We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Value, great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Libertyville - Mundelein

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Libertyville - Mundelein to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Libertyville - Mundelein
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   510 E. IL Route 83, Mundelein, IL 60060 (Formerly Crowne Plaza)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Mundelein
Austinburg, Ohio
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Excellent Value, great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Great value and one of the nicest hotels I've stayed at recently. Very clean, very beautiful. If you're a Frank Lloyd Wright fan, this place is right up your alley. Very friendly and helpful staff. Not one complaint. Warm chocolate chip cookies upon arrival are a nice touch (if you're not allergic to walnuts). I am allergic so I can't comment on the cookies. The lobby is warm and inviting and again, just beautiful. The bed was very comfortable, the room temp was easy to maintain. Another thing I noticed was the carpet was soft and felt like it had some padding to it, which is welcomed. Very comfortable room. There is an in-room coffee pot, there's a stainless steel ice bucket (no cheap plastic stuff here anywhere) and actual glasses to drink out of not disposable. There are nice little touches everywhere to make you feel at home, which always helps one rest a little easier, which isn't always easy to do when you're travelling. Room has a desk with ergonomic chair.

They do host events at this hotel and it seems like it would be a nice place to consider for a business or celebratory function.

The bathroom has a shower, no tub. Was fine for me (i'm pretty short, 5'4") but if you are tall, like my husband, who is 6'2" and has a large "wingspan" you might find it a bit narrow for your taste. It is a glass-enclosed shower. Lots of counterspace. The towels are large and warm and fluffy, but there were only 2 of them. Girls usually like to have 2 towels so we can wrap our head up in one to help dry our hair, so I used a hand towel which worked but would have preferred more towels in the room. I know I could have requested them, but we were late arrivals having travelled all evening from Ohio and I was just too tired to ask.

There is a blowdryer, it was found in the little closet area next to the bathroom, in a canvas storage bag. It was a medium-size blowdryer that did not pack a lot of punch.....so if you're like me, with lots of long hair, plan ahead give yourself an extra 5-10 minutes of hair-drying time, or bring your own blowdryer :-)

The way the shower in our bathroom was set up, unless you have arms long enough to reach around the glass wall to access the handle, you need to be prepared to get a shot of cold water as you turn on the showerhead. Thankfully, the water warms up quickly. :-) Bonus: crabtree & evelyn products for the bathroom: soaps, lotion, shampoo, conditioner. Nice touch.

We did not take advantage of room service we did not have time we were on a strict schedule. They do not offer breakfast other than through room service. Instead we had breakfast at nearby Elly's Pancake House. I recommend it.

There is a bar and a restaurant on premises. We are Hilton Honors members that gives you free drink coupons upon checkin but we did not utilize those, as the bar was about to close (again, late arrival). Otherwise we would have definitely gone to check it out. Also fun: The Beer Market, about 4 miles down the road. Lots of craft beer. No food, you have to choose from one of the nearby restaurants deliver to you.

There is a business center on site I got a glimpse of it, and it looked pretty up to date. Fitness center looked nice, too. Did not see the pool area.

If we ever find ourselves in the area again, we will stay here. We only had the pleasure of staying one night, I would have liked to stay a bit longer, it was that nice and a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Our room (I believe it was 271) faced a parking lot and there were lights that even with blinds clos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    96
    30
    14
    3
See reviews for
77
50
13
101
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Top Contributor
199 reviews 199 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here for a few days. The rooms were very clean and a comfortable. Pretty spacious and was good for the few days. Staff was very friendly and helpful as well. Located within a few miles of restaurants and a mall that contained anything else you want. Standard exercise room and a nice pool area. And the famous doubletree cookie. Would stay again.

Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

my husband and I were at a holiday party and we did not want to drive and we have a special need son so we do not get away too often. it waa a nice hotel but the room smelled like someone smoked in there. Thanks goodness we were there only to sleep. But a nice hotel.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgans Point Resort, Tx
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The rooms were very clean, the staff was PHENOMINAL!! We had such a wonderful time it was hard to leave the hotel. The dining room was amazing, food was superb! I can't say enough about this place! The indoor pool and fitness room are so amazingly convenient!

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed five nights at the hotel. It was clean, quiet, and comfortable. Except for the chairs in our room. They were hard to sit in. The chair is not ergonomically fitting. If that is my only complaint, then you should stay there.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HUSTISFORD
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Enjoyed our stay at the Double Tree. We had breakfast by the pool our first morning before our Family Thanksgiving at my daughter's home who lives nearby. Very polite staff and a nice hotel. We enjoyed our complimentary drinks in the lovely bar at the Double Tree.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel is considerably more expensive than neighboring properties, but it provides a much more comfortable and gracious setting. Chocolate chip cookies at check-in, a restaurant/lounge, and prairie-style furnishings all and to the ambiance. The beds are comfy, the bathrooms are spotless and upscale, and room size ranges from adequate to quite generous. This is a good choice if you plan to be in the area.

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Libertyville - Mundelein? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Libertyville - Mundelein

Address: 510 E. IL Route 83, Mundelein, IL 60060 (Formerly Crowne Plaza)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Lake County > Mundelein
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Mundelein
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Libertyville - Mundelein 3.5*
Number of rooms: 183
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at our DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Libertyville - Mundelein, in Mundelein, Illinois, a northwest Chicago suburb. Convenient to US-45 and IL-94, and only 45 minutes north of O’Hare International Airport (ORD), our hotel offers personal and engaging service. Enjoy our signature, warm chocolate chip cookie at welcome.Savor phenomenal dishes and urban ambiance at Karma Asian Food & Fine Wine. Admire the Prairie-style decor featuring one-of-a-kind stained glass front doors and solid hardwood furniture. Our glass-enclosed pool is open year round, and the fully equipped fitness center is available 24 hours a day.Choose from 183 guest rooms in standard or deluxe styles or with two-room suite options. Relax in a king-, queen- or double-sized bed and enjoy complimentary WiFi, premium channels on a 42-inch flat-screen HDTV, a refrigerator and a rain forest shower head.Host a wedding on our landscaped courtyard or coordinate a casual barbecue on the patio. Our 8,350 sq. ft. ballroom divides into eight rooms, each accommodating up to 70 people. Reserve the full ballroom for a gala for 450 guests or a conference for 500 colleagues. We also provide two additional meeting rooms, one boardroom, banquet catering, and A/V and videoconferencing services.Take advantage of our business center to connect with potential clients. Motorola Mobility, Baxter, Sysmex America, Grainger, Aon Hewitt, HSBC, Tetra Pak and Zebra Technologies are located within five miles of our hotel. Ride our complimentary shuttle to their businesses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Libertyville - Mundelein reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Libertyville - Mundelein Hotel Mundelein
Crowne Plaza Mundelein
Crowne Plaza Hotel Mundelein

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Libertyville - Mundelein, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.