noodle soups and more, t's a BYO so grab a bottle of fresh white and tuck-in, you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Green Basil also viewed

 
Naperville, IL
Naperville, IL
 

Been to Green Basil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Green Basil, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.