We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Mabo tofu (if you like spicy food)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mapo

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Mapo
1563 Naperville Wheaton R, Naperville, IL
630-420-1388
Improve this listing
Ranked #56 of 397 Restaurants in Naperville
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Chinese, Szechuan, Taiwanese
Restaurant details
Dublin, Ohio, United States
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Best Mabo tofu (if you like spicy food)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

I have been there several times. The mabo tofu is very spicy and good for two people. This restaurant searves the best mabo tofu! The place is small and homy.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    18
    4
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Naperville, Illinois
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Authentic Cuisine & Very Nice Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

Do not let the location of Mapo stop you from enjoying this fantastic and authentic Chinese cuisine. Located in the Minuteman Press mall near Wendy's. The customers are nearly all of Chinese descent; which is an indicator of how wonderful the food is. My favorites are Shrimp with Lobster Sauce and Kung Pao Shrimp. The Spicy Eggplant is also wonderful. The staff are very friendly. Also a great restaurant for take out. Food is prepared quickly with great food containers for take out. Best Chinese food in Naperville.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best hot food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

The best food for your money...real Korea cooking ...will make it a place to bring one and all...when it says hot....oh yea its hot....lol

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisle, Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great for lunch-”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

This is my favorite chinese restaurant to go to for LUNCH- they have great lunch specials and they are fast- lunch always costs me around $6, for soup, spring roll and my meal. Great value for lunch. I've been for dinner too, and it seemed pricey for the same thing I would get at lunch time.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Not Our Cup Of Tea”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

I usually get a spicy dish like Kung Pao but so many reviews said that it was too spicy so I got cold feet and ordered a tofu dish. I really didn't like the flavor of it & it was very soft, not the extra firm cubes that I'm used to. My husband did not like the flavor of his dish (Lo Mein)either.
I'm afraid for that for those of us who haven't haven't been to China it was a little too authentic
We were the only non asian people in there. It must be good, just not our type of food.
Service was great. Everyone was friendly, I guess we were the problem w/our too American tastes.
:-)

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mapo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mapo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.