We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive and crowded” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Riverwalk

Riverwalk
West Branch of DuPage River, Naperville, IL
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 39 things to do in Naperville
Attraction details
Downers Grove, Illinois
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Expensive and crowded”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We use to love this area, the scenery is still perfect, but much more crowded and everything in the vicinity is over priced, but you kind of expect that in Naperville.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    230
    77
    7
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A senic stroll surrounded by beauty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

The Naperville Riverwalk, is a beautiful, relaxing place to go. The 2 miles or so of the lanscaped riverwalk are the perfect place for families to while away some time.Strollers do well on the paved walks and although we never brought our dogs, leashed dogs are allowed. You will see bridges, a couple of foutains, flowers, ducks, ornamental grasses along both sides of the beautiful river. In the winter on a snowy day the beauty is equally breathtaking! My husband and I took our children for years, and now they, in turn, bring their children to visit the Riverwalk.(Grandpa and Grandma go along too!) Fun memories, include bringing a picnic lunch, skipping rocks, quacking back at the ducks, and playing at the small natural ampitheater, where our children created pretend plays for my husband and me to enjoy! Often we would head over to an ice cream store for a treat before going home. Although the following photos were found on the official site for the Riverwalk, our family has seen and experienced the beauty seen in them, first hand!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, Illinois
Top Contributor
207 reviews 207 reviews
81 attraction reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
“Nice walk along the river”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Plenty of people especially teens hanging out looking for dates. Little respect for others.. typical Naperville.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville
1 review
“Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Anything in Naperville is great. everything is always clean and kept up.
People friendly, and resturants in the area are some of the best.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Grove, Illinois
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Parking is a problem.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Although they have built parking garages, it takes away from the uniqueness. It is wonderful to take a ride thru at night, the lights are so pretty.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Riverwalk also viewed

 

Been to Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riverwalk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.