We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hampton Inn Mt. Vernon Il” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Mt. Vernon

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Mt. Vernon to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Mt. Vernon
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   221 Potomac Blvd, Mount Vernon, IL 62864   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15% - Book Today!
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Mount Vernon
Marseilles, United States
1 review
“Hampton Inn Mt. Vernon Il”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

The room was clean and quiet. The hotel was clean and everyone working there was courteous. The breakfast had many choices and everything that needed to be warm was warm. Items that need to be cold were cold.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phyllis_bruce, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Mt. Vernon, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your recent survey and comments. We are happy to see that you were satisfied with your stay and found your room quiet and clean. We are also pleased to see that you enjoyed our complimentary continental breakfast and felt our property was clean and our staff courteous. We look forward to your return here at the Hampton Inn Mount Vernon Illinois.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    62
    26
    10
    4
See reviews for
61
49
13
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Roscoe, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Pleasantly surprised there was complimentary wine upon our arrival - Everything was good - The only complaint was a musty smell on my side of the bed possibly from the carpet - Staff was friendly and helpful

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phyllis_bruce, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Mt. Vernon, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback with your recent survey and comments. We appreciate hearing from our guests! We are happy to see and hear that you enjoyed your overall stay with us. I apologize that you found an unpleasant smell in your room. I will pass this on to our head of housekeeping. We hope this does not deter you from using the Hilton brand or staying with us again here at the Hampton Inn Mount Vernon Illinois.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

The usual Hampton Inn. Good rooms, good bed, some issues with A/C due to the cold that keeps the A/C always on even if you did turn it off. The main problem was on my second day when the snow of the first day had turned into ice and had covered most of the driveway (in a light slope). Very dangerous black ice with no way of getting out until the sun had melted some of the ice away. Did try to ask if the hotel may trow some salt on the driveway but the person at the desk (it was indeed a bit early) told me that the manager would not be in for a while and there were no plans to de ice the driveway. I would have liked to see a bit more interest in the people who were staying at the hotel and could not more their cars.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phyllis_bruce, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Mt. Vernon, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your recent survey and comments. We appreciate feedback from all our guests. I am happy to see that you enjoyed your stay and accomodations. We apologize that you had an issue with the air conditioner and parking lot. This winter has been a very rough one on our area and we have been keeping up with snow and ice removal as best as possible due to the extreme and relentless weather conditions. Unfortunatley throwing salt down does nothing when the temperatures are in the negative degrees as I'm sure you noticed if you visited any eating or shopping establishments in this area while staying with us during those snow and ice storms. We hope this experience does not deter you from using the Hlton Brand or staying with us again here at the Hampton Inn Mount Vernon Illinois.Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osceola, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

The hotel staff was very friendly, the lobby very welcoming. The hotel appeared older but in good repair. The only negative is that the linens seemed more worn than normal and not up to standard with other Hampton Inn or Hilton properties

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phyllis_bruce, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Mt. Vernon, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your recent survey and reveiws we appreciate your feedback. We are happy to see that you enjoyed your overall stay and our hotel staff. I apologize that you did not find our linens satisfactory, I will pass this on to our management. Thank you again. We hope this does not deter you from using the Hilton brand or staying with us again here at the Hampton Inn Mount Vernon Illinois.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Illinois
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Bad showing for a Hampton Inn. Had to change rooms after key stopped working. Next room had no water pressure in sink only HOT water in shower. Started day with no shower and bad attitude. Breakfast was good so that helped

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Racine, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

This is medium a nice Hampton, had a cocktail hour with one or two free drinks. Don't go to the Steak house down the street! Nasty! Try the Nasty Buffalo Wild Wings instead! Hampton's and all the hotels are creeping their prices up and their breakfast quality down. But they have great people working at these hotels. I ALWAYS tip the maid with $2-$5 under the pillow and give the person attending the free breakfast $2. I know they don't get a lot of tips and it is a crime, I see business people who are putting down $7 on their expense account for breakfast and can't give the poor 60 year old lady a couple bucks! Cheap bastards! Just think, if everyone gave the maid and the breakfast person a dollar or two she might be able to have a better life. Have some empathy people - what if that was your mother cleaning rooms at 50 years old - a pox on all non tippers!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phyllis_bruce, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Mt. Vernon, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your recent survey and comments. We appreicate your taking the time to give us feedback. We are happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and found our staff friendly and hospitiable. We look forward to your return here at the Hampton Inn Mount Vernon Illinois.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

Convenient to expressway, located near many restaurant choices, with evening reception of free drinks and great snacks and homey breakfast. Rooms are nice, staff seem caring. Bathroom has some maintenance issues with toilet seat and shower pressure.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phyllis_bruce, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Mt. Vernon, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your recent stay with us. We are happy to see that you enjoyed your overall stay with us. Thank you for bringing the issues with the bathroom to our attention, work orders were issued and the problems resolved. We look forward to your return here at the Hampton Inn Mount Vernon Illinois.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Mt. Vernon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Mt. Vernon

Address: 221 Potomac Blvd, Mount Vernon, IL 62864
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Mount Vernon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Mount Vernon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Mt. Vernon 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hampton Inn Mt. Vernon, IL hotel is located just 15 minutes from the Mount Vernon Airport, surrounded by beautiful scenery and delectable restaurants. All hotel guests can take advantage of our free, hot breakfast buffet daily and 24-hour Suite Shop. Whether you're with us on business or for leisure, you'll enjoy our complimentary WiFi access throughout the hotel. Relax and unwind at our swimming pool, and stay fit in our fitness center. Bring all the comforts of home, we look forward to having you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Mt. Vernon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Hotel Mount Vernon
Hampton Inn Mount Vernon
Mount Vernon Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Mt. Vernon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.