We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 17th Street Bar & Grill

17th Street Bar & Grill
32 N 17th St, Murphysboro, IL 62966
618-684-3722
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 23 Restaurants in Murphysboro
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Patato skins are to die dor. Great food great smoked pork. All I all great place to eat if your in area. Decent price too

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    15
    8
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tellico Plains, Tennessee
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Way overrated ”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

By the hype on the menu I expected a whole lot more. Tiny portion of brisket was dry and over cooked. Sides were average. Friend had baby back ribs which were better, but a long stretch from world championship. Everything seemed to have a "warmed-up" feel. At least they had local craft beer.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carbondale, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Vineyard work pay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Payment to my wife and i for working in a neighbors vineyard was dinner at the 17th Street Bar & Grill which is the only restaurant to twice win the coveted National Barbecue Competition Award. The owner Mike Mills has written a book entitled Love and Barbecuing. The seating space at the 17th is relatively limited and it has a neighborhood tavern ambiance featuring a stuffed pig hanging over the bar. The waitresses are S.I.U college girls attired in form fitting T-shirts and shorts.Their friendliness and proficiency make for a very pleasant meal. The food is world class and the prices are reasonable. The 17th is a must do any time you are in Southern Illinois.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena, MT
Top Contributor
517 reviews 517 reviews
298 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 383 cities Reviews in 383 cities
215 helpful votes 215 helpful votes
“Neat place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Love good BBQ and this was a bright spot on our recent trip to the area. Great décor, great food, will come back when we are back in town.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpha, Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great BBQ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Great ribs and pulled pork. Must try the beans, best I have had. Outside looks a little old, but inside clean and remodeled.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 17th Street Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Been to 17th Street Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 17th Street Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.