We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A+ facilities....in the burbs” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Arista at CityGate Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Arista at CityGate Centre to your Saves list
Hotel Arista at CityGate Centre
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2139 CityGate Lane, Naperville, IL 60563   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Naperville
portland, oregon
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A+ facilities....in the burbs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

If you're not traveling to visit Chicago (the city) and would like to stay in the SW suburbs, this is the place to stay (unless you'd like to pay less than ~$150/night). It's definitely a drive if you're going to the city.

The good: Reservation/check-in and out were smooth, no extra charges. My brother, husband and I stayed in a single king room- the sofa was large enough to accommodate my brother although he could have easily fit on the king bed- which was oh-so-comfortable (too bad I don't remember much of my sleep due to the open bar at a party we went to). They sold us a packet of tylenol for $1 (2 tabs, steep price but very much needed). The gym was well equipped with weights and cardio machines. The bathroom was a little awkward since my kid brother was with us but very nice with plush bathrobes- I'm pretty sure there was a tv in the mirror but had no idea how to use it. The toilet was separated from the shower and from the tub (we could have easily had a person in each without seeing each other- but we didn't do that)

The bad: Did I mention location? Even if you ask for higher floors, I doubt you'd get much of a view of anything besides maybe the roof of a parking garage.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    52
    9
    7
    4
See reviews for
48
65
23
77
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Naperville, Illinois
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

My husband booked a room at the Arista to celebrate my birthday. This hotel is gorgeous and the hotel staff is very nice and accomodating. Even though the room rates are on the higher side, you can get good deals on their website. You can pre-order room ammenities like the Wi gaming system and a white noise machine at no cost. These were in our corner room upon arrival. The corner room we had was beautiful and had great features. There is a TV in the bathroom mirror, a nice soaking tub, and separate shower. We loved the options in the mini bar and enjoyed room service. We went to Morton's for dinner, which is a 5 minute drive. We ended our evening at the Sugar Toad bar for a night cap. We were the only ones at the bar, but the bartender did not greet us right away as she was busy cleaning her glassware. She did not seem too interested in serving us either. Other than that, we had a great experience at the Arista and will be back.

Room Tip: Book a corner room - floor to ceiling windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefferson City, Missouri
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

I booked a business stay at this hotel for a trip in December, 2011. Unfortunately, I had to cancel the trip due to illness. I cancelled by phone with them more than 24 hours in advance of my planned stay and was then advised I "was required" to cancel online because they have a separate system for on-line reservations and their two systems don’t talk to each other.” So I cancelled online also, more than 24 hours in advance. Guess what.... they charged my credit card for the full amount anyway. I was forced to go through my credit card company to have the charge removed, despite several calls to the management of this hotel. Be very, very careful if you plan on staying here. You'd better be sure your trip goes through as planned because if have to cancel they will attempt to take your money anyway.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelArista, Manager at Hotel Arista at CityGate Centre, responded to this review, February 23, 2012
Dear Sir,

We are sorry for the complication you had with cancelling your reservation and regret that you had to involve your credit card company in order to have the charge resolved. We do apologize.

We do ask our guests to cancel the reservation the same way it was originally booked because of the fees we pay for all reservations booked online, including our own website. When the cancellation is passed through the interface we are not billed for the reservation. Moreover, if a travel agent is involved they too are aware of your cancelled itinerary.

Kind Regards,

HotelArista
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

stayed at Naperville in early Dec 2011. Upon checkout got a receipt for stay. Saw another $8+ on to CC, upon calling your hotel I was told it was for the items missing in minibar. Since I did not use the minibar, I requested the customer service person to remove the charges and they agreed.

Spurious charge makes me mad...

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2011

I narmaly do not write hotel reviews while traveling on business but this is an exception. The staff was great, the room was phenomina (tv in the bathroom mirror) Lots of space. Shower and bath tub in the bathroom. The only think I could not find in the room was the thermostat.... I looked everywhere but did not have the will to call the front desk. so it was a little warmer then I would have normally liked. You can't go wrong with this hotel. In fact I am abandoning the Courtyard and will be staying here in the future when I travel to Chicago.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

If you are staying uptown, this would be a good choice if you are around the neighborhood. The hotel has a modern design and a very relax color scheme. There isn't a lot of things around the hotel and hotel outlets are kept to a minimum, you will definitely need a car to get around. A lot of little things done right, such as TV on the bathroom mirror, etc.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

This hotel is very nice, especially for being so far removed from many busier areas of Naperville. Luckily for me I have business right next door so stay here often. The rooms are very nice and the fitness center is awesome. Comfortable, clean. Never had a bad experience and the rates aren't bad either, probably because they are a little removed from other areas of the city.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Arista at CityGate Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arista at CityGate Centre

Address: 2139 CityGate Lane, Naperville, IL 60563
Location: United States > Illinois > Naperville
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Naperville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Arista at CityGate Centre 4.5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Arista, affiliated with Preferred Hotels & Resorts, is the Illinois’ first LEED-certified hotel and serves as the focal point of CityGate Centre, a one-million-square-foot, mixed-use lifestyle center. The hotel features 144 rooms, 10,000 square feet of meeting space, a state of the art fitness center and two signature restaurants including SugarToad and CityGate Grille. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, getaroom.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Arista at CityGate Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Arista at CityGate Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.